dumptruck fabuous

Well, apparently the kids are specializing in being dump trucks–I feel like I’ve been run over.  I do think that we keep pressing down on the kids–expecting them to learn more, so maybe they’re rebelling a little bit.  They are getting better at school work and it kind of seems like a shame that we’re about to be sending them off to high school; not that they’re ready for high school–but they may never be.
 
I’d like to have some deep profound message about teaching and what we do, but really we’re just trying to cram as much information into these kids as we possibly can.  One thing that’s really rewarding about working with whole classes of kids is that we can see their progress.  They couldn’t sit still a couple of months ago (some days they still can’t), and they couldn’t grasp the concepts in math.  Now they’re more confident and if not eager, at least attentive.  That really makes you feel good. 
 
Speaking of rewarding, I talked to one of my old students today–he’s enrolling in his second semester of college.  I think he must be doing OK since he called. 
 
We’re dive-bombing toward the benchmark–fasten your seatbelts.
 
 
KM
About takedeux

In one summer I had a baby who was hospitalized for five weeks, quit my job, and moved back to my hometown. This blog is about starting over.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

