West Side Story, Baby!

Well, for anyone who was ever considering a career is public education, be forewarned: you may find yourself in this situation.
 
This morning I had gym duty, so it took a little time before I got to my usual spot guarding the boy’s bathroom.  When i got there there were about 35 boys in one tiny bathroom.  I’m running in there pulling kids out of the way and yelling at them and all of the sudden I find myself in the middle of a clearing.  Then I hear someone say, "you should get out of the way, Mrs. M"  I turn around and realize I’m smack in the middle of what looks to be a gang fight–I’ve got a crew behind me, and a crew in front of me. At 5’4” and less than a 140 lbs., I’m not one to break up a fight between 35 teenage boys amped up on adrenaline.  I run out, tell the AP what’s going on and then call down to the office for the officer-on-duty. 
 
The fight was ugly.  The AP wanted to know why I left–I told her because I was trying to stop a fight.   I don’t feel bad–I don’t get combat pay.
 
Well, I guess it goes with territory.  The AHA! lady came today and I love it when she comes.  It’s one of those times where I feel really focused on doing better for the kids. (You can click on the AHA! link if you want to know more about the types of things we do).
 
I’m sleepy, sleepy, sleepy.
 
Later,
 
KM
 
About takedeux

In one summer I had a baby who was hospitalized for five weeks, quit my job, and moved back to my hometown. This blog is about starting over.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to West Side Story, Baby!

  1. Melissa says:

    Hi Katy, thanks for the post. It\’s always encouraging when people actually read these things and then have something to say about them. :)I think so many times, Christians can get a stereotype in their heads about homosexuals, or LGBT people, and not challenge it at all. I\’m glad this book was written to speak about that for people in the Church. I\’m sure you gathered this from the post, but the book is called "Loving Homosexuals as Jesus Would" by Chad Thompson if you wanna check it out. Thanks again,Melissa

Leave a Reply

