A Crack in the Line

I just finished reading the next book in my quest to read 52 new books this year.  This one was called A Crack in the Line.  It’s an adolescent book and I guess the genre would be considered science fiction.  The back of the book made it sound like it would be a parent trap-type thing where two people meet who look and alike and think alike, but who have never met before.  The book, it turns out, is completely different.  The two people are actually the same person in two different realities.  The realities were formed when a situation could have gone one of two ways and there was a split: reality went both ways.  It’s like when you narrowly miss an accident and realize that some small decision you made radically changed the course of your day and maybe even your life.  In this book, these narrow-misses form completely different realities that co-exist, and the two main characters have found out how to move from one reality to the next.  If I were going to compare it to a movie the closest I could do would be Sliding Doors with Gwenyth Paltrow or The Butterfly Effect with Ashton Kutcher and Amy Smart.

I picked the book up because I saw someone I know reading it.  I don’t think it’s the best thing I’ve ever read, but it does keep you interested and I might read the other books in the trilogy.  If you like science fiction then I’d definitely suggest checking it out. 

 
About takedeux

In one summer I had a baby who was hospitalized for five weeks, quit my job, and moved back to my hometown. This blog is about starting over.
This entry was posted in Books. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

