vigilante hugging

A series of random events:
 
There’s this girl on the other team who’s really a handful.  She’s kind of immature and wild and she’s driven a lot of the other teachers crazy.  This morning I had duty in the gym and when the bell rings the students are supposed to leave in an orderly fashion.  Well this student starts running for the door.  I’m not sure what to do so I grabbed her and gave her a huge bear hug and said, "I’m so glad to see you."  She stopped, looked at me, cocked her head to the side and said, "good to see you too, Mrs. Mo."  She walked away slowly.  Some may call this weird–I call this vigilante hugging.
 
Yesterday, I was leaving the building to bring assignments to the kids who have in-school suspension.  This is held in a portable (trailer) behind the main building.  On the way back, I saw a HUGE opposum by the back door.  This thing was massive.  It ran away into the neighborhood, but let me tell you, that was a big opposum. 
 
My team got a compliment from one of the guidance counselors.  She complimented our team on how well we do with realtionship building.  This is a feather in our caps considering how hard we’re working on getting them ready for high school. 
 
Just an average week as a public school teacher!
 
KM
About takedeux

In one summer I had a baby who was hospitalized for five weeks, quit my job, and moved back to my hometown. This blog is about starting over.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

