The Monkey Wrench Gang

This is going to sound obnoxious, but the road to self-improvement can definitely be a full-time job.  I spent most of last night plowing through The Monkey Wrench Gang.  The introduction to the novel describes it as a comic book and that is a perfect description.  I can just imagine the little POW, and BANG signs popping up over the character’s heads (like in the old Batman).  It’s light-hearted and thought-provoking which is a hard combination to pull off.  There’s a lot of ideology, though, so if you disagree with the author you may find it hard to enjoy the book.  Hub’s going to take it with him on the 24-hour trip to Qatar. 
 
I’ve started a new, bizarre book hunting method.  I’m going alphabetically through the shelves at Barnes and Nobles.  The first book I picked was the first one in the fiction section that looked interesting.  The one I’m reading now is the next one.  Makes it easy since I usually wander around going "but I want to read so many!"  This method is more methodical, but definitely a little strange. 
 
As a final, non-book note: a friend called last night to tell me that she’d been assigned to a base that she really did not want to go to.  Now, my husband and I have been traveling around the country going from base we didn’t want to base we didn’t want, so I understand what she’s going through.  This has caused me to adopt "bloom where you’re planted" as my official motto.  As a woman who’s used to getting what she wants and not having to work very hard to get it, the military was a real wake-up call: no one cares what you want.  The result is a better sense of self and a stronger person.  I know what I want, I know what’s non-negotiable, and I know what I can live with.  Life rarely goes the way we’ve planned, but that seems to be a pattern.  Learn to roll with it and I can almost gaurantee that you’ll be OK.  God usually doesn’t give you more that you can handle.  When he does, he provides you with enough support and love to get you through anyway. 
 
Well, enough preachin’
Word to your mother
We out. . .
 
KM
About takedeux

In one summer I had a baby who was hospitalized for five weeks, quit my job, and moved back to my hometown. This blog is about starting over.
This entry was posted in Books. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

