overwhelmed (but who isn’t on Fridays?)

What she wore: red snow boots, blue khakis, and a red turtle neck.  One of the kids said I was wearing the school uniform

Well, today I am am overwhelmed by the hole that my kids are in.  When I think about the mindsets and habits that they need to overcome in the next four months, I really don’t think they’ll be ready.   A few examples:
 
  1. One of our students called our principal "Mr. Short-dick" today.  He’s already on the list to be retained if he doesn’t get his act together, and missing school because of his profanity will not help the situation.  It’s especially bad when you consider that the principal is the person who will decide whether or not a student will be retained.  It pains me to think that this student is shooting himself in the foot because he’s too cool to act the way he’s supposed to.  He’s not going to feel very cool when he has to spend next year back here.
  2. Another student came to school today with a "grill."  This is three hundred dollars worth of silver attatched to his front teeth.  He looks like a fool.  I mean 100% pure, unadulterated, fool.  How will our kids ever make it when they don’t have the money to eat lunch, and then their parents go and spend $300 on stupid, fake teeth?
  3. Finally, a group of kids came from the high school to help mentor our kids.  They’e been especially selected to be a part of a mentoring team called the stars.  One of our kids told one of the mentors that she wsa just "a rich white girl from (insert name of affluent middle school here)."   Needless to say we are embarrassed and ashamed.  We work so hard to teach them the right thing and still they act like they don’t know their butt from their elbow.

We’ve decided to have a special day for all the kids who don’t give us headaches, act the way they should, and generally keep their noses clean.  We’re thinking about having student appreciation day or student appreciation week!  It’s going to be great!

 

Over and out.

 

KM

 

Good things about living alone:

  1. When you come home with a headache, you don’t have to apologize to anyone–you just lay down and moan.
About takedeux

In one summer I had a baby who was hospitalized for five weeks, quit my job, and moved back to my hometown. This blog is about starting over.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to overwhelmed (but who isn’t on Fridays?)

  1. Unknown says:

    Did you listen to my He-man thing? Hehehe cracked me up, remember him? Speaking of reciepe\’s I LOVE this site, very easy I like it when I get the sales papers from the stores and then look up by like meat or veggie on this site. (See your current goals for trackback, lol.) I\’m using the short-dick insult next time a buzzard tries to pick me up @ a bar…is that alright with you? The kid that said it prob. didn\’t have the right intonation. Where are you taking the "good" kids? Hugs…enjoy the weekend, Mercy

  2. Dennis says:

    Thanks for coming to my space a couple of days ago.  It has taken a while to figure that if I don\’t use my profile information this new version of spaces will actually let me leave a comment now.  I really appreciate you coming by ANd commenting.
     
    I have never been to Nawlins but would love to come there for a visit.  Doesn\’t Mercy live there too?  Perhaps the three of us coud take in some gumbo in some Nawlins cafe.  Now how cool would that be?
     
    Your space content is exceptionally good.  I have been here everyday since you commented.  And guess what?  I will be here tomorrow too.  No need to add fresh material just yet.  There is a lot to catch up on.
     
    Dennis

  3. Dennis says:

    I am back and going through your space.  I like how you begin your articles with "what she wore" that day.  That is a very unique beginnning and creative.  It parallels MochaMomma\’s "cuppa the day." These things established your brand among the masses. 
     
    Could you urge Mercy to change her color schemes.  She is driving me crazy.
     
    Well I have to get back to reading your space.  More to come later from me.
     
    EZ

  4. barnyardmama says:

    Dennis–
      Your feedback is much appreciated.  The "what she wore" is a new thing I added inspired by the book Love, Loss, and What she Wore.  I thought it would be nice to add when I realized that every day I tell my husband what I wore and what people said about it–it\’s part of who I am. 
     
    Over and Out
     
    KM

  5. Unknown says:

    I\’ve tried to post a comment three times now and finally figured out how to do it inspite of MSN\’s changes and screw ups…..so here it goes:
     

    I would recommend reading a wonderful book entitled "Authentic Happiness" by Martin Seligman.  I think we need to stop focusing so much attention on our children\’s negative behavior and start looking for and rewarding their positive behavior.  Don\’t exclude the kids that are labeled "bad" from your student appreciation days because it well only solidify in their minds that everyone included are jerks, snobs, brown nosers, and teachers pets.  Instead, have a student appreciation day and take the time to recognize something unique and valuable about each and EVERY student.  They are all valuable, they all have potential for becoming something or nothing, they all have something unique to offer if they choose to……so help them CHOOSE to offer it instead of bucking the system and acting out their frustrations.  Let them know, ESPECIALLY the "bad" ones, that you\’ve recognized something worthwhile in them….and share it with the school body, or your classroom, as a whole. 
     

Leave a Reply

