Cultural connection

What she wore: Black long-sleeve tee, black cropped sweater, denim skirt, black snow boots.  I received mixed reviews.


   Let me start by saying that this is not intended to be offensive.  If you are easily offended do NOT read on–I find life itself rather humorous and am intending to share my thoughts and feelings, not offend people.
     My school is 85% African American.  It’s also in Arkansas, a state that I have never lived in before.  For this reason, I have learned some new expressions at my current job.  Here are a few:
 
"that go hard"–that means that you like something or think it’s cool
 
Driving someone–this means trying to drive someone crazy or piss them off. 
 
Lose your manners–this means fart.  As in "someone has lost thier manners."  I don’t know what farting has to do with manners–my husband farts whenever he wants and doesn’t ever apologize.
 
Musty–this is the smell of body odor.  For example, walking back from lunch, someone may exclaim, "somebody’s musty in here."
 
If you’ve got any more, I encourage you to share.  I don’t know if these are particular to African Americans or Arkansans, but I do know that I never heard them before I worked here.
 
Have a good one.
 
KM
 
 
 
 
About takedeux

In one summer I had a baby who was hospitalized for five weeks, quit my job, and moved back to my hometown. This blog is about starting over.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Cultural connection

  1. Unknown says:

    "Skanky Hoe" my personal favorite! Means someone who sleeps around and is perhaps a little unclean…hehehe!

  2. Jaysey says:

    Ha! Ha!  I\’m an English teacher, and I spent a bit of
    my time in grad school studying the English language–with particular emphasis
    on dialects.  I\’m not sure what age group you\’re dealing with here, but
    "that go hard" sounds like slang…something new to the language that
    will eventually fade out of usage. "Driving someone" sounds like it
    falls under the same category.  Now, "losing your manners" and
    "musty" are probably colloquialisms specific to your region. One of
    my favorite Southern expressions is "Bless her heart" because you can
    always say it after saying something gossipy or mean about something and it
    makes it ok.    I have an entire dictionary of Black English
    Vernacular terms.  You might look into picking one up if you\’re planning
    on teaching in such a school for long–I like Black
    Talk  and Spoken
    Soul.

    ~Jenn

    PS: Thanks for stopping by and commenting…I really like your
    space.

  3. Jaysey says:

    PS again–hope that didn\’t sound too "preachy"–just trying to help out! 🙂

  4. Silliest Schnauzer says:

    "That\’s wack, yo!"
     
    "Bitch ass N(bleep)"
     
    "Word"
     
    These are things I have heard while in various places with African American youth.  Maybe I should get one of those dictionaries that the lady was telling you about… cool, ain\’t it?
     
     
    Mark

  5. Silliest Schnauzer says:

    I thank you for every single word you said on my blog… and for saying that you will take a look at the book I told you about… it is very dear to my heart, and once you read it, you will know exactly what I mean!
     
    And about the scatterbrained thing… it happens to me too!
     
     
    Good teachers are awesome!  (of course, this implies that they care too… and it looks like you do:)
     
     
    Keep on living a good life!
     
     
    Mark

  6. Dennis says:

    As one of America\’s most unknown African Americans, I take great humor in reading the thoughts and opinions from non-blacks regarding our language and its applications.  I think I should create the first Ebonics as a second language program.  It could be virtual so as to reach as many as possible …thus increasing my reveune potential (a.k.a. –  being all about the Benjamins).  Because, Lawd knows, that we, as a people, could use a lil extra sumn sumn every now and then.
     
    Lose your manners is more predominantly used in the South but I am not sure it is limited to the black community.  And musty has been used everywhere for years.  Keep in mind that what was once Southern terms have migrated northward during the industrial revolution.  Which was not exactly yesterday.  So what is heard there is probably spoken in other parts of America too.
     
    What has changed is whom you are exposed to now.  What a wonderful enriching experience this will be for you.  Reap all that you can from it.  And keep it close to you as you emerge in other parts of this great land.
     
    Oh and Mercy was just a tad overstated ………..the proper enunciation is Skank Ho!
     
    This was a very good subject.  I hope you enjoyed my tongue in cheek response. Sorry it has taken me a while to come back for a visit.  I am totally into your space.
     
    My favorite part is the what you wore section.  And I have a question about the attire noted above.  Am I to assume that the denim skirt was BLUE denim or was it BLACK?
     
    EZ

  7. Dennis says:

    I need to proof read before pressing publish.  I wrote "Keep in mind that what was once Southern terms……"  Please delete was and insert were.  You know Jenn will be grading this and she is tough as nails.
     
    EZ

  8. Jaysey says:

    LOL…I thought, EZ, that you were doing it on purpose…

Leave a Reply

