I’m getting a shot gun

What she wore: black gaucho pants with a white pin stripe, black knee-high boots, white tee.  Compliments all around.

The following is completely true, and explains why I am so out of it today:
 
This morning at 12:45 my dog began howling and growling.  I could tell that something was outside, but I figured it was a stray dog since I do live kind of out in the country.  I turned on the outside lights, nothing seemed out of place, so I went back to bed. 
 
At 2:00 he was up again and this time he meant business.  He’d discovered some kind of problem in the back yard and wasn’t going to sleep until I got out of bed and looked at it.  I pulled out my trusty knife ( a girl’s best friend after cocktails and control top panty hose), went to the back door.  There is a house under construction behind me and I could see what was obviously a flashlight roaming around inside.  I’m thinking to myself: someone is trying to steal tools–I should call the police.  I turn on the lights and then start looking for my phone book.  I look up from my search and there are now two men in black in my back yard holding flashlights.  I don’t think they’re looking for aliens.  I realize that by turning on the light they can now see me.  I freak.  The two figures start to approach my back door.  I pick up the phone and dial 911.  The men are literally one yard from my back door and my pulse is racing.  The guy then shines his light on his chest to reveal his police badge!    I breath a huge sigh of relief and then begin apologizing to the 911 operator.    I pick up my knife and go back to bed.  I couldn’t sleep, of course, because I was filled with adrenaline, and today I was a walking zombie. 
 
I can only assume that Buster’s first freak out was someone prowling around trying to rob the construction site.  One of the neighbors must have called the police, and perhaps they were looking for clues (I read too many detective novels). I don’t know–what I do know is I’m glad I have a dog.     
 
On the way to work I was totally buying a shot gun.  This afternoon I’m a little more relaxed.  Either way, watch out!  I still have my trusty knife.
 
KM
About takedeux

In one summer I had a baby who was hospitalized for five weeks, quit my job, and moved back to my hometown. This blog is about starting over.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to I’m getting a shot gun

  1. Jaysey says:

    Whoo!  I bet you were just a little afraid, huh?  That\’s one of the things I hate about living by myself now (well…with my dog even), but still…Glad all turned out well…and that your outfit of the day was a success!  I love that you put that out there every day, too, btw.  It\’s fun.

  2. Dennis says:

    Way too funny!  I know it scared you to death.  But your recount is hilarious.  I just love your space.  And today\’s outfit description sounds totally hot!  Are students expected to concentrate in your class?
     
    EZ
     
    P.S. Black deninm went out?  Dayum!!!

  3. russ says:

    A very funny way to tell something that obviously scared you silly! Don\’t go getting a shotgun yet… start out with some pepper spray or something… lol
    Have a beautiful day!
    Russ

  4. Kelly says:

    Hey KM!

    I\’m sorry you\’re experiencing difficulty! Just when you got this blog thing going, too. In fact, I\’m not even sure if this will let me post, but I\’ll try. If not, I\’ll answer you on my site.

    Don\’t feel bad about not knowing…took me a while. Tagging someone is when you say, "I want so-and-so to do the 101 List so I can find out more about them" but since I don\’t want everyone to feel pressured, I just offered it up in fun hoping they would do it anyway if they haven\’t already.

    p.s. I\’m all for the shotgun! Yee haw! 😉

  5. Dennis says:

    Just stopping by to see what\’s new.  Thanks for coming by today.  You are always so welcome.
     
    Dennis

  6. Dennis says:

    KM,
    I don\’t have any magic bulletes here on the issues you are experiencing because they seem dire.  I would start by taking off anything that you added recently…like the amazon stuff.  I got better performance by deleting  Media Player.  You don\’t have MP but I see you have all of the new advertising ops from Amazon.  So try deleting that stuff and see if you can post then.
     
    My email is linked to this comment if you need to reach me.
     
    Dennis
     

  7. Jason says:

    I saw your comment on TheSpaceCraft.  Have you been able to post a blog entry yet?  Do you see the rich text editor (it has a toolbar) when trying to post a blog entry?  If you do not see the rich text editor, is there a script error icon in the lower left hand corner of the browser window?  If there is an error, can you tell me what it says?  Please leave a comment on my space or send me a mail.  Thanks.

  8. Jaysey says:

    Good luck!  I hope you get to post soon!  Missing reading you!
    ~Jenn

  9. Unknown says:

    So funny!!! I was just hitting your blog to check on you….yes didn\’t you see me…I was the one w/ the glow-in-the-dark wheels and sassy look on my face flying by all the guys making them eat my dust!!!! Wooohoooooooo skate bounce rock sista!

  10. Kelly says:

    You must still be unable to post. Hope you\’re working on it and get it fixed soon!
     
    Until then, I\’m having to imagine what you\’re wearing. Since you have a cute figure and I\’m all jealous, I\’m thinking potato sack with heavy orthopedic shoes. If you weren\’t so darn cute… You know how silly women are with other women. LOL

  11. Jason says:

    It\’s strange you\’re seeing a JavaScript error when trying to load the editor.  Are you using IE for FireFox?  Could you try clearing your browser cache to ensure it has a fresh copy of everything?  If using IE, go to Tools menu and click on Internet Options.  On the General tab of the dialog, click on Delete Files.  The click OK.  You may have to wait a few minutes while IE chugs through the files.  Then click OK to close the dialog.  Note, after doing this you may see Spaces be a little slower the first time you hit your space, but things should resume to normal speed the next time you visit.  Feel free to email (see the hyperlink on my "Indy" name) or drop another comment on my blog.  Good luck!

  12. Unknown says:

    Yikes!  What a way to wake up!  My dogs would\’ve licked the intruders to death and brought over a ball to play fetch.  So much for man\’s best friends!  Thank goodness your dog has a little more sense than mine.

  13. Sierra says:

    LOL! Oh I love my knife! I used to ride my horse around with a 14" machete on one hip, my western lockback beside it, my pepper spray beside that (for the bear and dogs) and my 22 revolver on my other hip. I think I was 14 or so then…. LOL! My parents would leave the 44 propped up next to the door when they left… "just shoot through the door if someone bugs ya; it\’ll go through them, too" … ok, Yeah, I lived in the country… LOL
     
    (P.S. I stopped by via singlejenn)

Leave a Reply

