At last. . .

What she Wore: Black pants, black snow boots, grey turtle neck.

My blog is back in action and I am SO freakin’ happy.  The Spaces gurus helped me out and I am eternally grateful.  I’m so happy I don’t even know what to type.  I’ve got some ideas for some posts, and I’m going to do the tag that mocha momma put up the other day.  Today I’m just going to post the entry I put up on Friday–that never published.  So glad to be back in action!!!!!
 
KM
 

I haven’t mentioned it in a while, but my school is especially designed to deal with low income students.  We are 95% free and reduced lunch (which means they qualify to have the government supplement their lunches), so we have our own sets of challenges.  We are a charter school because of this, and study the published works of Dr. Ruby Payne as our guidelines.  She specifically addresses people from poverty. Dr. Payne has lots of specific, researched things in her books–my observations are less scientific.   Here are some things that make my kids different than others:

 

1. They DO NOT understand the concept of marriage.  Since mentioning that my husband is overseas, two different students have asked me if I’m cheating on him yet.  When I say, "I don’t cheat on my husband" they assume that I am scared of him.  I think this is really bizarre, but of the fifty students I teach only one had parents that were married to each other.  The sad thing about that is that his mom died this year.  They often confuse the words boyfriend and husband and I’m not sure they understand the difference.

 

2.  If someone steals something from you it is YOUR fault.  You shouldn’t have left it out to be taken.  When it comes to money, you don’t even have to leave it out.  If you have it, then assume someone will try to take it. 

 

3.  They have more brothers and sisters–on average, my kids have three brothers and sisters.

 

4.  They are the most helpful children EVER.  If anything needs to be done that involves moving, cleaning, cutting, pasting, WHATEVER they do it in a group with relatively few problems.  I can only assume that when you don’t have a lot of money you depend on others to help out–my kids excel at this.  One Friday the math teacher had a few extra minutes at the end of class–they cleaned the whole room.

 

5. They move a lot–you always have to ask what their phone number is–they move all the time.  Usually it’s just down the street, but it happens a lot.  When you live paycheck to paycheck you can’t always make the rent–and then you have to move.  Sometimes just the kids move–with their aunt, their grandma, or their older sister.  This can make it hard to track down a responsible party when the kid is having problems.  But we’ll meet with anyone who cares.  The other day we had a confrence with a student’s brother’s fiance.  We don’t care–if you’re interested in the student’s success then so are we. 

 

Food for thought on this rainy day.

 

About takedeux

In one summer I had a baby who was hospitalized for five weeks, quit my job, and moved back to my hometown. This blog is about starting over.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to At last. . .

  1. russ says:

    When you hear stuff like this, it makes it easy to count your blessings huh…
    Russ

  2. Jaysey says:

    First of all, I\’m so glad you\’re back!  I so love reading your posts!  Secondly, what age group is it that you\’re teaching again? 
    And finally, I can relate a little here because the college where I teach is open-admissions.  We often get students who\’ve just gotten their GEDs, who can barely afford the tuition–even with assitance, etc.  What I think I found (and continue to find) most interesting is the number of female students I teach who are younger than I am and who have and care for children older than I think I could (or should) have if I did have children.  Then, add to that the number who have to miss class because no one can help them in caring for their children or because they have a court date to try to get back child support from fathers they haven\’t seen in years…<sigh>.  Not quite the same, but I can definitely relate on some leverl…oh…and mine move quite a lot, too…or have no phones because they\’ve been cut off and they can\’t afford to turn it back on.

  3. Dennis says:

    I know it is true because I have been there.  So I can relate on a very personal level.
     
    I am so happy that you are back in blogging action.  I miss reading what you have to say.  As usual ….love the outfit, girlfriend.
     
    Dennis

  4. Unknown says:

    Yay!!! I missed you! Do you notice they "move" alot as in learning by kinetic energy to? I notice my public aid kids @ the practice do…I lavash attention on them…many of them are so greatful for that extra attention! You get a 100 fold reward back…keep up the good work my little engine that could!!

  5. barnyardmama says:

    I needed to respond to this about a million years ago, but I\’ve been super-spacy lately.  I teach middle schoolers (eighth grade to be exact).  YES, they are very kisenthetic.  They have more energy and move around more than any group of kids I have ever seen.  It\’ s kind of amazing.
     
    KM

Leave a Reply

