Not quite a snow day

What she wore: Black cashmere turtleneck, olive green pants, black snow boots. 

Well, we were desperately hoping for a snow day today.  It rained, it sleeted, it even snowed, but that stuff would not stick.  So, we had a day of looking out the window and hoping for something else.  Today I’ll comment on a little incident that happened this afternoon.
 
Our kids all failed the quiz on adding and subtracting negative numbers.  This is not going to fly, so I’ve been calling people up during electives, tutoring them on the concepts, and letting them re-take the quiz.  Today I had three boys come in and while I was doing my bit they seemed a little distracted.  Then they turned in perfect papers with no work on them.  Obviously they had cheated.  Our A+ students didn’t get a perfect score, so I know they were up to something.   I just refused to grade the paper until I saw some work: no guessing allowed.  One of them shrugged his shoulders and got to work using the method I had taught him.  The other one spent thirty minutes scribbling bizarre, incorrect things on his paper in an attempt to make it look like he’d done the work–I still wouldn’t grade it. 
 
The funny thing is this: the one that spent almost an hour (in total) trying to trick me was completely indignant when he left.  Some people can work themselves up into complete fits when they know they’ve cheated, lied, etc.  In fact, the more extreme the reaction, the more likely it is the person is completely wrong. 
 
Just a little piece of human observation from someone in the trenches.  When I have kids, they won’t stand a chance 🙂
 
KM
About takedeux

In one summer I had a baby who was hospitalized for five weeks, quit my job, and moved back to my hometown. This blog is about starting over.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Not quite a snow day

  1. Unknown says:

    Defintley  LOVE them.  The sweetest little guys ever, yet there are still many days when that magnet gets me thru the day!  Hehehehe

  2. Jaysey says:

    I\’m glad you found the book interesting.  Many African-Americans wish the discussion about BEV would stop altogether.  But just like I can\’t ignore my students\’ Southern dialect differences, I don\’t think you can ignore the differences of BEV for African-American students.  Do they need to learn how to speak/write correct Standard American English?  Absolutely!  Is that part of our job?  Of course!  But knowing why they make the mistakes in grammar they do can help us to more effectively teach them to code-switch–to know when they need to use Standard American English.  Plus, understanding that their dialect is a rule-based and valid language helps us to be more senesitive to their needs in learning SAE.  They aren\’t going to start speaking "correctly" at home just because you tell them the way they speak is worng (even if you were an African American teacher, many of them would still be offended and consider you a traitor to the races–to the culture from which they come).  Furthermore, telling them the way they speak (and the way their friends and relatives speak) is wrong is insulting to them and denies that their language and thereby their culture is relevant or valid.  But that\’s just my opinion–a lowly English teacher who\’s been in the trenches with speakers of a variety of dialects for a few years now. 🙂  ALl of this is why reading the books is helpful–not because we intend to start teaching BEV or SAEV in the classroom, but because undertanding it, and therby our students, will make us better teachers in the end.
    ~Jenn

  3. Jaysey says:

    And I need to proofread too.  Thereby.

  4. Dennis says:

    Love, Love, Love the ensemble worn today.  Were the pants pleated by any chance?  You know how much I love details.  And the turtleneck…. was it mock or traditional.  I need the visual sweety!
     
    I need a link that shows me what the "snow\’ boots look like.  Up here in Pa snow boots are not very attractive.  Do you even have snow there?  I am thinking "snow" is just a term and not a real description.  Help me out on this one KM.
     
    About the kids and the test:  KM one of the best things I get from reading your blog is the experience you are gaining by being exposed to this culture.  I love your spirit about it.  I am impressed with you.  And that is not something to take lightly.  My respect for you grows abundantly by the week.  You are learning more than they are.
     
    Dennis

  5. barnyardmama says:

    About the outfit–\’cause EZ wants to know.   It\’s a full turtle neck and the sweater has little ribs.  My snow boots are real snow boots (I think).  It only snows about twice a year here and it almost never sticks.  They are black and come to about mid-calf and have a fuzzy topper.  The boys like them.  The girls are less impressed.  I have some faux-snow boots that all the kids like.  They have a three inch heel and aren\’t at all practical.   Hope you can picture it fully.
     
    KM

Leave a Reply

