mistaken identity

What she wore: Worn out Levis, LSU long-sleeve t-shirt, tennis shoes. 

Everybody has a couple of stories in their arsenal—the kind that make people smile and can help break the ice.   This one is PG-13, but it’s one of my favorites. 

 

When I was a sophomore in college I went to a costume party at a local bar.  The theme was couples.  There were doctors and nurses, priests and nuns (I felt like I needed to go to confession after I saw them dancing), etc.  I’ll find any excuse to wear a wig, so I decided to go as Pamela Anderson and the hub went as Tommy Lee (he wasn’t the hub then).  He wore ripped up jeans, a wife beater, and fake tattoos.  I wore a black leather mini, a black tank top, and these really tall shoes.  My roommate who was a theater major helped me with my make-up and wig.  I didn’t look skanky, but I didn’t look myself either. 

 

At the end of the night, the party is over, and the Hub and I are outside talking to some people.  Up rolls this chromed-out Lexus which stops and puts down the window.  They call the Hub over, and he walks over thinking they need directions or something.  The guy hands Hub a business card and says, “If your girl ever wants to dance, give us a call.”  He drives off.    Hub looks down at the card and it reads “Dirty South Entertainment: dancers, private parties.”  Apparently he thought I was a “working girl” and the Hub was my “business associate.”  Interesting.   

 

Needless to say, I took off the wig, and we went home. 

 

Hope that made you smile.

 

KM


On a random note: For those of you who read this regularly, you know that I made the decision to ditch the 500 pg. book about rabbits. 

 

Well, the guy I work with and his wife came over yesterday to help me hang some new blinds.  He happened to notice the book sitting on my desk.  He got so excited he had to show his wife.  Apparently, it’s his favorite book of all time.  Now I’m wondering if I should have put it down.  Hmmmm

About takedeux

In one summer I had a baby who was hospitalized for five weeks, quit my job, and moved back to my hometown. This blog is about starting over.
This entry was posted in Stories From My Past. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to mistaken identity

  1. Jeanne-Marie says:

    As long as you are smiling *chuckles*  I tell  you the assumptions people jump to! *snickers* So are you going to finish the book?

  2. Dennis says:

    That picture is priceless. 
     
    Dennis

  3. Unknown says:

    Loved the story.  I also have a book that a friend of mine swears by and for the life of me I can\’t get into it!  I\’ve tried to at least twice.   

  4. Jaysey says:

    That did make me smile.  Thanks for sharing–the story and the pic! 🙂  Also, thanks for your opinion and the words of encouragement and advice…they definitely made me feel better–perhaps I am redeemable!

Leave a Reply

