Hunkered down

What she wore: Black cashmere sweater, pink pants (they look like jeans, but they’re not), and black snow boots

Well, Little Rock is hunkering down for one heck of a storm.  Apparently, in this part of the country they have ice storms.  Water lands and then  quickly freezes when coming in contact with power lines, roads, houses, etc.  It’s impossible to drive and the frozen ice can down power lines.  The last time this happened was 2000.  A woman I work with said that storm left her without power for seven days. 
 
Well, I’ve stocked up–I’ve got cookie dough, rum, and diet coke.  If the power goes out, I’ve still got the rum and coke and Chex mix and peanut butter.  I think I could go a long way on that.  If the power goes out I’m going to read, grade papers, and maybe try sliding down my street in my shoes.  Otherwise, I’ll be taking internet courses in computers to get some professional development hours. 
 
I hope everyone’s weekend is warm and cozy.
 
KM
About takedeux

In one summer I had a baby who was hospitalized for five weeks, quit my job, and moved back to my hometown. This blog is about starting over.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Hunkered down

  1. Unknown says:

    We actually had a cold spell here in South Texas, down to 40\’s . . . burr . . . lol.  The rum should keep you warm this weekend, have a great one!
     
    ~Al

  2. Kelly says:

    Why didn\’t you tell me you had those things stocked up for this storm heading toward us (yes, even in Illinois, though it seems like we\’re very far away) this weekend? I need some rum & coke, cookie dough, and Chex mix, too! Next time, give me some warning, would you? Then we can talk shop (read: all things education) while snacking.

    There would be coffee too, right? That\’s the dealbreaker.

  3. Dennis says:

    Oh it is cold here too…….stocked up and made the famous homemade chilli………….stocked with the fixins for Appletinis…….. ready to watch some Olympics.  Come on over.
     
    Dennis

  4. Dena Marie says:

    Hey, KM!
     
    Thanks for visiting my blog. I don\’t know how I missed yours on Jenn\’s website. You\’re funny! I completely agree with you about testing… and the ridiculousness that goes along with it. Can\’t eat a mint or chew gum?? And the thing about the water… that actually sounds a lot like the private college I worked for last year. You\’ve just given me another blog topic — thanks, KM!  🙂
     
    I look forward to reading more of your stuff. Your blog is definitely going on my favorites list. Hope you survive the snowstorm… I\’ll be eating cookie dough right along with you… (except I don\’t have a good excuse like you do).  😛
     
    DM

  5. Kristen says:

    My dad lives south of Springfield, MO.  I think he must have gotten hit with the same storm as Little Rock in 2000 because he too did not have power for over a week!  I can\’t even imagine!  Luckily he has a wood stove in his house…that sucker puts out some heat!  There have been many times when I have visited him in the winter and, I kid you not, it has been 85-90 inside!  I guess I shouldn\’t complain though.  Anyway, thanks for stopping by my space.  Come back and visit any time!  Take care.

  6. Alicia says:

    SO, how did you weather the strom?  Was it bad or did it miss you completely?

  7. Unknown says:

    Peanut butter and Chex mix, my favorites!! Have you ever made the Muddie Buddies with the Rice Chex Mix.  They are so addictive!  I would love to have truly cold weather and be stuck at home! 
     
    Ashlie 

Leave a Reply

