You know I love this stuff

What she’s wore: LSU sweatpants, white t-shirt, white socks, no shoes

Well, I’m still stuck in the house–I watched some guy 4-wheel down the street and he was fish-tailing the whole way.  I have no desire to do that in my car.  Today I’m just going to share a little funny from work:
 
On Friday the kids were coming back from lunch break and there were only a few in the room.  One of the boys called one of the girls a "wanch."  Then another kid yelled, "Ooooh, Mrs. M, did you hear that?  That’s a cuss word."  I looked at him and said, "Wanch?  How is that a cuss word?–that’s not even a word.  What’s a wanch?"  One of my smarties says, "it’s like a slut."  I look at him totally confused and say, "do you mean a wench?  what is wrong with you guys?"  This was the smartie’s response:
 
"Ya’ see Miss M., we’re black and you’re white.  You say stink, we say stank, you say blink, we say blank, and you say wench, we say wanch." He said all this with the hand motions and head bobbing that go with this kind of speech. 
 
I just put my head down on my desk to hide my smile.
 
KM
About takedeux

In one summer I had a baby who was hospitalized for five weeks, quit my job, and moved back to my hometown. This blog is about starting over.
This entry was posted in Teaching. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to You know I love this stuff

  1. Tracy says:

    Hi, thanks for coming by my site!  Sounds like some fun winter weather you are having…we\’ve had a crappy COLD weekend here in TN too although the roads are fine…for now at least but we\’ll see about the morning.  Unfortunately I have to work, I know a lot of people are off tomorrow!  The story about the kid in your class is funny — ahh the things kids say!!  Have a good day!

  2. Unknown says:

    Saw you in Denas space.  Have a great rest of the weekend.
     
    ~Al

  3. Kristen says:

    How funny!  How did you keep from busting up laughing?  Ahhh, kids!

  4. Unknown says:

    LOl! Okay at first I thought you was trying to tell a joke. It took a minute for it to sink in that this actually happened.

  5. Unknown says:

    LMFAO!!! Priceless…have a great week…I\’m neglecting my blog the next week or so….moving…phooey *hugs*

  6. Alicia says:

    WELL!!  Guess he told you!  However did you manage to NOT burst out laughing?
     
    It seems that we know the same people…other than Mercy, I frequent Mocha Momma and Zwebby….such a small world!!  🙂
     
    Thanks for stopping by…and I will be back to visit, if you don\’t mind!  🙂

  7. Dennis says:

    Oh Lawd that is funny.  The Chil-ren must keep you entertained on a daily basis.  I love the enunciations of different places.  Some of it is colloquial and some of it can be universally applicable to a group everywhere.  I wonder what the chil-ren would think of me and my ability to speak both languages?  Can I come to class with you some day?
     
    Dennis

  8. Jaysey says:

    Ha! Ha!  That\’s an utterly hilarious anecdote!  Thanks for sharing it!  Got to love those dialects! 🙂

  9. barnyardmama says:

    Actually, Dennis (and anyone else who\’s interested), we try to teach our kids BOTH languages (we call them registers), so they can be more successful.  It\’s one of the things that makes my school different than many others.  We tell the kids that no way is "wrong"–it\’s just that some are more appropriate that others in certain situations.   What you can accomplish is the goal for all our kids.
    KM

  10. T. says:

    Hi there,
    Thanks for leaving a message on my Space.  I hope you\’ll return!  I fell head over heals for a naval aviator about two years ago; and we still manage to have communicae every once in a while.  I know very well if he wished it to be more often, it would be, but it takes time to resolve oneself of the emotion associated with those love affairs.
    I hope you\’ll return to send a greeting every once in a blue moon!
    Cheers,
    T.

  11. David says:

    Oh Bother!  My thoughts go out to you!  Teachers have it so hard to begin with…I don\’t know how you survive, I really don\’t!!!  🙂
     
    -David  //BootJockey

  12. Dena Marie says:

    Hey, KM!
     
    I was just reading your reply to Dennis about teaching slang/dialect along with Standard American English. I also teach both and the appropriate contexts for each. If you can get your hands on it, Bill Cosby wrote an editorial piece against teaching Ebonics. Even though we both sort of "teach" multiple discourses, the article is still very funny. It\’s called "Ebonics Be a Complex Issue."
     
    By the way, I\’m looking for your New Orleans retrospective but can\’t find it. Where should I be looking?
     
    DM

Leave a Reply

