Small victories

What she wore: black turtleneck, olive green cargos, black snow boots–perfect clothes for an icy day.

We all have those little things that keep us going from day to day:
 
As I stated before, our kids have had major problems adding and subtracting negative numbers.  It seems to be a universal problem for our students and Mr. K and I have struggled to find an effective way to teach it: we’ve tried strange phrasing, complicated rules, ANYTHING to help them with this concept and nothing seemed to work. 
 
The last time our consultant was here she showed us a method–it was a little complicated for our kids, but I could see the possibilities.  I started calling the kids up and teaching them the new method.  Mr. K watched me do it a couple of times and he started using it too. 
 
On our last test there was VISIBLE improvement on the concept.  We’ve finally found something that our kids can use to get the right answer.  Basically, if they screwed it up on the last test, it’s because they didn’t use the method.  I’m floating on air.  Mr. K and I are already plotting for next year. 
 
Doesn’t every teacher feel this way?  Like next year I’ll be an even better teacher. I think when I stop feeling that way, I ‘m going to go do something else.
 
KM
About takedeux

In one summer I had a baby who was hospitalized for five weeks, quit my job, and moved back to my hometown. This blog is about starting over.
This entry was posted in Teaching. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Small victories

  1. Unknown says:

    How awesome when you get to see progress being made!
     
    Ashlie

  2. russ says:

    I truly hope you know that was a joke and I didn\’t offend you!
     
    Somehow I have missed the fact that you are from Arkansas untill now… We probably aren\’t that far apart…
     
    Hope you have a great week!
    Russ

  3. francesco says:

    hi cool blog  I have passed to I leave you a regard  I hope that you will do the same with mine   hi francesco

  4. Alicia says:

    What a wonderful thing to realize that what you taught is actually WORKING!!  Good for you!  <pats KM on the shoulder>
     
    Hope you have a GREAT day!!  🙂

  5. Tracy says:

    That\’s great, you sound like such a good teacher! And isn\’t it great to see visible progress like that!  Thanks for your advice, you are right, I know I do deserve all of that…it\’s just hard accepting he\’s not the one to give it to me.  I do know in my head that (hopefully!) the one will come along one day, and maybe I will be saying WOW I never knew how much better it could be!  Not that it was bad, but obviously there was something missing…I woke up thinking the wow I\’m waking up with HIM, but he obviously wasn\’t thinking that!  Hope you\’re having a great day!

Leave a Reply

