I hate to do this, but. . .

What she wore: baby blue tee, black pants with a blue pin stripe, blue pointy-toed mules, black poncho/sweater thing (I call it my sherpa).  Kids approved.

I hate to do this because I really do love my job and the people I work with, but I’ve got a bit of a vent I’ve got to get out.
 
We’ve got this one kid, who’s special ed, but what they call "indirect."  This means he’s in regular classes and his teachers need to modify his work as neccessary.  The other teachers on my team have showed me his work and it is obvious to me that he has a severe reading disability–my guess would be dyslexia or something related.  I think he’s misplaced in indirect, but no one wants my opinion.  I have lobbied to have him placed in inclusion classes and to have his modifications increased, but no one wants to work any harder than they have to.  Much better to let him cheat and slide by with mediocre grades. 
 
Today was the writing portion of our state assesment.  Today, this teacher who knows that he clearly has a problem annouced, "so-and-so finished in twenty minutes and didn’t write but a couple of sentences."  I just said, "I cant’ imagine how difficult it must be to go through life not being able to read and write.  I think we’re lucky he did that."  Of course, all the other teachers were quick to point out times when he’s been more successful.  I didn’t have the heart to explain to them that it’s much easier to be successful on multiple choice than extemporaneous writing.  One of my poor darlings spent five minutes scanning all through his writing prompt today trying to figure out how to spell the word, "things."  He even asked me if I could help him, but of course I couldn’t; my heart was breaking for him.   
 
To top it off, another teacher reported that two of our gifted kids wrote only a few sentences as well.  This was not viewed as nearly as bad, but it THAT really pisses me off–we need to worry more about the kids who aren’t using their gifts than those who try their hardest with a limited tool chest.
 
Ok, enough of that–I’m off to do arts and crafts like a third-grader!  Yay!
 
KM
 
PS: A little retail therapy at TJ Maxx and I am feeling much better.
About takedeux

In one summer I had a baby who was hospitalized for five weeks, quit my job, and moved back to my hometown. This blog is about starting over.
This entry was posted in Teaching. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to I hate to do this, but. . .

  1. Tracy says:

    That must be frustrating, what\’s really sad is how much that probably happens all throughout the US, the poor kids!  About your yesterday\’s entry, that is just crazy, I can\’t imagine why that girl would marry him, I mean did she have an odd upbringing or something where that\’s the norm?  Hard to believe that stuff happens, here in the US, in 2006!!

  2. Unknown says:

    Does this student have anyone else who cares to champion for him??  Lilke parents, guardians??  Good for you, keep it up.  Maybe someone will stop and realize that there is more of a problem than was realized and he\’ll get the help he needs.
    As far as having little contact….It\’s all we\’ve ever known.  You just get by. Some days are easier than others.   I keep a journal of everyday things, so if and when there is a mail drop I can just send the pages and he\’s kept up to date.  I think their are wives who have it far worse than I do.  My uncle is in Iraq and his wife rarely hears from him, because of his job.  So I\’d much rather know that hubby is stuck in some tin(safely for the most part) down deep in the ocean with little contact than have to worry about him in an extremely dangerous area and not know if he\’s ok. 
     
    I LOVE  TJ Maxx!!!!!  I have a gift to buy and actually was thinking of going there tomorrow.  I always find great books  there for the boys and I love their home section.  Have a great night!
    Ashlie

  3. Charlotte says:

    For someone like you who truly wants to be a teacher (meaning a mentor, friend, helper, and show the children how to learn the best for their abilities) I can understand how frustrating this issue must be.  God Bless You for all that you do.  There are way too many kids out there who have trouble spelling and reading and are just pushed along…  As my husband often says, "If you can Read, you can do anything……."  He taught his daughter how to knit…..  He has been asked.  DO YOU KNIT?????  NO… he says, "BUT I CAN READ!!"  He read the directions and taught her!!!  Keep doing what you are doing… Even if it is only with one kid along the way one at a time.. YOU ARE MAKING A DIFFERENCE!!… hugs, lottiemae

  4. Jeanne-Marie says:

    I have no suggestions. Not in my field of expertise. Good Luck solving that issue.

  5. Dennis says:

    KM,
     
    Most of us can not imagine what you experience on the front lines of a school with serious educational challenges.  Unfortunately too many will read this post realizing that there is nothing we can do about any of it too.  But is that really the case? 
     
    When you write about these things, I develop a greater and deeper appreciation for you, the person and the teacher.  Your passion for what you do is actually an inspiration to this older guy who has been in a professional rut these past couple of years.  I can remember not long ago I had the same fiery passion for change.  And I need it back!
     
    Reading this makes me wish there could be some way I could help champion your cause to reassign this young man to an appropriate class.  One would think with the power of blogging that we could create a blog that addresses these issues and point the responses towards school districts so that they had to respond.  I think there is an idea here.  I would love to collaborate with you.
     
    Love the outfit, babydoll.
     
    Dennis

  6. Cheryl says:

    I have a grand child we have been tryong to get help for.  She is in the 3rd grade and has such trouble reading.  The school has refused to test her saying she has to fail a grade before they can do anything.  She is not failing except reading.  We work hard with her in all her subjects and read to her when it just gets to difficult for her.  If she is read to she passes all her tests and her homework is quick.  If she reads her own science or social studies or whatever she never finishes her homework and eventually writes anything on the paper.  It is so painful to watch this kid.

  7. Hollie says:

    Sounds like I wish my Roo was in your classroom…We just finally (half way thru grade 2) got her an IEP that places in her in a smaller class half day, and gives her an EA the other half. But it was a FIGHT!
    Thinking this wee one has a probable processing disorder, maybe not dsylexia, but so many things mimic each other these days it is hard to tell till real testing gets done…I know with my Roo till we did the testing the thought was she was lazy(Intellengence 97%, processing speed 7%)…now we can give her real tools…is this wee one in your room or another and is there much support there to do more? I think teachers that really care are the best gift we can give our kids from your blog you sound like one of them.
     
    Hollie
    me Spectrum Mom….

Leave a Reply

