Love, commercial style

What she wore: Off-white pants with light pink and dark pink stripes, dark pink tee, pink mules with a one inch heel.  Basically, everyone like the outfit, but the pants were too long and I snuck off and taped them up in the middle of the day, so they wouldn’t keep dragging the ground.  Guess I need to hit the tailor.

Have you ever seen an eharmony commercial?  It’s got these average-looking people staring into each other’s eyes and talking about how happy they are.  They talk about "chemistry" and "compatability."  I catch myself wanting to fill out one of those all-knowing profiles.  I mean, I’m already married, but maybe filling out one of those questionaires will reveal something about myself that I never knew.  I seriously considered joining just so I could fill out that questionaire.  The only problem?  Then I’d want to sign up the hub, so I could see if we’re compatable according to eharmony. 

 

That’s a real convincing commercial. 

 

And, of course, there’s these diamond commericals where they say, "tell her you forever do."  Holy crap.  When I got married I thought THAT was forever–I didn’t know there was a trial period before you "forever do."  Wait a second, maybe this is just a conspiracy to get me do buy a diamond?

 

What I’m wondering is: how many people out there are buying this?  Marriage is not a thirty-second commercial.  When you interview two people who have still only known each other a year, is that evidence of success?  I am quite certain about my relationship with the hub, and we’ve been together almost eight years, but I’m not on some t.v. lording it over everyone like I won a fifth grade popularity contest. 

 

I just hate that love is pre-packaged.  The real love that gets you through the hard times is unpredictable.  It keeps you sane when you need it, but there are far more dinners on the couch in front of the T.V. than candlelight meals in an elegant restaurant.  For me, best moments are the ones that you didn’t plan–sitting on the back porch on a Sunday afternoon, listing the best songs from the eighties while you wait for a table on a Saturday night, snuggling-in and hitting snooze on Monday morning. 

 

I have at least one friend who thinks it’s all about roses and presents.  I hope she’s in the minority. 

 

Hope your weekend is wonderful.

 

KM


About takedeux

In one summer I had a baby who was hospitalized for five weeks, quit my job, and moved back to my hometown. This blog is about starting over.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Love, commercial style

  1. Hollie says:

    KM
     
    Most of us females know it NOT about roses and presents–the simple things matter most…and as one single gal I dont need diamonds for a man to say He wants me in his life forever.So Im with ya!
     
    Hollie

  2. Laura says:

    I agree. I like it best when something romatic \’happens\’ and isn\’t planned. It is nice to be wined and dined… but even better when we find ourselves laughing until we cry. I could go on forever about the snuggly, cuddly, smoochy-face things that I love about being married, but I am just so thankful we are best friends.

  3. Unknown says:

    So much of todays worls is "pre-packaged"  we are suppose to "buy" into everything.  I prefer the "home made" spontaneous stuff.  To much of a sappy moment, now I\’m missing hubby more!
     
    Have a great weekend!
    Ashlie

  4. Dennis says:

    KM – I concur that love is not pre-packaged.  And it is not guaranteed either.  The only constant in life is change. 
     
    I can\’t believe that you have been married for 8 years.  That means you married as a teen.  Who knew?
     
    Ok I did not need that tidbit about taping up the pants.  In my imagination (which you have left up to me) you were ALWAYS tailored.  Now I have to work on a new image.  Darn!
     
    No hose or tights????  Hmmmm???? Ok I wont go there. 😉
     
    Dennis
    P.S. I am glad you like the tune on my space.

  5. Kelly says:

    You are dead on about the unplanned moments being the most cherished ones.

    It is when my husband reaches over for my hand before he goes to sleep, because he falls asleep easiers. It is when he reaches around my waist EVERY SINGLE DAY when I\’m in the kitchen preparing meals for our family. It is laying my head in his lap after a long day and having him bend down to smell my hair.

    How\’s that for eHarmony?

  6. T. says:

    Great post.  My BF has been in training for the past three weeks.  He comes home tomorrow.  I\’ve managed over the past few days to put the "missing him" on a lower decibel, but your post made me downright wistful.  *Sigh.* Just one more day. 

  7. barnyardmama says:

    Perhaps I should explain:  My husband and I have been MARRIED for four years.  We were together four years before that.  We met at 19, but didn\’t get married until I was 23.  I stayed on the family pay-roll as long as possible. 
     
    And EZ, I defy classification (imagine me smiling with an evil glint in my eye).
     
    KM

  8. Unknown says:

    Hi,Do you need digital signage, digital sign, ad players and ad displays? Please go Here:www.amberdigital.com.hk(Amberdigital).we have explored and developed the international market with professionalism. We have built a widespread marketing network, and set up a capable management team dedicated to provide beyond-expectation services to our customers.
    amberdigital Contact Us
    website:www.amberdigital.com.hk
    alibaba:amberdigital.en.alibaba.com[gebeibajabefjc]

Leave a Reply

