It’s not just for freaks.

What she wore: black mardi gras t-shirt (fitted), washed denim skirt, black leather slides.


Well, I’ve been holding it in, waiting for the perfect time, and here it is!  Today is Mardi Gras.
 
When I left the deep south, I realized that other people had a very strange opinion of Mardi Gras–weirdly, they believed everything they’d seen on T.V.  For most of the people I met, Mardi Gras was basically a Girls Gone Wild Video.
 
So,  I feel it is my civic duty to inform the world of the truth: Mardi Gras is for everyone. I like to list, so I’ll do it that way.
 
  1. Parades are for kids and for hanging out with your friends.  If you show your breasts at a parade, you’ll be arrested.
  2. The boobie fest takes place in the French Quarter which is devoid of Mardi Gras history and basically a place with bars.  If you go down there, you know what you’re trying to see.  As a NO native, I’ve gone my entire life without being in the French Quarter for Mardi Gras.
  3. Twenty-three years of Mardi Gras and I only saw two pairs of breasts–these people were prompty accosted by the police.  I’m NOT kidding.  That’s not going on all over the city. 
  4. Natives do NOT show their boobs.  We know that beads are worth $1 at most and even strippers are getting better money than that.  I’ve NEVER known a native to lift their shirt–I did however, meet seven Ivy League grads who showed their ta-tas for plastic.  Wow, that’s really smart!
  5. Mardi Gras is a holiday, not a place or an event.  You can sit at home and watch T.V., or you can go to a parade, but you can’t avoid the day–school is cancelled, businesses are closed, and travel is impossible.  Everyone celebrates–it’s not just a bunch of gays and transvestites walking around in weird costumes.  That’s just does better on the national news.

People come down hard on the Crescent City because of the live and let live attitude.  Personally, I think it’s pretty democratic, but please don’t judge Neworleanians by the people who visit and act like fools.  I hope maybe I made you realize that Mardi Gras is a wonderful holiday with the trifecta of greatness: friends, family, and food.  I’m missing my city today if you can’t tell.  Below, I’ll put a quote that I stole from MSN who stole it from someone else:

Back in 1945, Tallant wrote of the festival’s future: "I am not inclined to worry. I think if there is any world left in which human beings still laugh and still even on rare occasions have fun, there will be a Mardi Gras, and I think it will live through whatever catastrophes occurs, as it survived the perishing of Greece and the destruction of Rome … Men cease to laugh only when they are ill or when they have become beasts. That is why Mardi Gras is not a trivial matter but a very important one. In a way, it is a symbol of the art of being human and wherever people are still human, wherever they enjoy living, it will exist in some form."

Happy Mardi Gras.

KM

About takedeux

In one summer I had a baby who was hospitalized for five weeks, quit my job, and moved back to my hometown. This blog is about starting over.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to It’s not just for freaks.

  1. Unknown says:

    Thanks for the suggestions!  I trying to keep my calm over this and not let my perfectionism get in the way here!
     
    Ashlie

  2. russ says:

    OK thanks… totally destroyed a lifetime of adolescent images in a single blog… \’preshiate it… 😉
    Russ

  3. Tracy says:

    Hi!  I see my tag, I will get to it probably tomorrow, I have to think of 5 good ones!  About Mardi Gras – interesting, I was one who thought it was all just one big party.  New Orleans scares me.  I was there for the Sugar Bowl when Va Tech played FSU in Janury 2000.  I don\’t like crowds too much and not knowing the city, and the fact that we stayed a 20 minute taxi ride from downtown, it scared me.  Haha I am a wimp!  I think it would have been more fun if we were staying downtown.  The hotel we were in, was so far away, and was a total dump, complete with mouse droppings all over the room.  My favorite part about New Orleans?? The pralines! MMMMMMM Yummy!

  4. Alicia says:

    Well, see, now I learned something!  You must be a teacher! <laughing>
     
    I always thought Mardi Gras was a big party about showing your boobs…I\’m glad I know different now!!  🙂

  5. Jaysey says:

    Well put.

Leave a Reply

