Ummm, can I quit now?

What she wore: tweed skirt with white, two shades of pink, and purple; pink long-sleeve tee, two tone pink slides.  Well received.

Well, this was one of those days.  According to the gossip, seven of our students were expelled today in the middle of the day.  I won’t bother to point out the irony of expelling a kid in the middle of the day and then sending them on to take a science test–I just sat there in shock when I heard.  Our kids are SO young and have their whole lives ahead of them.  These students were expelled for being involved with gang activity.  I’m not judging, but there are some kids who SUCK the energy out of classroom and these aren’t those kids–one of the ones being suspended is the reason Mr. K goes to work every day.  It’s hard to imagine how we’ll get on without them.  No one has worked harder than we have to get our kids ready for the benchmark and now they’re expelling them the week before the test. 
 
The thing that really bothers me is that they never tell the teachers what is going on–if we’re having a gang problem, we have to hear it from the kids.  The administrators tell us squat and then expect us to do our job’s effectively.  How is this possible?  We could even HELP administrators.   I could name who’s in what gang better than anyone–I’m on the front line every day.  They know there’s a problem, but they leave it up to me to break up the fights, and then don’t tell me what’s going on. 
 
To add to this, I had to sub for Mr. K (his daughter’s having surgery first thing tomorrow morning) in his fourth period and the class was HORRIBLE.  It was just a sucky end to an even suckier day. 
 
I’ll be better after I finish this rum and coke.
 
At least the weather’s pretty.
 
KM
About takedeux

In one summer I had a baby who was hospitalized for five weeks, quit my job, and moved back to my hometown. This blog is about starting over.
This entry was posted in Teaching. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Ummm, can I quit now?

  1. Unknown says:

    *Insert your best southern accent here*  Georgia, 5 mins from FL border.   Hubby hates seagulls.  He calls them rats with wings.  No wonder he gets pooped on by them!  Sorry your day was so stinky!  I so dread when our school has benchmarks.
    It occured to me the other night   that my Dad always had to go to Little Rock for 2 weeks each summer while he was in the Air Force Reserves.  Little slow that way!  Ashlie

  2. Jaysey says:

    It seems to me that you\’re right–the administration should be doing its best to keep you informed–not purposely leaving you in the dark.  If they did let you know what was going on, it might cut down on the number of problems you have in your school.  Why are administrators so far out of the loop sometimes??  They should all be forced back onto "the front lines" for at least a wekk at least once a year, so they can stay in touch with reality.  But that\’s just my two cents. 🙂

  3. Dennis says:

    I just hate it when your day is bad.  You know I am way too protective of you.  Sometimes the administration can be filled with rat b*st*rds.
    I got an Appletini with your name all over it.
    How about a nice plate of chitlins with it?
     
    Dennis

  4. Carol says:

    The administration should focus on the well-being of ALL the kids.  That includes the kidss who are suspended/expelled.  That\’s the problem with zero tolerence rules.  There\’s no room to look at the individual situation to see whether this particular child can be helped.  I agree with you; everybody, teachers included, should be brought into the process of forming a remedial plan.  Or, if the child is a repeat offender or just can\’t stay in the school, the teachers should be brought into the plan to send him/her to a special school.
    I will belatedly toast you with my gin and tonic tonight! 
    ~Carol

  5. Laura says:

    Ok, so I am figuring out you post frequently… I missed alot over 3 days! Ok, first, I was glad to learn about Mardi Gras. I never knew that about the French Quarter. I did always think of the holiday as a celebration of boobies. Good to know! 🙂
     
    And, I am always so sad to hear about kids getting expelled. I wonder if there is a better way of dealing with these kids. And, I always wondered, does being expelled mean they cannot go back to school at all that year, or could they try another school district. And, do they get to come back, ever?!?

  6. Hollie says:

    I certainly can uderstand your feelings about admin and staff communication problems. Here we have a principal who refuses to see the bullying at the junior level but then turns around and thinks nothing of suspending a student who has a melt down in class who is special needs. The logic sometimes baffles me. So now they arent in class so how will they get the education they so need to combat the gang life style? Admin certainly werent thinking with this one.It is hard with zero tolerance policy cause we certainly arent looking at the well being of child or youth in question.
     
    Hollie

Leave a Reply

