This means WAR!

What she wore: Grey pants with purple and white pin stripes, purple long-sleeve tee, black strappy slides. 

Mini-update for those who read regularly: the kids who were "expelled" are going to court on March 17th–the judge will decide their fate.  In the mean time they may attend school and will be in school for the big test next week.  Whew!  I have my fingers crossed that they’ll only expel the bad ones.
 
Now for today’s issue: My DVR and my neighbors.  As I have mentioned previously, I live in a little neighborhood outside the city.  Cable does not run out here, so if you want many channels, you have to get a dish.  The Hub and I have Dish TV (LOVE it), and so do most people in our neighborhood.  I went ahead and pay the extra five dollars a month for the DVR, so I can record the shows I like.
 
Here’s the problem:  In certain instances my neighbor’s remote will hijack MY t.v.  We’re close and I guess the signals get crossed because it’s as if Casper in is charge of the thing.  This hasn’t been a real problem because I just change it back, but now two nights IN A ROW I’ve had a problem–My recordings have been interrupted.  I’ve had to watch only 33 minutes of my crime shows, and that is just crap.  I usually tape the nine o’clock shows, so I can get ready for bed then and watch them the next day.  Tonight I’m staying up to make sure it doesn’t happen.  This weekend, I’m calling the Dish people.
 
I realize this is silly, but isn’t that what keeps up going?
 
KM 
 
Note:  I typed this up thinking people would enjoy the idea of me staying up, zealously guarding my television.  People have started commenting and seem really concerned–please don’t be–I just think it’s hilarious–barnyardmama defender of the TiVo!
About takedeux

In one summer I had a baby who was hospitalized for five weeks, quit my job, and moved back to my hometown. This blog is about starting over.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to This means WAR!

  1. Cheryl says:

    I have no solution but I would also call the Dish Network folks…

  2. Unknown says:

    Frustrating!!!!!  More than a little spooky with something happening and you have no control over it.  Sorry, hope it gets better.
     
    Ashlie

  3. Sergio says:

    Hello KM just passing by and saw your site..
    Very nice work and some good books
    hope you have time to stop by my space too and say hello
    bye

  4. Tracy says:

    Ha, that is funny about the DVR, I didn\’t think the remote signals would be strong enough to do that!!  I\’ve been having trouble with mine too, with DirecTV DVR we have 2 cables into it, well it\’s not recognizing one of them, so it will work for like 5 days and then not work, so every 5 days I have to unplug it and wait forever for it to restart everything.  Annoying, I need to get the guys out there to fix it!  That\’s good news about the kids, at least they can stay in school for now and hopefully the judge will do the right thing!!

  5. Ginger says:

    Hi!  Just stopped by from Tracy\’s site to check out yours.  I love it!  If it\’s ok with you, I\’ll come back and check things out some more.  ( And feel free to drop by my spot anytime and say hi , read, etc….)   I think we have a good deal in common (starting with diet coke, a love of reading, shopping therapy,  the TV without Pity… I could go on )  and would love to learn more about you! 
     
     
     

  6. Laura says:

    Were you staying up for CSI? It was a good episode last night. I always watch that and Without a Trace. I think it is worth staying up for, and worth protecting *wink*. Now, I know nothing about DVR, but one would think there is a way to set the channel so that it wouldn\’t do that. You will just have to let the neighbors know they cannot use the remote between 9pm and 10pm on Tuesdays and Thursdays…

  7. Alicia says:

    I actually thought it WAS funny to think of you sitting up to guard your TV….I would do the same thing for Survivor!!  🙂

  8. russ says:

    I was trying to figure out how you guard it from little electronic impulses or what ever runs a TiVo… lol
     
    It was Harry\’s joke!!!
     
    Russ

Leave a Reply

