Things that make you go hmmmmm

What she wore: black, white, and teal houndshooth skirt, teal top, two-tone teal spectator pumps.   I had to take the shoes off this morning because my clomping was distracting studetns taking a test below me.  Mr. K thought that was hilarious. 

Today I’m going to blog about Mr. K–I’ve debated touching this topic since I think it’ll be a hot one, but I figured why not?
 
I work with Mr. K in the mornings–we teach math together to the inclusion classes (classes with special ed and regular ed combined) on the team and then I switch and go into the science classrooms in the afternoon. 
 
We have a lot in common–we’re the same age, married, and are both new to the school.  Our upbringings are similar–we both met our spouses in (honors) college, got married soon thereafter, and went to private school.  He reminds me a lot of my husband. 
 
I adore his wife and his children and the Hub and I have gone out to dinner with them and they’ve invited me to church (which I love, by the way).
 
We make a good team in the classroom–he lets me plan the lessons sometimes which is rare in an inclusion setting.  I take the class as seriously as if it were my own.  I tutor kids in math in the afternoons, so that they can all continue to move forward.  He really makes it more of a team effort as opposed to treating me like a visitor in his room. 
 
The thing is this:  I wonder what other people are thinking.  Does the relationship look inappropriate from the outside?  I KNOW that everything is above board, but is that enough?  There are lots of female-friend pairings at my school, but there are also about five women to every one man. I guess I just wonder if there’s something I should be doing to make it loud and clear that this is a PROFESSIONAL relationship and that’s it!  His wife’s not worried, and my husband isn’t worried, but I don’t want anyone else to worry.  Any thoughts?
 
KM
About takedeux

In one summer I had a baby who was hospitalized for five weeks, quit my job, and moved back to my hometown. This blog is about starting over.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Things that make you go hmmmmm

  1. Unknown says:

    Me telling you not to worry about what other people think is a joke, since I worry over that the most.  But don\’t worry about it.  It sounds as if you two work really well together and the kids are going to benefit GREATLY from that!!  And thats what you both are there for.  I think you said it best that it\’s a team effort.   Anyone who implies that it\’s an unprofessional relationship obviously hasn\’t realized they have more than enough of their own stuff to worry about.
     
    Have a good night!
    Ashlie

  2. Dena Marie says:

    Hmmm… that\’s a really sticky situation, KM. On one hand, I\’m the type to say, "Who cares what others believe?" If they take the time to ask the two of you the questions and not make stupid assumptions, they\’d know the truth. However, only you know what people are proneto do at your school (be rumor-mills or not) and only you know what the real repercussions of their rumors would be. If they will be serious repercussions, maybe you could just casually drop into conversations wtih fellow teachers how much you and *your husband* enjoy Mr. K and his wife\’s company. That should at least begin to keep rumors at bay. Good luck!
     
    As for your comments on my blog earlier, not to worry… I\’m meeting N. this coming Saturday… and you all will, of course, get the full scoop when it\’s all said and done… for better!… or worse. Honestly, I seriously doubt that the date will be anything but absolutely wonderful… but we won\’t really know until it\’s over. I suppose I have to retain a teensy bit of reality.  🙂
     
    –DM

  3. russ says:

    As long as the two spouses are ok, then I wouldn\’t sweat it too much. However (ugly word that one huh)… Since the politics in a setting such as yours can be… obscure… just don\’t ever let yourself get into a situation where the tongues can start flapping (did I just mix a metaphor)… you know… never alone, never over affectionate… Professionalism is the key when on school grounds I would say… When out with the spouses, then you can be friends…
     
    Have a great one!
    Russ

  4. Ginger says:

    Hey, you , Mr. K and both your spouses know the truth…. who cares what the rest of the world thinks?   Go on about things like you are now and don\’t sweat it.  You don\’t owe anyone at work explanations on your personal life. 
    PS Thanks for the advice about the vacation days. 

  5. Alicia says:

    I think if your spouses are not worried, than you shouldn\’t worry about it either.  You don\’t owe anyone any explanations…but you could obviously GIVE one if necessary.  Don\’t let it bother you, Katy.  🙂

  6. Nadine says:

     I am going to agree with the rest……As long as the spouses are cool with it……then who gives a flip what others say or think! People will talk. They are unhappy in their own lives or want something or the attention that the rumor brings. They will say ugly things but I wouldn\’t give it a thought!
     One time, the BossMan came to me and said,"Oh by the way, we are sleeping together and I am selling illegal drugs." I just burst out laughing!! "Welcome to my world of lies and rumors!" I am pretty used to the gossip and I don\’t really give two hoots about it. I know the truth and I am good with who I am. But he was upset….he is a christian and the thought of him doing illegal or illicit things was more than he could handle.
     The source of the rumors was a co-worker that wanted my job! She thought if she could cause friction between me and his wife that I would be fired and she could slip right into my spot. That was four years ago and she didn\’t last 7 months with us!
     I wouldn\’t give it another thought!!

  7. Unknown says:

    Focus on the kids, and giving them a good education…rumors are for the birds…you know the ones with the beaks, and dentures…and loose lips…hehe the kind that sink ships you know…wink.
     
    Thanks…wanted to tone down the site…got bored w/ the purple stuffs.
     
    Hugs,
     
    M
     
     

  8. Cheryl says:

    I have found that schools are rumor mills.  I used to consult for a few years in Houston.  They were alwways spreading rumors and the competition was horrible.  It has been like 15 years now so I hope it has changed.  Personally I would not worry about it.  But then I would not flaunt it either.  Friendly time that is visible and obvious can be on personal time.  I guess i would talk to him about it and try to make all school interactions looke pretty strait laced and professional.  No chit chat between each other or joking around….  Just my thots on it.

Leave a Reply

