The gal with a plan

What she wore: wine-colored knit top with cap sleeves, black skirt with wine-colored design and a mermaid hemline, black strappy slides with a serious heel.

This weekend I’m going to a friend’s wedding and I’ll be meeting up with all the old pals from college.  In attendence should be my friend who will be having her first child at the end of the month.  She is my friend with the "plan."  I know we all have plans for our lives, but she’s the only person I’ve met so far in life that’s been checking hers off like a grocery list since she made it.  It goes like this:
 
Bachelor’s degree–check!
Master’s degree–check!
Wedding–check!
House–check!
Furnished–check!
365 days after wedding, start working on baby–check!
 
She will be giving birth almost exactly two years after she got married.  Her plan is on perfect track.
 
Whenever I see the plan in action I look at myself and wonder "Where’s my plan?"  I’ve just been wandering around with NO PLAN!  I just do what feels right and don’t worry too much about the future–I mean, I’m saving for retirement and everything, but I don’t have a plan–I don’t have any expectation for how things are going to happen or when they’re going to happen.  I’m flying without a net!
 
Who’s way is better?  Who cares?  My way works for me and her way works for her–do you have a way?
 
KM
 
PS:  I’d like to say thanks for all the advice–I do try to only chat in a group, keep social stuff for outside of school, and in case you haven’t noticed, I’m crazy about my job, so if you do eaves drop on our conversation it’s usually about math, or teaching math, or our kids.  I have a one-track mind.
About takedeux

In one summer I had a baby who was hospitalized for five weeks, quit my job, and moved back to my hometown. This blog is about starting over.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to The gal with a plan

  1. Unknown says:

    yeah…. my plan has long been buried.  For a while it seemed like the only "plan" I could count on was to move often and stay pregnant it seemed like forever.  Sometimes  our plans need a little tweaking, but right now we just have the "go with the flow" plan! 
     
    Ashlie

  2. Gina says:

    Plans are way to overrated and calculated.  What\’s the fun in that? :o) Just came over from Zwebbyville! Great space.

  3. Jaysey says:

    My way is like your way–go with the flow, do what feels right when it feels right…I can\’t plan like that (your friend)…never seems to work for me.  If I even try to make a plan like that, something always goes wrong, and then when it goes wrong, I feel like a failure…and I don\’t really like failure…so now, I just don\’t plan!  I\’m with Mannyed–plans are definitely overrated!

  4. Kelly says:

    I\’m not here to offer advice. I\’ll say this: I can\’t wait for that baby to come into her life and turn it upside down. People like her deserve children that are challenging. Wait. I got my share of challenging kids. What\’s that mean?

    Not ONE thing in my life has been part of a "plan". Everything comes when it comes. And I\’ve loved every minute of the ride. 😉

  5. Hollie says:

    Life is full of surprises and so I threw out the plan long ago, but I did have one–that  lasted till I was 30 and then I relized that life is going to throw so much at you that one can never plan for we simply have to look to the future with faith and humor.
     
    Hollie
     
     

  6. russ says:

    Plans, Schmans…
     
    When life is going according to a "plan" life is boring… We are here to enjoy the few short years we have available to us… Planning is just a way to limit the amount of fun we have…
     
    Let\’s start a "Go with the Flow" movement!!
    Russ

  7. Tracy says:

    I think the most important part is what you said about – your way works for YOU, her way works for HER, and that\’s all that matters!! Everyone\’s different although I do know what you mean about the PLAN.  I see so many people get married at like 22, and have a baby within 2 years, which is fine but then again I\’m glad I\’ve lived most of my 20\’s babyless…there\’s plenty of time for that later.   I\’m with Russ…GO WITH THE FLOW!  And have fun doing it! 🙂

  8. Ginger says:

    I agree with everyone on here…. do what is right for you and no one else…. I think it\’s nice to have an idea of what you want in life, but you have to find your own time table for achieving the things you want – otherwise, I don\’t think we appreciate them as much.     Hope you enjoy the wedding and the time with your friends.  Don\’t let anyone ruin it for you. 
     
       BTW, I am a Reese fan too — I loved Legally Blonde!  and PS, if you watch Grey\’s Anatomy and have not read Erin\’s review… you may want to – I couldn\’t quit laughing about her take on Addy.  
     
    Have a wonderful day! 

  9. Ginger says:

    Sorry I forgot to mention that Erin\’s review is on TV without Pity!  Got distracted for a min.   🙂

  10. Laura says:

    I think it is best to have two plans.
    One for the serious stuff: college, marriage, house, babies..
    One for fun stuff: trip to Vegas, see Italy, sky dive
    Oh, and maybe a back-up plan incase your plans don\’t work out. Like for me, I never planned on getting married so young. I thought for sure I would be out of college and in a career… "oops, that didn\’t work out. Now, let\’s move on to plan B" type of deal.
    People who stick to plans like that can sometimes miss opprotunities because it isn\’t on their list… just a thought

  11. Alicia says:

    I think the plans work for some while for others they do not…I used to have a plan too, but it doesn\’t take much to change it.  THAT much, I HAVE learned!!  🙂

  12. Nadine says:

     You answered your own question. Every one does what works best for them. I, personally, go with the flow…Plans tend to muck up the fun.

  13. Unknown says:

    My niece (their is a pic of her with my baby sister her mom on my site) Is a math teacher, in Watertown, WI.
    She lived with me when she was little for a while after her mom\’s accident. I\’ll never forget her coming home from school and playing teacher! Her room looked like a school classroom, all she ever wanted was school stuff, my kids were her pretend students!
     
    Pebble

Leave a Reply

