Borderline Words

What she wore: Navy blue pants, green long-sleeve tee, navy blue sweater, black leather slides.  Nobody pinched me!

WARNING: THIS BLOG IS RATED PG-13!!!
 
I’m not originally from Arkansas–I spent most of my years in the New Orleans area.  After moving to AR, one of my co-workers introduced me to the concept of "borderline words."  These are words that aren’t curse words, but that are considered impolite by many.  This particular co-worker prided herself on using none of the borderline words.  I’d never heard of this before, and I’m guilty of using almost all of them.  The borderline words are:
 
crap
suck
screw
butt
shut up
 
I told one my friends about these borderline words and her response was, "Katy, you’re from New Orleans–shit is a borderline word there."
 
Have a great weekend. 
 
KM
About takedeux

In one summer I had a baby who was hospitalized for five weeks, quit my job, and moved back to my hometown. This blog is about starting over.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Borderline Words

  1. Laura says:

    Borderline words seem innocent compared to what I hear everyday. I was just at Walmart, and from the conversations between the employees I heard worse language…
     
    I am always trying to watch what I say, but things tend to slip out…
     

  2. Nadine says:

     I can not say butt or friggin or flippin or freakin or fart or urine in front of my inlaws. We can not talk about sex or any bodily function or parts even though they are a God given natural things.
     They are……..sssshhhhhh………nazarene……..ssshhhh.
     I will have to tell one day about the bull P-E-N-I-S. But not right now.

  3. Unknown says:

    Sadly enough I\’ve thought most of those this week (except shut up).   I have really cleaned up my language in the past 10 years.  That was how I rebelled …..I wouldn\’t dare get drunk, but by gosh I knew all the words and how to use \’em.   
     
    Ashlie

  4. Dena Marie says:

    Obviously, you can see from my blog that I use both borderline and "over the line" words (except for "f\’g"… I try not to say that one outright). However, at school, I definitely DON\’T say "over the line" words; and I *try* not to say borderline words. Because of this, I say weird things in class sometimes… like today… I said, "by golly" and didn\’t even realize what I said until a student of mine said, "Did you just say \’by golly\’?" My response? "Well, gosh darn it, yes, I did."  😉
    –DM

  5. Cheryl says:

    I have the worst cuss mouth you ever want to hear when I am upset.  I thot I would outgrow it but here I am still with the thing.  I agree with your friend.  The only cuss word i know is fu**k.  The rest are just borderline words. 

  6. Kristen says:

    Hmm, I tend to use those borderline words quite often.  And this week I think, I KNOW I used some a lot worse.  Really, when I think about it, I have a dirty mouth.  I cuss like a sailor.  Sometimes I surprise myself with some of thet stuff that comes out of my mouth!  LOL @ Cheryl\’s comment.  Take care!

  7. Nadine says:

    Oh yeah, I have lived all over the state of Oklahoma and I do indeed know where Wichta Falls is…….Don\’t the Dallas Cowboys have a spring camp there??

  8. Tracy says:

    Well, then I guess I am guilty of using borderline words!!  I don\’t use cuss words too much -unless I\’ve been drinking or am really really mad!! Hope you are having a great weekend!

  9. Laura says:

    This is off-topic:
     
    I saw  that in Florida, they have a program that is being revised and is being called E-Comp, where they are rewarding teachers whose students do well on the testing they are doing. I heard the figure of 10% being used. This is the first I have heard of it (seeing that I am not in the loop about education and such since I am not a teacher or parent…)
     
    Do they have the same type of incentives in your sate/district?
     
    Just curious

  10. Alicia says:

    That is TOO funny!  I made up what I like to call my "Alicia-child-friendly-swear: FUDGIN\’ POOPAH!  (With that Maine accent thrown in there!) It is SO funny to hear Laine stub his toe and scream out "FUDGIN\’ POOPAH, MOMMA!" You just HAVE to laugh!
     
    Yes, that does explain your comment…I sort of feel as though I have lived 40 years in my 27 years on this Earth…it\’ll be 28 next month!  But I believe you become much wiser this way…even if it isn\’t exactly my first choice of methods in "hands-on learning"!
     
    HUGS!  🙂

  11. Silliest Schnauzer says:

    I quite appreciate your comment on my blog, thank you!  And since you bought my favorite book "Creating Emotionally Safe Schools", you will be aware of some things that you might not have otherwise…
     
    It is a great and refreshing book… and you will find out all of this once you start it.
     
    So have fun!
     
    Mark
     
    PS I respect your decision to enter the teaching profession… from experience as a student in a rough school, I know it can be hell (for both students and teachers).

Leave a Reply

