You may be dyslexic if. . .

What she wore: jeans; grey, long-sleeve, LSU t-shirt; slip-on grey and purple tennis shoes. 

It’s Sunday and that’s usually a low-traffic day, so I’m posting about a more specialized topic than I usual. 
 
For three years I taught a specific reading class to high schoolers with dyslexia.  I was a rarity because I went from campus to campus doing the program.  Most teachers have one class of dyslexics a day–I had them all day.  I joke that this makes me a dyslexpert.  There are people with far more expertise than me, but I learned a lot about the disorder and thought I’d share on this slow Sunday. 
 
  1. Dyslexia is not a visual problem–sufferers do NOT see words backwords.  Their problem is that the printed word is meaningless.  Their brains do not naturally connect letters with sounds.  They have to work very hard to understand the "symbols" that make up written language.  It’s kind of like an American trying to read Japanese. 
  2. Dyslexics have trouble rhyming
  3. Dyslexics have trouble reading cursive
  4. They may slightly mis-pronounce words or say things like "whachamacallit" instead of using a specific word.
  5. They will mis-read words like a, an, the, it, and. 
  6. Most dyslexics are identified around the age of nine
  7. Most dyslexics have average or above-average I.Q.
  8. Many dyslexics are high-energy
  9. Many are artistic
  10. They may also excel at data analysis or engine repair
  11. Dyslexia appears to be genetic–if you or your spouse is dyslexic, it is highly likely that one of your children will be as well (if you have more than two children, more than one may be dyslexic).
  12. If diagnosed early enough, studies show that the effects of dyslexia can be greatly reduced.
  13. The greatest outward sign of dyslexia is often horrendous, inexplicable spelling. 

After hearing about my previous experience, people will sometimes tell me they’re dyslexic–usually this isn’t a surprise–it’s almost as if they have their own personality type.

 

Hope this was informative–I am in no way an authority on this, but people do have an interest in dyslexia and I thought I’d share what I know.

 

KM

About takedeux

In one summer I had a baby who was hospitalized for five weeks, quit my job, and moved back to my hometown. This blog is about starting over.
This entry was posted in Teaching. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to You may be dyslexic if. . .

  1. Unknown says:

    I had a friend in school who struggled with this and it wasn\’t truly diagnosed until 9th grade.  His personality and artistic capabilities were HUGE!!  Have a good night!
    Ashlie

  2. Dena Marie says:

    Thanks, KM! These tips will definitely come in handy the next time I have a dyslexic student.
    –DM

  3. Dennis says:

    You , my dear, are always informative.  You are such a dynamic young lady that I am proud to say I know exists.  I hope your weekend has been a good one. I wlll endeavor to be more frequent in my visits here.  For if you have not figured it out, I dig ya.
     
    EZ

  4. Nadine says:

     I don\’t really think I am dyslexic but I have always had problems with numbers…..it has gotten worse in the last 3 years.  I see the number but when I say it…..it is all wrong. Somewhere in my brain it gets turned around. I have always misread words. I wonder if there different degrees of dyslexia, like there are different levels of hearing or eyesight.

  5. Carol says:

    Thanks for the description.  Sometimes it\’s too easy too dismiss someone because he or she seems slow or challanged. This is a great reminder that everyone has something to offer. 
    ~Carol

  6. Ginger says:

    Interesting information… Thanks for sharing!  Have a great day!

  7. Laura says:

    I always think of that episode on the Cosby Show when (I can\’t think of his name) was diagnosed with dyslexia. For years his parents had punished him for his bad grades and all, and they found out why. Then years later when the same kid was a teacher, he helped diagnose another kid with dyslexia. I used to think my brother was, but his problem was more with numbers instead of letters. I used to try to help with his homework…

  8. Alicia says:

    This is good to know…I may have a friend with this problem.  Thanks Katy!  🙂
     
    HUGS!!

Leave a Reply

