Traitor

What she wore: pink long-sleeve tee, denim skirt, pink Uggs (I know people say these are out of style, but here in AR we’re OK with them and it’s kind of like getting to wear slippers to work)

I hate to even write this down because I feel like a traitor to my sex. 
 
BUT
 
Working with a whole lot of women can suck sometimes.  Nothing really set me off today, but in general it seems like women-dominated workplaces can be a little bitchy.  At my school every team has one man–I think this helps break things up a little, but still things get weird.  The other day at team meeting all the older women that I work with started giving Mr. K all these compliments like "you’re such a good teacher,"  "you have such a great personality."   Somehow I doubt this happens in real estate offices or technology firms.   I can’t imagine my husband sitting there with a bunch of fellow officers and gushing over a new lieutenant and telling him how great his personality is.  Not to mention the fact that if I were to compliment Mr. K like that whispers would be going all over town. 
 
At least it’s not like my old job where there really was a horrible gossip problem.  The people at my current job are much less nasty–and at least I don’t work in an elementary school.  I’ve heard those places are all out bit#h fests!
 
Food for thought?
 
KM
About takedeux

In one summer I had a baby who was hospitalized for five weeks, quit my job, and moved back to my hometown. This blog is about starting over.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Traitor

  1. Dena Marie says:

    KM,
    I\’ll have to agree with you about working with a bunch of women. While I\’m a woman myself, I sometimes joke that I\’m part-man on the inside because I was practically raised by my brother. He\’s always been one of my very best friends. So my humor and thought processes can be kind of man-like sometimes… I\’m blunt… and not a smidgen prissy. I think the prissy types make all the trouble in the workplace. Know what I mean? Hang in there!
    –DM

  2. Unknown says:

    Women are very hard on other women… I have no idea why, I have never really put much thought into it… but it\’s the truth. No camaraderie  😦
     
    Pebble

  3. Laura says:

    I agree. The worst job I had was all girls, and only one guy. Lucky for me I shared an office with him, otherwise I would have quit alot sooner than I did…
     
    I don\’t like girls too much. I get along better with guys (most of the time). I was a tomboy growing up and I\’m not sure if I really grew out of it.

  4. Tracy says:

    Yup, I hate the gossip!! I try my best to stay out of it here, I can\’t stand it when I hear two of the ladies talking about something that is none of their business but I just don\’t get in on the conversation. That\’s funny that it\’d be worse at an elementary school, so ya at least it could be worse! Hope you have a great day!

  5. PeaceHopeJoy says:

    Yep, a workplace full of women is not good!!  Been there, done that, quit that.
     
    (Love your space…I found you through PebblePie\’s space)

  6. Alicia says:

    My current job is my FIRST with NO women co-workers…and I LOVE it!  No gossipy, bitchy, female CRAP!!  I\’m with ya on this one, Katy!  🙂
     
    HUGS!!

  7. Dennis says:

    Trust me, girlfriend, it is the same EVERYWHERE you go.  And you are right!  Female dominated workplaces are tremendously famous for being b*tch havens.  Come on over to the brotherhood.  We will treat you fairly.
     
    Again the ensemble sounds just lovely on you.  I wish I knew the names of these items you list.  I realize that Uggs are shoes of some sort.  I guess I will have to google to see if I can get giimpse of a pair.  This would all be moot if you included photos of you in your outfits.  Pleaseeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee??????
     
    EZ

  8. Kelly says:

    What the heck – I\’m here already. May as well comment on this other hot topic. (What do you mean you\’re running out of ideas???) Plus, I\’ll address another question you brought up on my Other blog.

    Women are always ALWAYS in competition with one another. Add a man to the mix, and it\’s even worse. Yes, they are insufferable, but think about the worst ones — they are also the most insecure ones and the ones who thrive on outward attention and (ooohhh I\’m gonna get it here) usually have the depth of a paper towel.

    There. I said it.

    As a literacy coach (I don\’t have a classroom, but I teach in all of them either by offering demonstrations and encouraging best practices) I\’ve got an office and happen to share with two other men. There\’s a woman who is a part time social worker, but I rarely see her. If there is any gossip going on about me it\’s usually surrounding some torrid affair I\’m having with them. I can\’t possibly address this due to it\’s idiocy. But when I exercise my authority (as opposed to them) I get questioned and second guessed.

    You think they call me a b*tch? Sure do. I just can\’t care anymore about it. It\’s fruitless and unworthy of my time. Sometimes I will joke with them that all I need is that eleventh finger and life would be fine. 😉

    p.s. Ummmm….I have purple Uggs and THEY ARE DIVINE. I don\’t care if they\’re out of fashion. Cuz, you know, I do what I dang well want to do anyway. "Like slippers"=hilarious, yet true!

  9. Sara says:

    I recently left retail (thank heavens) and work with several women in the substation for the police department. Wow. One woman has been in working there for 20 years so she KNOWS ALL, and it\’s hard to avoid her chatter. She\’s my trainer too so oh my.

Leave a Reply

