A little funny for your Wed.

What she wore: jean capris, orange fitted polo, orange low-heeled sandals.

One of the best things about teaching is the great stories that you get to tell; few jobs are as entertaining as mine.  Here’s a little snippet from last week.
 
We’ve just gotten a new student from Mexico.  When he enrolled, he’d been in the country four days.  Now, he’s been here about three weeks.  I’m the only adult he sees who speaks Spanish.  My Spanish is horrible, high school Spanish, but I understand him OK and can at least answer some of his questions.  Sometimes he comes in with a piece of paper and on it he’ll have words he wants me to translate.
 
On Friday he came in with a piece of paper.  On it was the chorus to "My Humps" by the Black-eyed-peas.  For those of you not familiar with this tune, this is a cute little ditty about a well-endowed girl and the gifts she receives from interested suitors.   It’s catchy, but most of us didn’t learn how to say boobs and butt in 10th grade Spanish.
 
I dug deep.  My grandmother is from Honduras and she was always threatening to spank me in my "nalgas," so assume this is butt.  I try this word out and he seems to understand, but how do you say boobs?  I don’t know. 
 
Up walks another student who asks what we’re working on.  Most of the students know that we’re back there teaching this student some English.  I show her the paper and explain about not know how to say humps or lumps in Spanish.  Oh, she says.  She taps herself in the chest with both hands and says, "lumps," then she hits herself in the butt with both hands and says, "humps."
 
Translation complete!
 
KM

What’s Happened to Ginger?!?
 
Does anyone else read Ginger?  Her site has gone private?  Does anyone know what happened?  Let me know if you do.
About takedeux

In one summer I had a baby who was hospitalized for five weeks, quit my job, and moved back to my hometown. This blog is about starting over.
This entry was posted in Teaching. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to A little funny for your Wed.

  1. russ says:

    Sometimes the simplest way to explain something works the best huh!
    Thanks for your answer to Lifetime on my blog! It was very well said! I think whoever Lifetime is helped to make the point I was trying to make in my entry!
    Have a great day!
    Russ

  2. Unknown says:

    You\’d think by now we\’d have a universal word for boobs and butt!  Too funny!
     
    Ashlie

  3. Unknown says:

    *grabs her boobs & butt*
     
    Dances through your spaces…WOOT WOOT!!
     
    HUGS FOR HUMP DAY!!!!
     
    Mercy

  4. Alicia says:

    LMFAO!!  That translation is PRICELESS!!  🙂
     
    HUGS!!

  5. Unknown says:

    I flew from my home in Seattle to Texas (right on the bay) and met Cheryle from here on MSN Spaces LostandDangerous
    Cheryl\’s  (losing her hearing) two grandaughters and a friend who was spending the weekend came over and did that little diddy for us "Live" LOL  I know the song well, and was really enjoying the girls 10, 11 years old doing it for us, well ya know the little ones get the adults attention they just start up, so their little show went on and on… they were so cute.
    That was my first time in Texas and my first time meeting a blogger in person, I stayed 5 days.
     
    Two months later, I flew back to Texas to see my baby graduate from Air Force basic. Yes we are family, I got all my sisters with me… 
     
    Pebble,   still in bed slinging snot…

  6. Sue says:

    Perfect translation.  Sometimes us adults try to make it so difficult : )

  7. Jaysey says:

    A valuable lesson for you in the power and universality of nonverbal communication–although I supposed it may be inappropriate for you to grab your breasts or butt for a male student\’s benefit! 🙂  I, too, think that Wentworth is quite a distinguished and sophisticated sounding name–which only makes Mr. Miller that much yummier (especially since Tom and Brad have both been sent packing!).

  8. Laura says:

    some things can be so simple, yet we try to make it so hard…
    Cute story. Me and my best friend (whose first language is Spanish) are always comparing notes. She is always asking "What that words means" and I am always asking "How do you say that in Spanish"
    We are always learning something new from eachother. This past weekend, I taught her what a phrase in the movie (Inside Man) meant… I won\’t say it here, but it was a sexual innuendo that she didn\’t understand. I had to tell her bluntly what it meant… we both blushed.

  9. Unknown says:

    that\’s funny…even though it is a ridiculous song…i guess it\’s educational after all.
     
    b

  10. . says:

    Being in a country where people do not ALWAYS know English, I realize that sometimes you just got to do what you got to do to get your point across!
     
    aak

  11. Tracy says:

    I was going to ask the same thing about Ginger so let me know if you hear anything!
     
    That translation story is hilarious, thanks for the laugh!!
     
    Hope you have a great day!

  12. Unknown says:

    Just drifing by…I\’m walking on air…LOVE isn\’t it grand\’waaaa? Mercy

  13. Karen says:

    That translation is priceless!!  Kids are so smart 🙂

  14. Cheryl says:

    Oh don\’t you love those kids!

  15. Alicia says:

    Just wanted to say hi and I hope you are having a GREAT day so far!  🙂
     
    HUGS!!

  16. K says:

    Sometimes to avoid getting lost in translation… demonstrate… that was too funny… I used to teach French and I have had to explain my fair share of slang…. and as your student did… I demonstrated… of course… where appropriate!
     
    Love your blog… always puts a smile on my face and makes me wish I had gone to teachers college like I wanted too!
     
    Have a blessed day!
    KC

  17. Gelati Farms says:

    Hello…
     
    Now, I have seen you all over everybody\’s blog that I read and I wanted to stop by and say hello!  There.  Done.  Life is good.
     
    I read through all the blogs on the home page just to satisfy my curiosity on something.  I was checking to see if you ever wear the same thing twice and I really don\’t see any repeats.  You. Are. My. Hero.  If I started off every blog with what I wore it would go like this…\’See yesterday\’s blog and the day before and the day before that…with the exception of my undies and my socks…it is all the same.\’  Of course, that may be because at home with the kiddies, I try to only wear my yucky play clothes so that my nice \’sunday-go-to-meeting clothes stay nice. 
     
    At the rate I get to wear them though, my nice clothes will be nice for generations.
     
    I really like that song by  BEP but got a bit uncomfortable when my little ones were dancing around the house to it last week.  I guess they are too young to get it though…
     
    I have loved everything I read here…you do have one of the greatest jobs…one of the hardest to be sure, but one of the best.  Good luck.  Oh…and about that meme you did…the reason you are a great teacher is because you are always thinking you could do better.
     
    Alison

Leave a Reply

