Good Friends

What she wore: Purple t-shirt that says, "I-heart-new orleans, but instead of a heart it has a fleur de lis, jean capris, grey and purple slip-on tennis shoes.

Spent last night in the company of my two old college buddies.  They’re married to each other, and are some of my best friends on the planet. 
 
Is there anything better than an old friend?  They know you inside and out, they know all your secrets, and they still like you!  I’ve often compared this feeling to nirvana.  The feeling of unconditional acceptance.  Of course, they still give me a hard time and tease me–but it’s all in good fun.
 
Mainly we’ve been discussing my friend who’s about to have a baby.  She sends the most graphic e-mails EVER!  I know more about her cervix then I ever wanted to know.  The rest of the old gang is still childless and we’re horrified by the whole thing.
 
I was telling an acquantaince of mine recently about these e-mails and she said, "Well, I know how she feels.  Once you’ve had a baby you’re just not sensitive about that stuff any more.  It’s kind of like you’re in a club or something."  My response, "yeah, but we’re not in the club yet and it’s like she’s trying to keep us from joining!"
 
Have a wonderful weekend.  I head back to Arkansas tomorrow.
 
KM
About takedeux

In one summer I had a baby who was hospitalized for five weeks, quit my job, and moved back to my hometown. This blog is about starting over.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Good Friends

  1. Alicia says:

    LMAO @ what you said about her keeping you from joining!  TOO funny!
     
    As for your comment about the fighting fish, you can put as many females in one tank as you want…they do not kill each other.   It is the males that you cannot put in the same tank.  We have about 8 or 9 of them around the house in their own bowls.  The way you can tell the difference between males and females, you ask?  The males have the big bushy fins and are very pretty.  The females are VERY small in comparison and do not have big flowy fins.  For lack of a better term, they are kinda ugly compared to the males!
     
    Hope you have a GREAT weekend, Katy!  🙂

  2. Unknown says:

    When you\’re that PREGNANT and wishing you had the baby weeks ago
    you\’ll discuss anything.   You just want the kid out!!
    So glad you\’ve had some time off.  Have a safe trip back.
     
    Ashlie
     
    P.S.  I rec\’d an e-mail from your cat and dog (they are sooo talented) they would like some shrimp on ICE.

  3. Unknown says:

    I\’m typing this in the nude still locked in the bedroom…hehe…will try and post tomorrow….hehehe xxooxoxo Mercy

  4. Karen says:

    I suppose it\’s a bit like a club, but you\’ll definitely want to join!  Once you get past the gross stuff, it\’s really wonderful.
     
    Thanks for your input about whiny people… the long walk helped with my annoyance… and I\’d love a cocktail once in awhile, but the child is so stuck on me I can barely drink a glass of water 🙂

  5. Laura says:

    If I had some of those pictures, I would add them to my "Reasons Why…" list  *wink*
     
    That is all I have… Kelly\’s blog took it all out of me tonight!
     
    Have a good night.
     
     

  6. K says:

    Hi hun… thanks for coming by today… and I thought I would share with you a quick astrolgy thingy for ya….
     

    Scorpio/Taurus is a 7-7 sun sign pattern and the usual description for that vibration is as such:
     
    Not always, but frequently, you will be either physically attracted to – or secretly admire and respect – those of the opposite sex under this vibration – this is because you are polar opposites – because these individuals tend to possess qualities of character and personality traits that you yourself lack.  The attraction and the urger to imitate will be strong.  At best of times, it is known as Karmic balance….
     
    However… you may feel uneasy, envious or or even strongly competitive with those individuals of your own sex, who are your polar opposite.
     
    That is basically the foundation of a 7-7 Sun Sign Pattern…. oh and as far as joining THAT club… soon… soon.  You\’ll be prepared for it though… but very soon!
     
    Have fun catching up and have safe travels back!
     
    Have a great weekend!
    KC

  7. A says:

    Actually yes i\’ve heard of Dick\’s but unfortunately have never been there….A coworker when I was 18 told me about it after saying it would be my kind of place.
     
    Thank you for the compliments! And as ive written on EZ\’s space you must contrubte to my next posting/idea!! <evil laugh>
     
     

  8. Elizabeth says:

    I agree about the club thing. But I\’ll only get graphic about "that"
    kind of stuff with other mom\’s cause they know, ya know? Always know
    your audience! Cause it\’s only other mom\’s who understand that
    after you have a kid you can muster up a discussion about poop at
    the drop of a hat and it\’s not odd. 😉 

  9. Unknown says:

    Oh! Let me tell you all about my cervix…LOL
     
    Yesterday my eyeballs felt like they were on fire, I had to keep them closed, I\’d manually open them and they would gush tears… I put an ice cube on each one of them, and that helped.
     
    Pebble

  10. Sue says:

    Give it up.  Once you\’ve given birth, for years you will talk about it.  Every detail.  LOL.  You don\’t understand it until you\’ve gone through it. 

  11. Laura says:

    I also want to say I am jealous of your \’old\’ friends. I have some from highschool (ok, 2) but they don\’t keep in touch that much. When I go to Kansas, I will make a point to see them, but that is it. BMac is as far back as my firends go. So, his brother and sister, and V (my future sis in law). That is a good little crowd, and I do love that we can be 100% ourselves with eachother. It is a great accepting feeling. We have those stories that only we know, and they are still funny when being told for the fifth and sixth time… good stuff!
     
    Hey, when is your Hub coming home? A little over two months is a long time… what is the usual \’stint\’?
     

  12. Unknown says:

    Aw yes it has happened before, but the ice cube trick worked really well in the past, but it did\’t work as well yesterday.
    Has it ever happened to you? Eyes burning so bad you can\’t open them and they fill up with tears and you open them with your fingers and the water gushes out? It\’s happened maybe 4 or 5 times in the past 10 years, always when I have a cold…
     
    The guy who converted to Christianity, in Afghanistan was arrested and sentenced to death! The U.S. and the U.N. had to tell them they would be breaking the humanity law they had signed if this happened, now they can\’t let him out of jail or the community will kill him. That\’s Islamic law.

  13. russ says:

    From the Male perspective… We had those kinds of friends too. It scared me to death! It was almost as if they were trying to frighten you. But, in the end, we found that it wasn\’t all that bad. That\’s not just me saying that either, the boys mother would tell you that too. We always ended up being the ones who tried to temper the horror stories for first-timers. Is your friend the type who likes to tell you about car wrecks too?
     
    Have a great weekend!
    Russ

  14. russ says:

    LMAO!!
     
    I clicked onto Ashlie\’s site from her comment to you and read your comment about your dog & cat never asking to go anywhere!! Made me laugh very hard!
     
    Russ

  15. Cassie says:

    LOL Funny but true. Things change after you\’ve been in a room full of people with your legs in the stirrups. 🙂
     
    Thanks for the comment. yes, we military wives definitely put up with a lot! I\’ve had more than my share too. I\’m ready to be a civilian again.. but I gotta wait a few years. LOL

  16. russ says:

    LOL Ive done that before too… Thought I was first on someones blog and my whole comment was based on that… then I hit enter and I was number 3!!
     
    Enjoy your Sunday!
    Russ

  17. russ says:

    Geeez… You\’re making me laugh tonight!
     
    I keep finding you everywhere!
     
    "I can\’t help it if I\’m hot!" Too funny!!
     
     

  18. Karen says:

    I\’m glad you liked my little tribute to Ashleigh; the poem was for the little girl who battled cancer and passed away last week.  I\’m still following her family\’s journal & they are having a very rough time, of course, but it is amazing how loved that child was, and how many lives she touched in her brief life.  I think her passing made many people, even those who didn\’t know her (like myself) realize the importance of living each day to its fullest and loving the people God puts in your life.

  19. Elizabeth says:

    I was struck by what you said about watching New Orleans rebirth. You\’re absolutely right. :")

  20. PeaceHopeJoy says:

    Oooooooooh yeah I hear ya on that one.  Two of my friends both have 2 babies.  Six people I know had babies  last Fall. Another three friends are pregnant right now – 2 are due in about 3 or 4 weeks.  The other one is due the end of June. 
     
    As badly as I want a baby, I fear that it is something in the water and it might just happen REALLY soon…but at the same time…I hope it happens REALLY soon.  Weird.
     
    We should start a club of our own.  Those who want kids…but are terrified at the aspect of actually having them. 

Leave a Reply

