Guilty Pleasures

What she wore: blue jeans, blue shirt with three little Buddahs on it that says, "Happiness," and blue and green flip flops.  I’ve lost a little weight and none of my casual pants fit–must go shopping!

One of the things I enjoy most about a vacation is staying up late and watching weird stuff on the discovery channel.  My personal tastes are strictly about people–I don’t care about dangerous jobs, or animals, or science experiments.  I just want to see all the weird stuff that people go through. I am  constantly amazed at the kinds of things people just deal with–and it makes me grateful for what I have.  Here are just a few of the shows I’ve seen on Discovery:
 
  1. Siamese Twins
  2. I am my Own Twin
  3. The Woman Who was Pregnant for 46 Years
  4. The 750 pound man (this one was sad)
  5. My Skin Could Kill Me
  6. What Happened to the Elephant Man?
  7. I Have Treacher-Collins Syndrome (one of my favorites)

I’m a junkie!  It’s all so interesting.  What’s your T.V. guilty pleasure?  You know you’ve got one.

 

KM

About takedeux

In one summer I had a baby who was hospitalized for five weeks, quit my job, and moved back to my hometown. This blog is about starting over.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to Guilty Pleasures

  1. A says:

    Well darling, it involves an award…a rubber chicken and other peoples asstiance! :-)~
     
    Now I have to figure out HTML on an entry and put text on an image dammit! Wheres my Vodka?

  2. Unknown says:

    I really don\’t watch much T.V., I do love old movies, I must have 200 of them. I like watching Oprah and the news, and some of PBS specials. I like many of the movies that come on Halmark station. I saw The Passion of Christ about a week ago… OMG it was awful, they beat him, tortured him then crucified him and that was the whole movie! So I just listened… No human would of survived the torture to still be alive for crucifiction, it was just ridiculous!
     
    Pebble

  3. Sue says:

    Good Lord, Blondie and I are hooked on real life crime shows.  Discovery Channel is great.  Another secret obsession Blondie and I have is watching Cash Cab!  It\’s so great!  We can\’t wait to go back to NYC and try to find that cab and win some prizes cause we know the answers.  We can be pathetic and we love it.

  4. Darcy says:

    Good morning !
     
    My guilty TV pleasure, which I admit to almost no one, till now, is America\’s Next Top Model… don\’t ask why…. I generally abhor \’reality tv\’, but I like this one… that and all the crime drama shows…. and sex in the city… oh jeez…. You\’d think I watch a lot of tv…. I don\’t, I just enjoy the stuff I do watch…. 😉
    Take care
    D

  5. Christine says:

    I saw the Treacher- Collins syndrome  show and the 750 pound man one as well.  I saw one called The Boy Whose Skin Fell off.  I would recommend that one.  I actually have a good friend who has the same disease as the guy in this show had.  It is called dystrophic epidermolysis bullosa or DEB.  BTW, it is pronounced both ways up here.  Those who speak french say A-Bear while those who do not say He-bert.  We answer to both of those, but not to HER-Bert.  That one cheeses me off!  I tell people to learn to read if they say HER-bert!
     
    Christine

  6. Elizabeth says:

    I\’m a sucker for "girls kick butt" tv & movies, a la Alias and the like. I purposely don\’t watch those "miracle" shows & extreme makeover cause there isn\’t enough tissue in the house… I\’d bawl like a baby. Since I know this about myself I stay away from them–I\’d cry 24/7!  I am a Lost freak, though. I\’m certifiably addicted. :")
    Yes, I wore a pair of BDU\’s in my time. I spent 3 years in the Army. 1 year in Korea (where I met my husband) & 2 in upstate NY (brr!). Aviation operations. It was the best of times, it was the worst of times…. LOL

  7. Unknown says:

    If and when I watch TV it\’s Discovery or TLC.  I\’ve seen your #\’s 1,2 and 4.  The only show I\’ve made a point to watch recently is on TLC Sat. nites, Little People/Roloff Family. 
     
    Ashlie

  8. Laura says:

    Well, I love the Discovery channel, too. But, I like the outer space and animals and all that other stuff. I can always find something to watch on that channel. I have to say I could keep my tv on HGTV, and it usually is during the day. Most of the shows, I just like to watch the first five minutes, then the last five minutes. I don\’t need to sit through 30 minutes of suspence. My guilty pleasure would be anything about space exploration and dinosaurs. I could watch that stuff all day. I saw a shirt in the mall today that I should have bought, because it was perfect for me… it said, "Talk Nerdy To Me"
    he he he

  9. Kelly says:

    Hi! I was blog walking and came across your space. Are you from Arkansas too? I\’m a special ed. teacher in the northeastern area.
     
    Great space you have here…love your book list! =)

  10. . says:

    Pregnant for 46 years? WOW!
    This stuff seems interesting. I think if I had satellite I would definitely take up this "guilty pleasure".
     
    For now I only get these local TZ channels, so not anything exciting.
     
    aak

  11. WINDOW LIVE says:

    MTV.  Anything MTV.  I am a 44 year old woman who sneaks and watches, Laguna Beach, Real World, Real World vs Road Rules.  It is truly pathetic.  But I rationalize this by the fact there was no MTV when I was growing up.  Midnite Special but nothing like this.  There I said it and admitted it.  Hope I don\’t get admitted.

  12. Tracy says:

    Lately I\’ve been into home renovation shows.  There is this show "Flip This House" that I love to watch.  Oh and I also have been watching the Travel Channel – dumb because I never travel or have the money to go those cool places but I still have been watching the shows about vacation homes, some of them are so cool!  The Discovery Channel shows sound interesting – a few weeks ago I saw one called like the 700 lb woman or something, it was so sad how it was this big major deal just to get her into a minivan (to go to the hospital, she was having gastric bypass).  She thought that after the surgery, her big belly would be gone – I want to know why did she expect that, didn\’t the doctor tell her that\’s not exaclty how it works?!?!  Anyways, glad you made it home save and have a great week back at school!

  13. Unknown says:

    YES! The Siamese Twin one!! I saw that….hehehehe What about the one where the person was like the host to this siamese twin that didn\’t devolop correctly, and like it was a ball w/ hair and stuff inside the host, it was living but not brain functioning? ohhhh I lurve it!
     
    Mercy

  14. Nadine says:

    HHMMMM…….guilty TV pleasures????
     
    That I will admit to…….hhhmmmm…….
     
     
     That would have to be Professional Wrestling. I know it\’s fake but I can\’t help myself. Any clues as to why??
     
     I have seen the one about the 750# man….that was so sad.
     
    And when Roy and I were dating….take out pizza in bed was the best!!!
     
      

  15. K says:

    uuhmm.. a woman pregnant for 46 yrs?  LOL… wow!
     
    My guilty TV pleasures… I am a FOOD NETWORK junkie!  And also being an American Idol junkie… I do love animal shows… true life stories fascinate me… or shows like A Makeover Story – Home Edition.. just pull at my heart strings.
     
    But my must see shows are Grey\’s Anatomy, most CSIs and Crossing Jordan…
     
    Wow.. perhaps I am a bit of a TV junkie… yikes!
     
    Have a great one!
    KC

  16. PeaceHopeJoy says:

    I pretty much will watch anything on TLC.  Speaking of which….baby story is on RIGHT NOW!!!  Gotta go….

  17. Alicia says:

    What happened with the woman who was pregnant for 46 years?  I\’d be VERY interested to hear about THAT one!
     
    My TV guilty pleasures are CSI, Survivor and Lost.  I also watch ALOT of the History Channel, and the Discovery Channel like you.
     
    And, yes, you answered my questions PERFECTLY!!  🙂
     
    HUGS!!

  18. Cassie says:

    Mine is Alias, and it\’s FINALLY coming back on April 19th. WOO HOO! I will be sad when it\’s over though, because this is the last season. 😦

  19. Hope says:

    Hi thanks for stopping in…Tv I rarely watch it..take up to much time ..when i could painting or something…Have a great day…Like the space btw…Have a good night!

  20. Hollie says:

    I am a reality addict…Apprentice, Survivor, American Idol, and now a Game Show addict as well with DEAL or No deal…
     
     

  21. Jaysey says:

    TLC–What Not to Wear–obsessed am I!  Often caught quoting Stacy London and Clinton Kelly…sad little wannabe fashionista! 🙂

  22. Unknown says:

    I saw all of those! I am an addict also when it comes to seeing how people lives different lives and their struggles. Last night I watched Little people in a big world, meet the fooses, I am going to watch tonight Shalom in the home, and whatever else is on. Lucky for me, my boyfriend loves the same shows that I do, in the past my exes though I was the craziest person ever: "Why do you want to  watch a show about the half ton man?" Well why not?

  23. Unknown says:

    Welcome to enter (wow gold) and (wow power leveling) trading site, (Rolex) are cheap, (World of Warcraft gold) credibility Very good! Quickly into the next single! Key words !

  24. Unknown says:

    Amberdigital Branch,Southern Stars Enterprises Co is specializing in the development and manufacturing of ad players, advertisement player and LCD advertisings. Established in 1996, we have explored and developed the international market with professionalism. We have built a widespread marketing network, and set up a capable management team dedicated to provide beyond-expectation services to our customers.

    amberdigital Contact Us
    Southern Stars Enterprises Co (Hong Kong Office)
    Add:3 Fl, No.2, Lane 2, Kam Tsin Tsuen, Sheung Shui, Hong Kong
    Tel:+852 2681 4099
    Fax:+852 2681 4586
    Southern Stars Enterprises Co (Shenzhen Office)
    Add:DE, 16/F, Building 2, Nanguo Tower, Sungang Road, Shenzhen, China
    Tel:+86 755 2592 9100
    Fax:+86 755 2592 7171
    E-mail:sstar@netvigator.com
    website:www.amberdigital.com.hk
    alibaba:amberdigital.en.alibaba.com[aahciahiaeggbc]

  25. Unknown says:

    To the global wow gold the cheapest wow power leveling under the cheapest single-site!

  26. Unknown says:

    To the global wow gold the cheapest wow power leveling under the cheapest single-site! -40650340906186

  27. Unknown says:

    Hi,Do you have used LCD monitors, second hand lcd monitors and second hand flat screens? Please go here:www.sstar-hk.com(Southern Stars).We are constantly buying re-usable LCD panels,LCD recycle.The re-usable panels go through strictly designed process of categorizing, checking, testing, repairing and refurbishing before they are re-used to make remanufactured LCD displays and TV sets.Due to our recent breakthrough in testing and repairing technology of LCD, we can improve the value for your LCD panels.
    website:www.sstar-hk.com[gebhbcfabibbji]

  28. Unknown says:

    Hi,Do you have used LCDs, second hand LCDs, used flat screens and used LCD monitors? Please go here:www.sstar-hk.com(Southern Stars).We are constantly buying re-usable LCD panels and working for LCD recycling.The re-usable panels go through strictly designed process of categorizing, checking, testing, repairing and refurbishing before they are re-used to make remanufactured LCD displays and TV sets.Due to our recent breakthrough in testing and repairing technology of LCD, we can improve the value for your LCD panels.
    website:www.sstar-hk.com[ica

Leave a Reply

