Because there were so many questions. . .

What she wore: blue, three-quarter length sleeve, polo shirt; blue jeans; black strappy slides.

Well, I’m posting two Sundays in a row!  I’m putting this out there because so many people expressed an interest in my new church.  I don’t normally write too much about church because for me faith is more about what you do and less about what you say (I know that one’s going to get a lot of comments).
 
I was raised Catholic and was baptized as a child and confirmed as a teen in the Catholic church.  About two years after my confirmation, my church had some issues and my whole family got sort of disgusted with the place.  The head priest gave mean sermons, people were insulted for not coming in the appropriate clothes, and things started to seem like they were more about money than anything else. Also, I, personally, felt that attending church was a lot of pressure to look a certain way.  I’d get up to go and then change my mind because I didn’t have anything to wear.
 
This continued for many years.  I married in the Catholic church, but didn’t attend regularly. 
 
About a year ago, one of my students asked me to be her confirmation sponsor.  I accepted and took this as my invitation to return to church.  I enjoyed being her sponsor, but I moved at the end of the year.
 
When I got to Arkansas, I asked around, but could find little information on local Catholic churches.  I knew that I needed to go SOMEWHERE, but going to church alone in a strange city is tough.
 
Recently, Mr. K’s wife invited me to a Wednesday service at their church.  She offered to drive me over there and everything.  Well, that was the kind of offer I needed, so I went.  It was Ok, and I decided to return on Sunday.
 
Well, Sunday blew my mind.  There was a loud band, people were wearing jeans, some people even had coffee cups in church.  There was a video and many people seemed to be involved in service.  The sermon that day talked about ACTION.  I felt like they were singing my song.  Often, I hear people talk about what we shouldn’t be doing, and that just didn’t ring true for me.  For me, Christianity has always been the daily expression of those values in ACTION.  You know, a little less talk and a lot more action! 
 
So, I’ve decided to join.  It’s non-denomiational, and they don’t care what church you grew up in.  You can get baptized if you think you need it, but you don’t have to.  Every week they have opportunities for you to get involved.  I’m lovin’ it. 
 
This is a hot button issue for many.  I hope y’all are doin’ OK, and I haven’t scared anyone off.
 
KM
 
PS: Finished guesstimating my taxes and the hub and I owe about $950–I hate this crap.  It’s always ’cause of his income, not mine–luckily, we suspected this would happen (since it happened last year), and we’ve been squirreling money away for this occasion.  Hope your returns are happier.
About takedeux

In one summer I had a baby who was hospitalized for five weeks, quit my job, and moved back to my hometown. This blog is about starting over.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Because there were so many questions. . .

  1. Sue says:

    A little issue like religion won\’t scare me off! hehe.  Glad you found someplace you feel comfortable and one that works for you, but …(you knew that was coming, right?) remember the Catholic Church is always there and sometimes it\’s just finding the one you feel comfortable in.  Hope you have a great day (and the tax thing is over with). 

  2. Sue says:

    Barnyard girls, eh?  Now I would like a search hit like that! 

  3. Darcy says:

    I\’m glad that you found a place that seems to fit your beliefs and faith!  It\’s hard sometimes because sometimes it seems like you have to \’tailor\’ your beliefs for a church, depending on where you live, where you go etc… and it\’s nice to feel like you\’re where you belong!  Nice~!
    Re: my best friend.  Well, he\’s gay.  When I first met him, he was dating girls, and seemed relatively unhappy.  Personally, after about three years of knowing him, I had a distinct feeling that he was homosexual and just needed to come to peace with that… he did and he\’s so much happier now…
    Now, that wasn\’t the jist of your question, I know… I don\’t think there is ANYTHING wrong with having male friends… They add a different perspective than women, or your husband, they see you and life differently.  I think that my male friends add so much to my life, I don\’t know what I\’d do without them… I recognize that I"m single, so it may seem easier, but when I have been part of a couple, it didn\’t change, and it sure wont again either! 
    Hope you enjoyed your golf…Who won?
    D

  4. wendy says:

    dang.. sounds EXACTLY like MY church! Except I\’m in Ga..lol  But it\’s non-denom too.. which I prefer, kick butt rock band, ppl wear whatever.. and they have a coffee and juice bar that u can take in with you during the service..love love LOVE IT! lol 
     
    Glad you found a place that \’fits\’!
    Hugs,
    ~S4ssy

  5. Unknown says:

    Ouch with the taxes! 
    I\’m so glad you found a church! 
    That\’s a struggle that we\’ve  been dealing with,too.  I completely agree  with  the action  part!
    Have a good night!
     
    Ashlie  

  6. Cheryl says:

    I have never been baptized but married a Catholic.  Went to his church a while and thot it was beautiful.  Not the service but the stuff in it.  Had kids and had to sign a contract wit hthe church that they would be Catholic.  Had two of them and the last one was baptized on a lark.  I knew the priest and he was leavingthe church so the noght before he baptized her as his last official act.  Hubby got a different woman and then got an anullment.  Got a letter from his church with a big questionaire.  They anulled the marriage even after i sent birth certificates showing that the marriage was in fact consomated. 
     
    Being an indian I really did not believe anything they had to say anyway.  So my kids never did go to a regular church, now the baptized is a methodist and the othas never to a.  Her kids are not baptized.  The other one was scared about the white God and being accepted into heaven so her kids are baptized.  I went and watched and told her to do whatever she felt most comfortable with but I personally felt it was a bunch of hooey. 
     
    So that is my church history…I do have to say Catholic churches have beautiful and expensive stuff in them.

  7. russ says:

    My father being a preacher and all, this is a touchy subject for me so I will say this…
     
    Sucks about your taxes!
     
    Have a great week!
    Russ
     
    p.s. Was driving and had an epiphany… Is Barnyard a reference to the fact that your school is so diverse race-wise? You may have defined it in your blog but I don\’t remember reading it…

  8. Tracy says:

    Hey there.  I agree with your comment about it\’s more what you do than what you say.  It sounds like your church is a lot like the one I have been going to.   I haven\’t officially joined or anything but am still trying to get my feet wet and meet people thru doing the nursery.  I hope you have a great Monday – and thanks for the comment – ya I do hope I find that person but maybe I am just cynical about it all these days – I mean EVERYONE (pretty much) is so happy on their wedding day, yet look at how many marriages end in divorce!  This guy has been married before and they were taking pics with the marriage certificate and A said "hopefully this is the last one" and I thought meant the wedding certificate so I was like, don\’t say that!! He was like no I meant the last picture! LOL!

  9. Carine says:

    Thank you for stopping by and commenting on my space:)
    As you could see God put\’s us through some crazy stuff…What makes or breaks you is the ability to learn from your mistakes. And boy did I learn. LOL
     
    – C

  10. WarrenandSarah says:

    Hello,
     
    I found yor blog through Misty\’s. I just wanted to agree with your views about christianity. I came to the Lord when I was 18 from an "agnostic" family.When I gave my heart to Jesus, I felt the same way, actions spoke louder than any words. The first church I got involved in was great at first, and then I noticed a lot of the same things you did, the higher standards, and judgements within the congregation, that is not what christianity is about, it is about Love. It is awesome to find a church like that. We go to the Calvary Chaple here in Boise and the pastor is awesome, I just wish it wasn\’t quite so big.
     
    Ok, rambled on long enough, sorry \’bout that. I love your blog, hopt you stop by sometime.
     
    Sarah

  11. Alicia says:

    To answer your question…yes I have written about my abusive X in 1 Page Stories…so you\’re not crazy…that is why you couldn\’t find those entries.  🙂
     
    HUGS!!

  12. Laura says:

    1) I grew up in a non-denominational church. I loved it. I was so sad when we moved, because I have never found a church like it. The two that I tried later on ended in scandle! The first was stealing money from the church, the second came out that he was gay and left his wife and three children. I know where you are coming from!
     
    2) We would have owed $500, but luckily for us (I am saying that very sarcastically), I have all these school loans I am paying interest on, so I qualified for the Lifetime Learning credit… I think we got somewhere near $1000 back! I knew those loans would be good for something!

  13. Laura says:

    I am commenting on the boyfrind curse post. That is too freaky. I am sure your Hub will head your warning… he would be crazy not to! (For more reasons than the \’curse!\’)

  14. Laura says:

    Last one – I promise! (I had to catch up in my reading, you had alot of posts I missed!)
    I loved the colored folks joke. That was too cute. Of course, I am always pink… it is my damn complexion, I can\’t help it!

  15. K says:

    I have had issues with religion and organized religions for a while now… but I still feel the urge to go to Church occasionally.  I have found that the non-denominational Churches or the Spiritualistic Churches suit me best, since there isn\’t a need to mold my belief system to meet the expectations of the leadership at these Churches.  One time, I refused to take the body of Christ (that little white waffer thingy) and I got some pretty nasty looks etc… from some of the other parishners… while other times, I didn\’t have any cash on me to put in the offering basket… and the man stood there, not budging until I told him in a very out loud voice, I don\’t have an offering this time!  Other have told me they expect 10% of my yearly salary…. LOL… well… you don\’t want to hear what I had to say about that.
     
    Belief in a higher power is FREE… it does not have a cost nor can it be molded into a \’one-size-fits-all\’ belief system.  It truly is about our actions and not our words… for words are truly only that… words.  Even the Apostle Paul on several occasions that all words and well wishes need to be backed up with Actions
     
    "But whoever has the world’s goods, and beholds his brother in need and closes his heart against him, how does the love of God abide in him? Little children, let us not love with word or with tongue, but in deed and truth” (1 John 3:17,18)
     
    "If a brother or sister is without clothing and in need of daily food, and one of you says to them, ‘Go in peace, be warmed and be filled,’ and yet you do not give them what is necessary for their body, what use is that? Even so faith, if it has no works is dead, being alone” (James 2:15-17)
     
    “Who among you is wise and understanding? Let him show by his good behavior his deeds in the gentleness of wisdom” (James 3:13)
     
    One way to characterize people whose actions contradict their words is “hypocritical.” They are inconsistent, professing something by their words which they do not possess in their hearts. And, despite no one being able to perfectly walk their talk, I have found that most religious organizations are more than hypocritical.  It is foolish to try to teach someone else to do something when we do the very opposite ourselves.
     
    I\’m sorry this is very long, but your post certainly did bring up excellent points and the opportunity to express our thoughts.  I am pleased that you found a place to worship and be at peace without the conditions associated with much of organized religion.  Faith is in the heart… and at times, we all lack it.  It does not mean certain death, nor does baptism guarantee you salvation.  Baptism is only symbolic of your desire for cleansing, however, it does not mean you will not be made accountable for your past actions.  But you can redeem yourself by your thoughts and actions of today and tomorrow, as long as it is honest in your heart.
     
    I don\’t want to take over your blog with my comment, although I perhaps already have.  I apologize for that!  Excellent post, and perhaps one day I will write more, stand tall on my soap box and share more of my thoughts – as controversial as they may be.
     
    Have a wonderful day,
    KC

  16. Aunt says:

    i have enjoyed reading your blog, and i kick myself when i forget to pop on over.

  17. K says:

    I got THIS as a joke in my home inbox and it totally reminded me of your post… this is all in humor… please don\’t take offense by it… but you have to listen to it… turn your volume up – you need speakers for this one!
     
    Enjoy!
    KC

  18. Gelati Farms says:

    Hmmmm…Catholicism can be tricky can\’t it?  I was also raised Catholic and always loved the Church until I was about 19 and then made the very conscious decision to leave.  I miss belonging to a Church sometimes, but can not quite put aside the problems I had to go back.  I think that spirituality and faith are the most, if not only, important things to hold onto and this can happen in any type of church or lifestyle or belief system.
     
    I thought this post was great…and thought provoking.
     
    Alison
     
     

  19. Unknown says:

    The only church I\’ve found like that is the Unitarian one, I dig the ACTION thing to. Mercy xo

  20. Laura says:

    Geez, I guess you weren\’t her type…   🙂

  21. Unknown says:

    that\’s the same type of church I go to also! Just remember, it\’s not only the religion, but it\’s the people themselves. I love my religion, being non demoniational, because I chose when I wanted to be baptized but the church I\’ve grown up in, has alot of adults my age who just are not being a good impression to our church. I hate gossip, and that seems all they do (my age group) so I haven\’t been in a while, although lately I\’ve been thinking about going back!

Leave a Reply

