Sometimes I Feel So Stupid

What she wore: black gauchos with a white pin-stripe, white tee, black strappy slides with a stacked heel.  The computer lab lady told me I’ve been looking nice lately.  Thanks!

Well, yesterday was real serious, and Zwebby reminded me of a little story from my past that I think will give you a giggle, so here goes:
 
I have what can only be described as talking-itis.  I can and will talk to a brick wall.  I talk ALL the time and sometimes I can say things that sound just plain stupid.  This was one of those times.
 
I went into a gas station when I first moved to Arkansas to buy a Reese’s fast break (yummy!).  The clerk had on a shirt that said, "Today could be Your Lucky Day."  I assume that this is some kind of lottery promotion.  Little did I know, there is no lottery in Arkansas (who knew?).   So, I say to the clerk, "do you think today could be my lucky day?"  This little blond twenty-something chick takes one look at me and says, "yeah, ummm, I’m straight."  
 
Imagine my embarassment.  She thought I was hitting on her (and with a pretty crappy pickup line).
 
I say, "yeah, me too.  I’m married, in fact, I didn’t mean it like that"  Stumble.  Mutter.  Pay for fast break and run to the car.
 
Needless to say, I’ve never been back to that gas station.
 
KM
About takedeux

In one summer I had a baby who was hospitalized for five weeks, quit my job, and moved back to my hometown. This blog is about starting over.
This entry was posted in Stories From My Past. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Sometimes I Feel So Stupid

  1. Unknown says:

    Embarrassing moments lol, I\’ve had a few, I keep my mouth shut nowdays, except here in blogland : ) Hugs Blabby

  2. Unknown says:

    Oh my!!!!  I bet you made her day!!
    Too funny!! I\’m still laughing!!
     
    Ashlie

  3. Unknown says:

    KM, I see you everywhere! lol  I\’ve seen ya alot on DM\’s space.  Thought I would pop in.  Regards and have a great week!
     
    ~Al

  4. Tracy says:

    Ha ha ha! That is hilarious!!

  5. Sue says:

    ROFL  That is hilarious.  Get your mind IN the gutter girl. 

  6. Jaysey says:

    LOL!  Oops…way to go.  Serves that girl right for wearing such a dumb shirt–bet she\’ll think twice before wearing it to work again thanks to you! 😉  I\’m sure that, working in a gas station, she probably got lots of fun "in the gutter" comments from a lot of really "nice" folks.

  7. Dena Marie says:

    What a priceless story, KM!! Even the phrasing of the question is funny: "Do you think today could be my lucky day?" Oh holy hell, that was hilarious! (Hmmm… I said "holy hell" on Jaysey\’s blog a little bit ago… that must be my "phrase du jour."
     
    –DM

  8. Sue says:

    Funny about diagonals. He won\’t listen, stubborn doctors think they know everything.  Maybe I\’ll just change it (been the same way for 8 years) and see if he notices *aha moment* 

  9. Antonella says:

    LOL!!! Didn\’t the girl realize what was on her shirt?!?!? How embarassing!!!
     
    How did the paper thing go?? I bet you couldn\’t do it!!!
     
    Antonella
     
     

  10. K says:

    OK.. so you must have some kind of Sag ascendant sign in you… because we suffer from the \’hoof-in-mouth\’ disease!  I think there is a disconnect btw the brain and what actually comes out of my mouth… LOL…
     
    Nawwhhh.. I wouldn\’t worry to much about it… if people  would actually stop for a minute and truly listened…. we wouldn\’t have to suffer the \’humiliation\’ that comes with this condition!
     
    LOL…. but I still giggle… I can relate…
     
    KC

  11. Gelati Farms says:

    Yes…I frequently say things I ought not to have said.  I blame this on my lack of that filter that most people have between their brains and their mouths.  I don\’t know when I lost it, or how…I just know that I don\’t appear to have it.  Once, I was  bringing food over to a neighbours house because her husband had just had a heart attack.  I brought lasagne and I assured her that because it would have felt strange to bring such a high fat, high cholesterol food over to a \’heart-attack house\’ I made every effort to make it as low fat as possible.  I mean REALLY?!?  Thank goodness we know each other very well and she found it funny.
     
    I am so pleased to know there is somebody else out there just like me.  I mean…not that I don\’t feel your pain and all…but I am so happy not to be the only verbal klutz on this continent!
     
    Alison

  12. Karen says:

    That\’s hilarious.  I myself believe I was born with my foot in my mouth, as it fits there so nicely.  Take care!

  13. tassietoo says:

    Too funny! LMAO…

  14. Unknown says:

    Gee I\’m not a chatter ox at all and I still say thing I wished I had not, story:
    My daughter her usband and I showed up at Ryder to rent a truck, I then found out thet cost more then U-Haul, but the guy at the counter said no we are the better deal, and yes they were!
    I  then said… "Ryder the right way" Well the four of them started cracking up I had no idea why, my daughter said "Mom… think about it"  I did and then died of embarrassment. I couldn\’t get away from them fast enough, I swear I thought I\’d have heart failure right then and there!
     
    Pebble

  15. Unknown says:

    There are Gremlins in my keyboard, they eat letters…*smile*

  16. Alicia says:

    LMFAO!!!  I\’d never show my face there again either!!!  🙂
     
    HUGS!!!

  17. Cheryl says:

    LMAO…can\’tbe to careful…Words have such varried meaning.  it is the problem with the English language..

  18. Unknown says:

    lol…Zwebbys so cute isn\’t he? He cracks me up…xoxo Mercy

  19. Gina says:

    HAHAHAHAHAH!! That is soooo HILARIOUS!!!  OMG…my sides hurt!

  20. russ says:

    Yep… you definitely need to work on your lesbian pick-up lines!!
     
    Sorry I missed this post! It made me laugh!
     
    Have an awesome day!
    Russ
     
    p.s. what general part of Arkansas are you in?

Leave a Reply

