Backa Da Class

What she wore: blue jean shorts, yellow polo with a light blue collar, brown sandals.

Well, most people are busy with their families this weekend, but I’m not.  So, I’m going to post this and leave it up till Tue. for all of you who are enjoying your holiday.  I might end up deleting this entry all together–might be too incriminating.
 
 

I’ve probably never mentioned this before, but everyone in my school district hates my school.  I’m sure it has nothing to do with the fact that our students are some of the poorest in the district and 85% African American.  Yeah, I’m sure it’s just because they’re ideologically opposed to my school’s mission.  Trying to teach kids in poverty differently than affluent kids really is a pile of crap.  (can you sense my sarcasm?)  I’m equally certain that it has nothing to do with the fact that our school is the only one that shows an improvement in test scores from year to year.  I’m sure jealously doesn’t figure into the equation at all.

            That being said, on Friday we had a district-wide in-service for each subject area.  I went to the math one since I tend to do more teaching in math than science.   It was a room full of math teachers from the various high and middle schools.

            My group sat in the back (this is not a good start).  We called out to each other, made jokes, giggled, and chatted with one another.  We commented on our non-teacher clothes and made plans for where we were going to eat lunch.  During the in-service, we would reach over and help one another if someone was having a problem.  We were learning some new technology and some of us are better at it than others (I’m not naming names).  We would whisper ideas for new lessons, but we’d also make jokes about some of the words that the presenter chose to use.  The only other people in the room who appeared to be having a good time, were those that were giving the presentation. 

            At the mid-morning break we gathered in the lobby, chatted, and one of the other teachers bust into a little dance.

            Seriously, the other teachers hate us.  And now I know why—we like each other at my school.  We get along, collaborate like nobody else, and have a good time while we’re doing it.  I’d hate us too. 

            Oh well, can’t win ‘em all.

 

KM

About takedeux

In one summer I had a baby who was hospitalized for five weeks, quit my job, and moved back to my hometown. This blog is about starting over.
This entry was posted in Teaching. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Backa Da Class

  1. Nooner™ says:

    KM,
     
    Re:  "nervous about a space called Nooner" — You are too funny!! … I get it, though.  Tis been my nickname for a long time, and I\’ve been chided on it lots!
     
    Thanks for coming by.
     
    Re: your school situation.
    My hat\’s off to you for all you do as a teacher.  It is challenging work, I\’m sure.  We all know how important "teaching" is to bring the next generations along.  Cheers to you!
     
    Re: your box that is titled "Days Hubby\’s Be…".
    I haven\’t been a reader of prior-blogs, so perhaps your regular readers know what it means.  I\’m assuming the end of the title of the box has been left off and it means something to the effect that your hubby is away from home.  Perhaps something to do with military service?  If so, Godspeed to him .. and bless you.  If something other than military, then Godspeed for whatever the reason and bless you just as well for his being wherever.
     
    Instead of Nooner, I\’ll sign my name just,
    Nooney
    (better? … lol)

  2. Sue says:

    Yep, that\’s it.  Jealousy.  I saw it in our district too when Blondie was younger.  Only here, the schools whose enrollment was the middle to upper class were intolerable (in my humble opinion).  I\’m not a teacher, but I did hundreds of hours of volunteer work to keep an eye on what was going on with my baby girl.  We live in middle upper class neighborhood, but we made sure the schools she went to had kids from poverty to upper class, all races and creeds. Our city is a large mix like that so it was possible.  The teachers were the BEST!  ALL kids got along.  It became a wonderful small community and many of us parents and teachers still communicate.  The best of the best are going to come out of this group of kids. It\’s because their teachers LOVED what they did and LOVED the kids! It was a great environment.  No other grade school, jr high, or high school in our district had what our kids had.  I hope I\’m making some sort of sense and getting my point across here. *hmm*
     
    Have a Happy Easter and a relaxing weekend!  So sorry you can\’t be near family this weekend.
     
    Sue

  3. Sandra says:

    Happy Easter day to you too ..
    it is Church Of England (Anglican)
    some things are similar to"Catholic" church
    have a lovely day in your new church
    sandra

  4. tassietoo says:

    Hey, I want to work at your school too then…sounds much more like my kind of people!  I know your Honey\’s away and you\’re not spending the weekend with family (that could be a VERY good thing)…I hope you have a HAPPY EASTER!!  Those of us who know what you sacrifice daily for others will be keeping you and your husband and the rest of your family in our prayers.  God Bless You!

  5. Laura says:

    When people don\’t like you for the reasons you listed, you are doing something right. I am sorry you won\’t be with family on Easter. Neither will I. My husband is working, and I will be here all by my lonesome. I won\’t even have anything good to eat… hmmm, and it is NO time to be going grocery shopping!

  6. K says:

    Have you watched any of the Oprah shows lately on the education system in the US… and the inequities from school to school, district to district?  Coming from Canada… we don\’t see as much of an issue as apparently the US does but we fight for our schools and our education system.
     
    If you have seen it… what do you think about her reports?  I am curious because it has made me sit back and wonder why?  Can it be reversed and changed?  A comnment was made that segregation is even more apparent now … TODAY… than it was back in the day… and that was made by a highly respected Professor in the US.  I could see how teachers get discouraged… and the jealousy that ensues.
     
    Kudos to you for keeping the spirit alive …. every student needs at least one teacher with your energy and love to keep them going.  I know I had a few… and I know… even here…. I was one of the lucky ones.
     
    KC
     
    PS… the Queens are from Canada… but hockey  isn\’t a past time that most gay choose to engage in.  Despite playing it growing up on our outdoor home made skating rinks growing up.. I still know very little about the game… but it was a GREAT game to watch and Jim and Paul, our beloved Queens, had a GREAT time.

  7. Karen says:

    I\’m with freckledSasha, sounds like you (and other teachers you work with) are doing something right.  I have a lot of respect for teachers in general, but I imagine the challenges of working in a more impoverished area and actually effecting some good deserves even more… and now, the child is crying, so… have a blessed Easter & keep up the good work!

  8. Nooner™ says:

    I\’m back again!  LOL.  I wanted to return after hearing about Mr K in Qatar.  He\’s in my Easter Day prayers (as are YOU!).
     
    I\’m loving your site more and more.  I left a couple comments around on other items (which maybe you\’ll find some day .. lol).
     
    Sometimes it takes a few visits to a new site before something you see really sinks in.  I just figured out the start of each blog called "What she wore" was your outfit of that day.  Too, too funny .. I love it!  And the one on April 13th ending with "everybody liked the shoes" .. lol .. with a pic of just the shoes at the end of the blog too .. lol.  OMG, you are so precious .. lol.
     
    Nooney

  9. Elizabeth says:

    Success is the best revenge, isn\’t it? :") Happy Easter!

  10. Unknown says:

    You are right it takes courage to stand out, be different and you seem to be doing that. Never become so focussed on being different however that you forget the goal.

  11. Hollie says:

    Glad that u all get along! Hope you have a great Easter!
     
    Hollie

  12. Sue says:

    Hope you\’re having a great day! 
    I agree with you regarding upper middle class schools.  I wouldn\’t want my kids going there for fear my children would turn out like THEM!!!  LOL. 
     
    Sue

  13. Unknown says:

    Happy Easter : )
     
    I would think team work is the magic word in working in schools, I have worked closely with private and community schools most of my life and a united front seems to have the most affect with the youth I\’ve worked with.
    Its great when you can have fun too.
    I am finding I miss my work with the boys at times : (
    take care, Blabby

  14. qi says:

    I think you\’re just doing the right thing which you also like pretty much yourself, so keep on it and if you think it\’s right, just go for it coz no one knows more clearly than yourself.
    Like what you wear today,simple and casual.

  15. Gelati Farms says:

    Hey…
     
    I would definitely say jealousy, but sometimes, stick in the mud people really have a hard time with people that enjoy life.  You just spend 5 minutes at the beginning of every day thinking of how lucky you and your co-workers are that you don\’t have any of those poopheads (I really tried to think of another word…I think the chocolate has started to consume braincells…) at your school.  Of course, the kids would probably eat them alive…with ketchup.
     
    My oldest daughter goes to the Catholic school that is 5 houses away.  About 3 years ago, it was rated as one of the worst schools in the city with regards to literacy.  We live in…well, the hood I guess, with lots of transient families who rent a house for a few months and move on.  The federal and provincial government dumped a serious load of money into the school to help develop new literacy programs and now the school is ranked at the top in the province.  Teachers beg to teach there, all the chi-chi families want their kids to go…it is great.  I am guessing that it is so attractive to new teachers who are passionate about teaching kids…all this money to play with!  The possibilities…
     
    It is wonderful to come here and read about you passion for teaching.  Unfortunately, so many people can count on one hand the really fantastic teachers they had.  I don\’t really believe there is a more important job than teaching.  Well, unless it is my job.  I mean, massaging people is soooo essential…
     
    Hope your Easter involved moderate amounts of chocolate…
     
    Alison
     
     

  16. Cheryl says:

    You are lucky…Glad to hear about your excellent outcomes….

  17. Unknown says:

    Love the new picture!
     
    Ashlie

  18. K says:

    "You have enemies?  Good.  That means you\’ve stood up for something, sometime in your life." – Winston Churchill (1874-1965)

  19. Unknown says:

    …what you described…sounds like your students all over again…just a little bigger and fatter.
     
    Not a shot…just a human observation….isn\’t it funny how we can tell kids to get along and then we all end up the same…?
    jean shorts to a professional day?  were they like Daisy Dukes or mom jeans shorts?

  20. Gina says:

    sounds like jealousy more than hate.  getting along with your co workers is price less so I can imagine that those who don\’t give the ones who don\’t the evil eye.

Leave a Reply

