Good Lord!

What she wore: nave blue skirt with a ruffle at the bottom, peeking out under this ruffle was a blue and white striped ruffle.  Blue and white striped v-neck shirt with capped sleeves.  Navy blue leather slides with a narrow white bow, and a kitten heel.  Many compliments.

Today on the radio these two D.J.’s (the ubiquitious man/woman combo) were reading a survey out-loud.  The survey was which body parts women hated the most on themselves. 
 
86% of women hate their thighs. 
 
I’m in shock.  I haven’t thought about my thighs in years.
 
The only part of themselves that some women claimed to like were their ankles!  Their ankles!
 
The DJ was talking all about how she hates that her thighs touch.  Oh my Lord!  We are human!  Our thighs are supposed to touch!  I know a woman who’s thighs don’t touch and it looks kinda weird. 
 
I am sorry, but I don’t hate my body.  I don’t get up every morning and say, "thank you for this temple of perfection," but by and large I look at it as a pretty good piece of work that might need a little maintenance now and then.  I don’t think I’m Pam Anderson or anything, but my parts work, they get me where I want to go, and I can buy clothes at regular stores.  What more do I need?
 
What really disturbs me is that I don’t think men are nearly as concerned as women.  Most men like boobs and butts no matter how they come–they’re not that picky!  Why are we so hard on ourselves?
 
Look, Ladies, banish from your vocabulary the words, "I hate my. . . "  Don’t hate yourselves.  There are plenty of other people willing to do that for you.  Love yourself and your body, and let the rest go by the wayside.  And please. . .
 
Find something about yourself that you like that’s better than your ankles–that’s just pathetic.
 
KM
About takedeux

In one summer I had a baby who was hospitalized for five weeks, quit my job, and moved back to my hometown. This blog is about starting over.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

33 Responses to Good Lord!

  1. Kelly says:

    Hey, honey! I don\’t know what\’s up. I haven\’t had a comment all day (and that\’s kind of strange) so I wonder if it has some trouble. It should allow you to post a comment as "anonymous" where you put in your name and website and then the comment. Sorry about that. Don\’t want to be elitist at all! You know me! The more the merrier.

    Ok, wish I had time to read this post, but I was in the middle of posting myself and had to say LOVE THAT NEW PICTURE. You\’re too cute!

  2. Unknown says:

    Well said!!  I couldn\’t agree more!! 
     
    CRCT is a school test.  It was called CRT when I was a kid.  For the life of me I can\’t remember what it stands for??? You have to pass it in 1st, 3rd and 5th grades to be promoted, but grades 1-5 are tested all week. 
     
    Ashlie

  3. Dennis says:

    You wont believe tihs – I commented and promptly closed your window wihout clicking on publish comment – arrrggghhhh!!!!  But for you, I will glady re-type every word – cuz I think it was that good.  Am I leading the witness enough here?
     
    Like Mocha – I LOVE THE NEW PIC TOO!  Unlike the guys you are referring to – I DO CARE ABOUT THE BUTT!!  I recenlty commented on another space that some rear ends have no impression at all and need to post a sign stating "this space available." 
     
    I also commented on another space about breasts – It doesnt matter if a woman has large or small breasts – the only thing that matters to most guys is how much they are willing to show.
     
    Well this comment pretty much will shock those who feel that I always leave a thoughtful comment.  What can I say?  I am a guy and my eyes are still working well…..lol
     
    I commented on my space about the comment you made.  In regards to your post with a pic of your shoes – OF COURSE I SAW THAT!  I even commented on them the day you posted.  Did you miss it?
     
    Love ya!
    EZ

  4. Unknown says:

    Hi Katy,
     
    I am an editor at MSN. We are considering featuring your Space on "What\’s Your Story?" http://whatsyourstory.msn.com. Could you please email me for mare detalis.
     
    Thanks,
    Karen
    a-karewe@microsoft.com

  5. Dennis says:

    The reason why you missed my comment is because it is one of the rare
    times you got TWO comments from me in one post.  Go back to the
    13th and start with the first comments …there you will see my
    comment about the shoes.
     
    Now about me and if I would go for a woman whose thighs did not touch
    that would not be accurate.  How else may I enlighten you?
     
    EZ

  6. Dennis says:

    Oh Babygirl!!!!! I just read the comment between my first two. 
    CONGRATULATIONS!!!!! We are going to get your cute little butt
    into the HALL OF FAME.
     
    EZ

  7. Sue says:

    Very well said!  It needs to be said more often, especially about the ankles thing.  Whats up with that?   Spied the comment below…. Congrats!!!!!!  You deserve it. 
     
    Have a great one.
    Sue

  8. K says:

    AMEN SISTA!!!!  Loving ourselves is perhaps the hardest thing to do.. but the most important thing any human being can do for themselves. 
     
    So Teacha… preach… bring it home baby… and then preach some more… cus some of us are listening!!
     
    Ciao bella,
    KC

  9. LH says:

    That would be awesome for you to be featured!  Yea!  I completely agree with you on the loving you body.  Even with a few extra pounds I am enjoying my curves! 

  10. . says:

    Woah! You are being nominated for the Space Feature THINGY! YAY!
     
    My thighs could use some work but I do not HATE them. My tummy could be a bit flatter…my hip bone could be shredded so it is not so big but all in all it\’s ok. I used to HATE my butt with a passion. I would obsess in the mirror about ways to make it look smaller. Then I met this lovely Tanzanian boy who LOVES my a** and so now "I am at one with my bum".
     
    aak

  11. K says:

    I saw this quote and it completely reminded me of your post:
     
    Perfect is Different for Everybody; Everybody is Perfectly Different
     
    Congrats on the MSN nomination thingy… I know where I\’ll be casting my vote!
     
    Have a great day today,
    KC

  12. WINDOW LIVE says:

    First, I think you are a wonderful teacher.  I hope you don\’t get too jaded over time.  My children had wonderful elementary and middle school teachers but the teachers in high school are not so great.  We live in a top school district with very little social issues so I am not sure what the deal is.  Second, Tony cheats on his wife but he isn\’t physically abusive and I always figured that was the trade off.  I think most women know their husbands cheat they just choose for whatever reason to turn their heads.  I just have a hard time with the rest of the violence.  I am always covering my eyes.  I am a real baby.  Have a great day!  Thanks again for your blogs. 

  13. kmc03 says:

    I\’m from SD the state, not San Diego!  Therefore, I\’m not a hippie and Arnold isn\’t my Governor! 
     
    Good posting!  I know there is areas on almost everyone\’s body that they would like to change, but saying you "hate" it isn\’t going to make it any better. They should just go to the gym and work on it to see some results instead of complaining. 
     

  14. Tracy says:

    LOL that is funny because if you were to ask me my  least favorite part about myself, I\’d say my thighs!!! See I played soccer all growing up and in high school and had a huge kick, muscular thighs – well then I stopped playing or exercising for, what, 7 yrs, and so my big muscular thighs turned into ugly fat thighs, lol!  But I don\’t obsess over it – there is a point where you just have to say I AM ME and don\’t worry about it.  I hate how all the celebrities are stick-thin, it\’s so unrealistic. Curves are good! 🙂

  15. Alicia says:

    I like my boobs…does that count???  LMFAO!!
     
    HUGS!!  🙂

  16. Karen says:

    Great post!  I used to obsess about my body, when I was young and thin (and thought I was horrendously fat – what was wrong with me, I don\’t know…), but now that I am older & carrying some extra pounds, I am comfortable in my skin.  Life\’s so much more fun when you live it rather than worry about what you look like while you\’re living it (at least I find this to be true)!

  17. Unknown says:

     it is so hard! We are trained to bash ourselves!
     
    It is great to hear from you that you like your body. I think alot of woman do, but they are to busy comparing themselves to what they see on tv. Not comparing myself to that, I guess I am pretty happy with myself, too. Thanks Katy!!!

  18. Unknown says:

    oops… the \’no name\’ comment is MEEE
    freckledSasha!

  19. Tammi says:

    A M E N !!!!!!!!!!  Very well said 🙂

  20. Toni says:

    first congrats are in order–a featured space! how awesome! second–your post really hit home with me–i have 2 little girls and i hate the thought of them growing up in a world that women are valued mostly for beauty…my oldest loves this one song that is just right on with the way i\’m trying to teach them to think about themselves…"No One" by Aly&AJ…shining with your own natural, inner light…it all starts at such a young age, and us "older" girls really do have to work hard in order to "retrain" our brains…why do we work so hard to change the way we look? to fit other\’s standards of beauty–rail thin, gaunt, oompa-loompa tan, bleach blond beauty? drives me crazy…love the skin you\’re in! i couldn\’t agree with you more…toni

  21. Unknown says:

    OH my all this stuff to catch up on…man I haven\’t been away THAT long sheesh!
     
    RE: school meeting thingy, I was just speaking w/ the chick who cuts my hair…and trust me you\’re lucky you all help one another out @ work, it\’s refreshing, just think @ her place they are all PMSing @ the same time like 30of them…yeeeeeeeeeeeeOUCH!
     
    RE: Hair cut…I love it…I love the kids touching it, totally you and summerish.
     
    RE:Pic of hair cut you…I love those classic pictures in black and white so stylish.
     
    RE: kids no kids…um…tell people to take a hike or have their own lives, you do what makes you happy kiddo.
     
    I missed you sugar butt,
     
    Mercy xo
     
     

  22. Jaysey says:

    You\’re right–men are not nearly as concerned about their bodies.  This is evidenced in the vary fact that when G. and I were first getting intimate, I was busy trying to make sure I was wearing the most attractive undergarments and he had no prob just walking around in his udnerwear–no worries about strategic placement either!  They don\’t seem to even let it cross their minds!!

  23. Unknown says:

    It\’s true this cosmos thing, it\’s true. Really. hugs,Mercy

  24. Souad says:

    Hello
    everyone ;
    Shanna’s operation was successful. The last E.E.G shows that the epilepsies was almost gone on the side that was operated. There is still epilepsies on the right side but Professor Raftopulos told me that in a year he would operate the right side if necessary. Sadly, I have only gotten bad news. Since I explained to you during Shanna’s operation that we examined pieces of her brain to discover what provoked an epilepsy so aggressive and refractive to the treatments and also to give a name to this type of epilepsy. Today, I was notified to William Lennox for a reunion with a team of neurologists to make a check-up during this reunion. The neurologist told me that she received the results of this biopsy and they are not good. Shanna has a disease in her brain which is the cause of her epilepsy. Shanna’s brain produces a toxic protein (a fish) that kills cellules and brain neurones. If it was the team of St. Luc or the team of William Lennox, they don’t know the cause. Both teams have never seen a similar case to a child of 9 years old. Normally this toxic protein happens when a child got encephalitis or when the child was exposed to massive toxic fumes or the child is alcoholic for a certain amount of years. These three possibilities are not the case of Shanna. Shanna’s epilepsy started around the age of seven years old. We have to find as soon as possible the origin. Next week the whole family will have their blood tested to maybe find the genetic origin. A call has been launched in whole world by the laboratory and the neurologist of St. Luc and William Lennox to discover the same problem to another child in the world. Maybe people will look at my blog and would be able to help these teams. What medications could help her? Do not hesitate to contact the William Center and ask for Dr. Andries. You all have been so much help my little Shanna… Thank you so much… All the nice cards that you have sent to Shanna are wonderful. She is so happy and she put them all in a folder. Kisses from Shanna… Oceanne…and Mouah (me) Martine, Shanna’s mother
    (merci à rachel pour la traduction)
     Shanna
    Bisous
    Souad

  25. Antonella says:

    I completely agree with you!!! And you\’re right on about women\’s thighs that don\’t touch I think it looks weird! ALthough then I need to apologize to my sister who\’s a tooth pick. She tries desperately to gain weight but she can\’t!!
     
    I read that survey too and I was really surprized, of all the bodies parts, your thighs??? I thought it would have been stomach. Whatever!! Men don\’t care, as long as you have your girly parts, no matter what size they are, they\’re pretty happy!
     

  26. Unknown says:

    what he wore
    a powder blue dress shirt from BR, a navy pinstiped suit with side /and a rear vent, CK tie with diagonal stipes, and a pair of black Allen Edmonds with a canoe stitch. White boxers with tiny blue polka dots
     
    i like my hands, my chest and my tummy. I like my bum.

  27. Nadine says:

    Maybe it is becuz ankles tend to not get fat??? And if they do they are really fat!!
     
    But I do agree with you!! Be happy with yourself and hang the rest!!

  28. Alicia says:

    I still like my boobs…..

  29. Elizabeth says:

    Good for you for your self image! That\’s refreshing. While I don\’t "hate" anything about my body (well, maybe my stretch marks from my pregnancy…) I certainly wouldn\’t mind getting a lift here and there. 😉

  30. Carine says:

    Well said!!!! I LOVE MY HAPPY HIPS!!!!! 🙂
     
    I don\’t! but, really your right…plenty of people to hate you out there…Don\’t join them go jogging and beat them!!
     
    – C

  31. Darcy says:

    Hey girl…
    I take a little blog break, and you get a nomination for WYS?  That\’s cool!  I saw one on SingleJenn\’s too… you go there don\’t you?  If not, you SHOULD…. you guys would get along!
    Anyway, congrats!
    Will poke around and see what else I missed!
    D

  32. Toni says:

    Ha! I thought I was the only grown up listening to Aly&AJ. Go figure–but then I have kids and you teach kids…so it\’s excusable. I won\’t tell if you won\’t. Have a great weekend! Toni

  33. tassietoo says:

    I agree with you!  If more women took this approach, there would be much more happiness in the world!  And think what a gift we\’d be giving our daughters!

Leave a Reply

