You Never know

What she wore: A-line, purple, linen skirt; white, short-sleeve tee; white thong heels.  The kids were crazy about the shoes, but I think they hurt–probably won’t be wearing those again. 

Yesterday was the big incentive trip.  Kids who did all the things they were supposed to for the state test earned the chance to go on a fun-only field trip.  We took our kids to one of those places that has putt-putt golf, go-carts, bumber cars, and batting cages.  I learned a lot about my kids yesterday.
 
Our kids had know idea how to play putt-putt.  We had groups of forty-five scheduled for an hour each at the course.  Our group reluctantly went and played, but they really didn’t want to leave the go-carts.
 
They thought you only got to hit the ball once!  If you didn’t get it in the hole, you went on to the next one.  We corrected them, and told them they were allowed to hit it more than once.  Then, they would hit it, and then bring it back to the start to try again! 
 
We just never know what experiences our kids are going to have missed out on.  They didn’t realize that you play in an order, either.  They just wandered around the course trying different holes.
 
Two of the other teachers, myself, and two of the students began playing against each other.  A little group began following us around watching and learning how golf is played.  They saw us scoring and observed the interactions between the teachers. 
 
By the time we left, our kids were saying, "that wasn’t that bad.  Golf is kind of cool."
 
Our goal wasn’t to make a bunch of golf fanatics.  But I must admit that I loved getting to show them something new. 
 
You never know when learning is going to happen.
 
KM
 
 
About takedeux

In one summer I had a baby who was hospitalized for five weeks, quit my job, and moved back to my hometown. This blog is about starting over.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to You Never know

  1. LH says:

    I just can\’t imagine not playing putt putt as a kid.  To this day once a month when the weather is warm enough we take the whole family out for that.  Of course Jeff takes the older boys real golfing.  Something I believe every man should know how to do – just the whole business politics involved with it.  Anyway I love watching my five year old play putt putt, it just cracks us up.

  2. LH says:

    My grammer always sucks.  lol  Thanks for commenting I appreciate all views.  I don\’t think I am fearful that we have another Vietnam on our hands, but I am fearful on what we will end up doing with Iran.  My son who is a Sophomore is already dead set on joining the Army.  I couldn\’t be more proud, but also fearful.  I do agree that their are certain christians that are making the rest of us look bad, just as I believe that there are Cindy Sheehans that make the others look bad.  I\’m sorry I just don\’t think she honored her son very well.  I DO agree with all those damn magnets.  I DO NOT display a single one on my car nor will I ever, nor will I display a cross on my car.  I think in a way those exploit God and the troops.  I DO also agree with keeping Christianity sacred, it doesn\’t belong on a car or in a war protest either way.
     
    Now there\’s a run on sentence for ya!  lol
     
    I think the main thing that has bothered me the most is the media.  I wish I could trust anything they say.  It saddens me that they find "hero\’s" in the strangest places. 
     
    Thanks again for stopping by and leaving the comments I really appreciate when I can have an intelligent thought with.

  3. LH says:

    Wait I re-read that after I published it…I should have said I do agree with you on the damn magnets.  I don\’t have them on my cars.

  4. K says:

    "A teacher affects eternity; he can never tell where his influence stops."  ~  Henry Adams
     
    His/Her influence never stops… you are molding the minds of the future…
     
    I am constantly in admiration of you, your dedication and love for teaching and the kids.
     
    Don\’t ever change… only improve if necessary.
     
    Ciao bella
    KC

  5. K says:

    LOL… here\’s another that reminds me of you… You are well on your way…
     
    "We think of the effective teachers we have had over the years with a sense ofrecognition, but those who have touched our humanity we remember with a deepsense of gratitude."
    ~ Anonynous student

  6. Laura says:

    Oh, I am not great at putt-putt, and I don\’t really like it either. Funny how people pick up on things (like thinking you can only hit the ball once). Where do you think they got that from? Funny, and cute…

  7. Dennis says:

    So let me get this straight.  The woman who does not understand the hoopla surrounding the Masters golf tournament ended up teaching kids about golf???  Oh Lawd!  There is a God!!!!
     
    EZ
     
    P.S. I don\’t want you and Jenn on the same week dammit!

  8. Sue says:

    I do love putt putt, but I don\’t get the 18 holes of golf thing.  Amazing the little things some kids miss out on.  I bet they\’ll want to go again now!
     
    Sue

  9. Darcy says:

    I LOVE minigolf!  Have never gocarted or bumpercared though… maybe I missed out!
    D

  10. Antonella says:

    That\’s nice that the kids got to go and do something new. In NY now, they don\’t allow ANY trip, not even educational. It\’s all about test preparation, everything else can go to hell(according to the board of ed)
    Can you believe I\’ve NEVER played any kind of golf EVER!!!

  11. WarrenandSarah says:

    How fun, I loved those fun days in school. It is always great to learn a new sport as well. Glad you all had a good time.
     
    Blessings,
     
    Sarah

  12. Karen says:

    What a great outing; it\’s good the kids were willing to try something new too.

  13. Unknown says:

    You\’re so awesome…as Jess\’s daughter says "I wub you" hugs sunshine, Mercy

  14. Alicia says:

    Sounds like it was a good learning and bonding experience for all involved.  Those are the BEST days!
     
    Hope you have a GREAT weekend!
     
    HUGS!!  🙂

  15. SomedayQuilter says:

    I really enjoyed your space and in particular your blogs.  You\’re so right about learning and about life taking you places you hadn\’t really planned or in some cases even thought of. 
    Sylvia

Leave a Reply

