What should have been

What she wore: blue jean capris, tennis shoes, purple t-shirt that says, I-heart-NOLA (New Orleans, Louisiana).

Well, I made it to Kentucky and back without any major incidents and I’m back in front of the computer typing again. 

 

I spent the weekend with my college buddies–it was the bachelorette/bachelor weekend for my old college roommate who’s getting married this June. 

 

Also in attendence was an old college buddy and the bride’s sister.  The old college buddy is 26, single, and getting ready to enter the real world with her shiny new PhD.  The bride’s sister is 25, divorced, and her boyfriend is stationed overseas for a nine month deployment. 

 

Seeing these two girls made me realize that life is hardly what one would expect.  The old buddy felt certain that by this time she’d be married with kids.  I’m pretty sure that when the sister got married she wasn’t thinking she’d be divorced before 25.  Life throws us curve balls all the time. I’ve talked about my friend with the "plan" before, but I don’t think plans are very helpful.  We all end up in places we didn’t expect.  I didn’t spend my childhood dreaming of living in Arkansas teaching Special Ed. students.  Dont’ get me wrong–I love what I do, and am very happy–but I never could have predicted that this is where life would take me. 

 

But isn’t that part of the fun?  Holding on to the roller coaster and seeing where it takes us?

 

I’m always philisophical when I get back from these weekends.  I’ve including some pictures.

 

KM

About takedeux

In one summer I had a baby who was hospitalized for five weeks, quit my job, and moved back to my hometown. This blog is about starting over.
This entry was posted in Random Musings. Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to What should have been

  1. Cheryl says:

    I wanted to be an astronomer and ended up being a CEO of a large healthcare operation.  My oldest daughterwanted to be a truck driver and ended up being an accountant.  My youngest daughter wanted to be a nurse and she ended up teaching special ed in a poverty stricken school.  you just can\’t predict where the ride will take you…

  2. Zeynep says:

    Congratulatıons.

  3. WINDOW LIVE says:

    I am so glad you were able to visit Kentucky.  Unfortunately Lexington is not as nearly as fun as Louisville.  This is where I reside.  This past weekend was the big "Thunder over Louisville" air and fireworks show which kicks off Derby.  Glad you went and had a good time.

  4. Jaysey says:

    I\’m with you, sister!  It\’s hard to plan with all those curve balls!  You never know what\’s going to happen and before you know it, your plan bites the dust!  Better to just go with the flow, says Jenn! 🙂  PS–Congrats on the nom. for Best of!

  5. Antonella says:

    I always make plans, but they always change, so I don\’t really pay much attention to them!
     
    It\’s funny that you went to Kentucky. I don\’t know if kids over there play this game, but here in NY, the kids sing:
     
    We\’re goin to Kentucky,  we\’re goin to the fair,
    To see the senoritas with flowers in their hair….
     
    the kids are all holding hands and spinning around one kid in the middle who dances (what the other kids sing about) It\’s fun! But, mnost people here have never been to Kentucky!!
     
    Antonella

  6. Elizabeth says:

    It looks like you guys had a great time!!  Is the hat thing a requirement south of the Mason-Dixon line? Tres Chic! :")  (I got a secret..I don\’t even know what the Mason-Dixon line is!! Shhh!!! LOL)

  7. Lynn says:

    Congratulations on the Best of, KM!!  I love your Clothing Descriptions, and as always, I love your atitude towards teaching, \’your kids\’, and life in general.
     
    I hope you enjoyed Kentucky, it was a rainy weekend part of the time, but sunny and breezy for the most part anyway.  And everyone I know who actually followed their Plan ended up not very happy…it\’s the journey, not the destination that always seems to matter, isn\’t it?
     
    Thank you, always, for what you do and who you are.
     
    *Blessings*
    Lynn

  8. Unknown says:

    Awe you girrrrlsssss look so deeeeelish babe!!!  Looks like you had a marvie time=) xoxo Mercy…I miss my friends in NOLA!!!

  9. LH says:

    Sounds like a wonderful weekend.  All those curve balls is what makes it life.  You are right, sometimes all you can do is hang on for the ride and hope you are still on the ride when it slows down.

  10. Nadine says:

    I love the short hair!! Not too short, just right. I am glad you had a good time with your friends.
      It is good to have a plan but don\’t be surprized if it doesn\’t happen that way. And if you don\’t have a plan, don\’t sweat it. It all works out in the end anyway! But the best piece of advice I can say to you is do not sit around and think about what could have been……….that leads to regrets! Being pregnant at 17 and having the baby grow up and never speak to me as an adult, is rough. I do not sit around and think about all the sacifices or where I would have been if I had not give birth to her and then she dump all over me. My life is what it is…….you just play with the cards you are dealt!

  11. Tracy says:

    Hey there – ya I always find it funny how, when you get into late-twenties, people can be at such different places in life.  IT\’s weird because you know growing up in high school and college, everyone\’s at the same place in life but then by late twenties, people get married/divorced/have kids/stay single and their lives can be so different; and it can be hard to keep in touch with someone whose life is so different.  As for me – well ya I certainly never "planned" on being 28 and getting divorced but I try to remember everything happens for a reason, and you can\’t expect to be happy all the time!! It\’s funny because I think, man those married people have it all – yet there are SO many married people out there who aren\’t happy so it\’s not like being happily married solves all of life\’s problems!!

  12. The Dana Files says:

    You all looked like you had a great time catching up and being "bachelorettes".
     
    I really like your blog!  Thanks for the smiles!

  13. Gina says:

    Its true, we often plan our lives out before we even enter the "real world" and get a good does of reality.

  14. Sheryl-Ann says:

    Wow, your entry made me think a lot about life and the plans we sometimes have.  I think it is important to plan, but we must remain open-minded because life does indeed throw curve balls all the time.  We just have to learn from the experiences and move on, no matter how hard it might be.
    If someone had told me 5 years ago that I would be in the great state of Texas doing a PhD in Finance, I would have laughed.  However, life happens and we end up in places doing things we would never expect to be doing.  Ah, the unpredictability of life……..makes it worth living, doesn\’t it?
    I love your blog, by the way:)

  15. Alicia says:

    I hear ya…I often think that I didn\’t go to college to end up without a degree and being an office manager…I DO like what I do and my life…but you\’re right.  DAMN curve balls….
     
    HUGS!!  🙂

  16. Toni says:

    I absolutely LOVED the roller coaster analogy. I couldn\’t agree with that whole point of view more, I have totally given up on making plans–goals, yes. Plans, no–and your hat is freakin\’ fabulous.

  17. Laura says:

    Awe… so cute in that huge hat. Looks like you guys did have fun. I am actually planning my sister-in-law\’s bachlorette party… I have to be safe though, since I am already married, and the groom\’s sister is super super conservative. Hmm… we will see what I come up with!

  18. Laura says:

    Hey, and you NEED TO ANNOUNCE THAT YOU ARE FEATURED AND PEOPLE SHOULD VOTE FOR YOU HERE!!!!

  19. Siobhan says:

    I can\’t believe I didn\’t \’find\’ you until now.  I really like your blogs and your outlook on everything, it\’s been fun reading through it and peaking into your life.  I\’ll definitely be back.

  20. K says:

    "We must be willing to get rid of the life we\’ve planned, so as to have the life that is waiting for us."~Joseph Campbell
    How very true… And you look GORGEOUS with that hat… I love hats!
    And now.. I must vote…. Congrats and Good Luck … there are three out of the four of you that I read often… it\’s gonna be a tight one!  Check out EZ\’s blog… he\’s in a pickle trying to figure this one out!
    It\’s nice to have you back… and philosophical… but stilll LOVE that hat!
    Ciao bella,
    KC

  21. Dennis says:

    Damn KM!  You have 20 comments already.  Honey you are growing in readership.  I have been voting for all three of my darlings today.  In regards to your comment about how we never know what life has in store for us , all I am going to say about that is …………. aint that the freakin truth?  I don\’t even want to go there.  I am glad that you are back.  I could use a little consistency.
     
    Oh! One more thing…. the big a** straw hat ….. love it girlfriend!
     
    EZ

  22. Unknown says:

    I stopped in to take a look around and say Congrats on being featured on MSN Best of Spaces!  Enjoy your week.  MT

  23. Nooner™ says:

    OMG !!!!
    KM !!!
    Wooo Hoooo.
    And just to think … that … "I knew you before you became a starlet"
    lol
    Congrats, KM.  I\’m so happy for you!  I was so pleasantly surprised that I rushed to write you before reading "what she wore" to work today .. That\’s not like me, ya know .. lol.
     
    Nooner
     
    P.S. Tell me again, the "90" means how many days he\’s been away, or how many days until you expect him back?  I thought the number listed was in the 80\’s last week.

  24. Karen says:

    Sounds like you had a good time, I\’m glad.  And it\’s so true that life is unpredictable.  I don\’t even make plans anymore… just sort of … guidelines (and those are pretty loose).  God bless & have a wonderful week (p.s. you\’ve got my vote)!

Leave a Reply

