And now for something completely different

What she wore: black sweater with three-quarter-length sleeves and white polka dots; white capris; white and black Steve Madden slides.  Most of the kids liked it, but one of them said I looked like a Dalmatian.

Well, I blogged about a really heavy topic last time, so now for something lighter–perhaps a whip cream of an entry if you will.
 
I’m going to blog about fashion.  This something I hold near and dear to my heart, but I rarely discuss it because it’s not exactly rocket science and women tend to look a little stupid when they can have a long conversation on winter white and capris v. gauchos. 
 
Here are a few of my thoughts:
  1. Regarding the trends: if it makes you look bad, please don’t do it!  It’s never fashionable to look unattractive.
  2. Please don’t utter phrases like "dressy jeans" or "nice sweat pants"  I have no problem with sweat pants or jeans, but let’s be reasonable–these things are not dressy or nice. 
  3. I’ll offend a few people with this one, but colored denim almost never looks nice.  Unless it’s white, it’s probably dating you.
  4. If you are a parent, please don’t use this as an excuse to wander around the world looking like complete crap.  We all have those days, but some people act like, "I have kids and now I no longer have to put out any effort."  I just think that’s bad for your self-esteem.  You are worthy of attention–give it to yourself. 
  5. White underwear does not belong under white clothes–we can still see it!  Wear nude.  Thongs should not hang out–if this is a major problem, buy different pants or skip the underwear.
  6. And now for my final rule: commenting on other people’s clothes is the tackiest thing of all.  We all make mistakes and all show up looking less than our best.  If you see somone looking bad, send up a little thank-you that it’s not you this time and go on with your business.  Bad manners is a lot worse than bad clothes.

Now go, shop, and be happy!

 

KM 


After just a few comments, I realize some clarification is in order.  When I say sweatpants can’t be nice I don’t mean that they can’t look good.  I just hate when I see people at work with these clothes on–we’re teachers, clearly we need to look like we’re working and not working out.  I have a pair of yoga pants that could easily double as going out pants with the right shoes, accessories, etc.  I just don’t want people thinking that others don’t notice–if ya got on sweat pants, we all know.

 

About takedeux

In one summer I had a baby who was hospitalized for five weeks, quit my job, and moved back to my hometown. This blog is about starting over.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to And now for something completely different

  1. Unknown says:

    Great list!!  I totally agree with #4.  Been there, done that.  But you do feel better even if just putting forth a little effort. 
     
    ~Ashlie

  2. Dennis says:

    I concur with the list.  I threw out the black denims when you told me they were out (true story).  And now the underwear is the next to go.  Care to join me ? 🙂
     
    EZ

  3. Jaysey says:

    Great advice, KM–from my very own fashion guru!

  4. Unknown says:

    I agree with your list! People should dress according to their body type. I\’m only 5\’5 so I know to wear V-necks because it makes me look taller and not wear gauchos because it\’ll make me look even shorter. There are just too many things! I love fashion 🙂

  5. russ says:

    So what about my Members Only jacket??
     
    Russ

  6. Renee says:

    If you saw me on the street I would be one of those people you are glad you are not…LOL …my wardrobe consists of 3 pairs of jeans and several  t-shirts…most of them have paint on them somewhere!
    I blew out my shoes the other day so I have been wearing flip flops for the past three days…rain or shine baby!
     
    I like your rules though..they aren\’t so bad…I would dress better if I didn\’t have to feed these dang kids!!!! LOL
     
    take care
     
    renee

  7. Clint says:

    nice blog… i saw yours on the volvo best msn spaces thing… i enjoy reading peoples blogs and learning alot!
     
    – clint t. johnson

  8. Jaysey says:

    LOL @ Members Only, Russ.

  9. Sue says:

    I agree with you, but sometimes it\’s hard to put much effort into looking very good when I\’m going to have the triplets sliming and climbing on me all day. LOL.
    The thong underwear sticking out makes me crazy!!!!!!!!!!!!!  I have yanked a few of those to the dismay of the girl wearing them (evil laugh). 
     
    Sue

  10. Ashleigh says:

    i agree, but i do understand with the moms and really busy people out there.  sometimes getting things done is more important than impressing the world.

  11. Jennifer says:

    see, i KNEW you were a fashion guru.  i went shopping yesterday and every which way i turned.. gauchos…. i may have to break down and buy a pair.  
     
    and did i just read that right?  are you suggesting we go without underwear rather than wear white underwear or a thong that sticks out?!  how deliciously naughty of you!!
     
     

  12. Unknown says:

    I beg to differ about the sweatpants… my ex-girlfriend could make sweats look good.  She could make ANYTHING look good.  So, on the right woman, sweats can sometimes no longer be ugly but be beautiful.
     
     

  13. Elizabeth says:

    That\’s IT!!! I\’ve been given permission to shop! Thank you!
    Now I\’m outta here…. $$$$$$$$$  :")

  14. Sheryl-Ann says:

    I love your list even though I cannot say that I agree with #2.  I think there are some nice, sexy sweat pants, and I also think some jeans can be dressy depending on what you wear them with.  I love your point about the thong.  Sometimes I see the male students in my classes gawking at the girls who come in with their thongs exposed – tacky, tacky, tacky!
    Voted for your space today – love it!

  15. Karen says:

    I almost always look like crap (I have to dress relatively professionally at work, but that doesn\’t mean my style isn\’t outdated)… but I know it & don\’t excuse it 🙂  And it\’s not that I think I\’m not worth the effort.  I actually don\’t know why… I have a hard time finding clothes I actually like.  I\’m not a tiny person and it can be difficult to find attractive clothing in my size (and price range).  Anyway. 
     
    Have a great remainder of the week.

  16. Toni says:

    laughed at the colored jeans thing–they were ALL the rage back in high school but i sure wouldn\’t be caught dead in them now…what have you to say about black jeans/and white jeans? i have a problem with those too…and as a parent i can say it\’s not that i feel i no longer have to try–but when i come looking let\’s just say less than my best it\’s because i plain ran out of time, energy and money. oh, to be in your (beautiful, fashionable, matching) shoes! enjoy it for me! toni

  17. Toni says:

    and p.s.–the thongs are ridiculous. why even bother? they\’re tacky and uncomfortable. i completely agree–just go without.

  18. Nooner™ says:

    lol @ "or skip the underwear"
    Or, should I change the "lol" to "*perk*" ?  (It\’s the male in me that thinks that way, ya know .. lol.)
    Well, KM, you got me on one of your What She Wore.  I thought I knew a quite a bit of fashion and designer types.  But, I\’ll have to go google "Steve Madden" to see what his slides are all about.
    Woo Hoo .. only about 28 more days! I hope the next 4 weeks flies by for ya.
     
    Nooner

  19. Betsy says:

    I was planning to blog about an 80\’s fashion trend that I actually saw again yesterday.  I had completely forgotten about it until I saw it and then I had flashbacks to 1988 !  Jean with zippers on the back of the legs at the bottom!  Tell me these are not coming back!  I had a pair of these once upon a time.

  20. WINDOW LIVE says:

    Loved the blog.  I love clothes, shoes, handbags, scarves on and on.  Wait til you get  old like me and you have great vintage pieces. LOL.

  21. Tracy says:

    I think I need you to take me on a shopping spree!  🙂  I\’m not the best at fashion but I do try!  Lately I am having to re-vamp my entire wardrobe since I have lost weight…it\’s fun but I wish I had a big chunk of money to go spend one day and get everything I like, wouldn\’t that be fun?!  I am the queen of sweatpants when I am at home.  I do go out in them to the store on occasion, but I would never wear them to work?!  I will never forget – after my freshman year in college, I worked at a company that (like the one I am at now) is business casual and then casual (jeans) on Friday.  Well there was a Friday that I threw on a pair of old jean shorts – way more casual then I would normally wear (although shorts were permitted) well it just so happened that that day there was a big meeting of executives at our office – and go figure I was at the front desk and looked like crap, I was so embarassed!!

  22. Unknown says:

    Funny I kept on reading the first "sweatpants" as "sweetypants" I read it like five times…I think I need more java…or maybe it\’s because it one of the pet names HIM calls me…lol…Love and kisses, Mercy

  23. Nadine says:

     I totally agree with the white panties thing but a gal must wear something……the muff must be covered!! Otherwise it is like a neon light flashing "Look at Me". Oh no, I will not go commando in white pants…….come to think of it I don\’t own white pants……so no commando with khaki pants for me!
     
     My x hubby\’s wife, sweet girl, but is as large as a house, wears only sweat pants………Nice or not that is what she wears!
     I will so glad when that low riding pants thing is a thing of the past I am so tired of seeing thongs pop out at the worst possible time…the doctor asks to see a gal\’s puppy and she reaches down to pick it up and out puts the red thong……I was embarrassed for her. He looked at me and grinned and just shook my head. That poor girl had no clue!!
     
    Have a great day!!

  24. LH says:

    Perfect list.  Wish everyone would follow these rules.

  25. Alicia says:

    I am SOOO wit ya on this one, Katy…ESPECIALLY the sweatpants!!!!  I do like colored denim though…stopped waering white when I had a kid!!
     
    HUGS!!  :0

  26. Unknown says:

    I have to agree with you on alot of those notes. Why all the fuss about not wearing underwear? It\’s something all women should try atleast once. When you arent wearing any underwear it kind of gives you this flirty attitude like "I have a secret and you don\’t know what it is" You should seriously try it. Also wanted to say that I love your blog and I hope to be featured on the best of MSN spaces eventually.

  27. Tanilan says:

    Oh you are so right! I hate when you can see underwear lines!  And I hate when you can tell what color underwear someone is wearing!  I don\’t want to see that!!!!  Sweatpants are okay around the house, at the gym or going to the grocery store, but to school?  Only if you are A) an athlete or B) a coach. 
     

  28. Jaysey says:

    Looks like you\’ve avoided the trolls!  Good for you!

  29. Gina says:

    giggling @ the colored jeans and dressy jeans part. :o)

  30. Aunt says:

    i\’m not sure what to do with my dressy jeans now.

  31. Unknown says:

    as a guy, i even refuse to wear sweatpants out as a rule of thumb.  Call me a gal, but i never wear runners with jeans either. I just think it looks kind of suburban white trash.
     
    I heard my brother say when we were in Vegas (he\’s kind of gone white trash since he hasn\’t worked for Nordstroms for years and is a camp director with no money) "i\’m going to wear some new jeans i got from Costco", and i\’m just picturing some ill fitting dark dark (read new) blue jeans.  i thought that was funny.

Leave a Reply

