just plain fun

What she wore:long-sleeve pink tee, white linen gauchos with a draw string waist, two-tone pink slides.  No comments.

I checked out the new show Teachers last night and quite frankly I don’t think they’re doing us justice.  I mean sometimes we’re silly and funny and dramatic and this show just doesn’t seem to get it.  Here’s the sitcom re-cap of my day:
 
  1. I arrived at school with a covert package.  I snuck into Mr. K’s room, handed it off, and he hid it in his desk (you’ll have to stay tuned if you want find out what it was)
  2. We’re explaining how two sex cells come together to make a new organism in science class.  This is interesting because a Minister’s wife is my co-teacher and she’s trying her hardest not to say anything "inappropriate."
  3. When I asked one kid what was needed to create a new organism, he replied, "a lady-friend," and then proceeded to gyrate.  Frightening.
  4. When trying to explain sex cells to another student, I was explaining that all humans have them.  She says, "can we just use real people, like you?"  Uhhh, no, we’re not going to talk about my ovaries.  Sorry, that’s just icky. 
  5. The day ended, my tutorial students left, and the time was right.  I turned to Mr. K and said, "do you know what time it is?"  "I’ve been waiting all day," he replied.  I went and shut the door and we took out my covert treasure: Dr. Dre’s "Nothing But a G Thang, Baby."  We finished the day listening to old school rap. 

That’s a pretty interesting day, right?

 

KM

About takedeux

In one summer I had a baby who was hospitalized for five weeks, quit my job, and moved back to my hometown. This blog is about starting over.
This entry was posted in Teaching. Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to just plain fun

  1. Darcy says:

    Hey girl!
    Sounds like I missed a lot!  Had fun reading up and catching up!
    Thanks for the wellwishes 🙂
    I voted for you 🙂  I voted for Jenn too though… cause, well, me loves ya both!
    D

  2. Dennis says:

    Lawd, Child! Your stories always put a smile on my face.  I just luv how you interact with all the Chil-Ren.  I could see them now with you in that cell instruction.  You need to get some of these moments on tape.  But I know there is a law somewhere against that.  What a shame.
     
    I am so grateful for your comments today on my space.  It wont matter if I blog or not because I will make time to visit someone as wonderful as you.  Quite frankly, KM, you are priceless.
     
    EZ

  3. Sheryl-Ann says:

    Your students are hilarious!  I would love to spend a week with them to see them live in action (smile).  Do you teach during the summer, or do you have a few months off to travel and do nothing in particular?

  4. Renee says:

    I imagine all your days are pretty interesting!
     
    renee

  5. K says:

    The sitcom Teacher is not that great really… not sure how long it will last on the tube.  It truly doesn\’t do Teachers justice… although I really miss Boston Public… that was a GREAT show.
     
    Your students crack me up… and there really ain\’t nothing like a G thang…
     
    Ciao bella,
    KC

  6. Dena Marie says:

    Hey, KM!
     
    I loved your fashion blog entry (and I had to take some advice from you on the thong issue). I have *such* a hard time finding jeans that look good on me; so inevitably, one or two of my jeans will ride too low when I sit down. But you know, it NEVER dawned on me not to wear any underwear at all! I imagine it\’ll feel weird the first time, but I\’m willing to give it a try.  🙂  Thanks for the advice.
     
    As for this most recent post, I love goofy people!—goofiness makes life so much fun! Oh and also… #3 seriously cracked me up!!!!
     
    –DM

  7. Antonella says:

    LOL!! I never heard of that show. What channel is it on???
     
    And in old school rap, I perfer Gin and Juice!! Laid back, with my mind on my money and my money on my mind!!!!

  8. Sue says:

    your school could be a sitcom!  LOL.  The things kids say today sometimes blow me away.   It has to be hard to keep a straight face sometimes. 

  9. Toni says:

    too funny–i used to speak to high schools and midldle schools about sex/teen pregnancy and it was not at all easy, but always wound up being hilarious in the end…ah, dr. dre. listening to a little Warren G "Regulate" right now myself. the outfit sounded cool. love pink!

  10. Karen says:

    From what I\’ve read, your school could definitely compete with some t.v. sitcom!!

  11. . says:

    I would trade you anyway. My days are so boring!
     
    aak

  12. Unknown says:

    I would say so.  Sounds like lots of fun.  By the way, I am 25.  I used to be obsessed with NKOTB…especially Jordan.  Now I wonder what the hell was I thinking?  Ahh…good times.
     
    Jenna

  13. Hollie says:

    Yes U have my vote but I knw you u when!
     
    and your school and life well would mak a great sitcom, hubby stationed overseas, and well the kids and your fellow staff, and i could even say your new church…yeppers fine fodder for a new great sitcom…maybe I should start writing a script….and throw the idea out to some of my friends in LA.( you do I lived there for a yr and got to meet and greet lots of industry types)…my brain is thinking sitcome thoughts…

  14. Nooner™ says:

    Agreed.  It was a pretty interesting day. Then again, in your school almost everyday is interesting!  HeHe.  The Barnyard is the sitcom show for my viewing.
     
    ~Nooner~

  15. Unknown says:

    It’s like this and like that and like this and uh It’s like that and like this and like that and uh It’s like this and like that and like this and uh We aint got no love for ho\’s So jus’ chill, ’til the next episode
     
    I can\’t wait for the next episode bay bie!!
    Happy FRIDAY!!!
    THANK GOODNESS!!!
     
    xoxo Mercy

  16. WINDOW LIVE says:

    That was good.  Why is it that all kids mix up the organism word.  Better than that, my daughter at 10 and unaware about what the word "nookie" meant was walking through the food court of the mall singing at the top of her lungs, "the nookie, the nookie, I did it for the nookie"  I sat her down and explained what it meant.  She said "omg, I had not ideal I have been singing that all week"  LOL.As for praying, I do 2 devotionals a day and since December have read straight through the Gospels and am up to ACTS.  I love my bible.Have a great weekend.

  17. Jaysey says:

    Very interesting!  AS for one-dimensionality–my online persona has it, too, apparently.  Thus far, I\’ve so kindly been called all of the following: slut, ugly, close-minded, uptight, b*tchy, judgemental, and the list goes on.  Amazing how quickly people judge you after reading only one blog entry they found online, isn\’t it?  So at least your one-dimensionality doesn\’t have people calling you ugly names! 🙂

  18. Jenni says:

    ha ha ha- that is so funny- old school rap is the best.  My favorite is that song The Cars that go boom by Le Tigre- check it out- it will definitley make you laugh.  I have often thought about becoming a teacher, it sounds like it is hard at times.  I cant believe how fast kids are growing up these days- a gyrating kid is a frightening sight Im sure. 🙂
     
    You have my vote this week- back when I was featured we didnt have the vote, it was just four different blogs you could choose to read.  This voting thing is kind of interesting though.
    Watch for my good friend Nicole in next weeks feature! She is so excited.

  19. Laura says:

    I like the kid who said \’lady-friend\’… and I would love to see the gyrating. LMAO… For some reason I imagine this to be a chubby little boy… and I close?
     
    Your covert package just proves that you\’re a nerd!! ha ha… I bet you two knew all the words, right?  🙂 Don\’t worry, we\’re all nerds…

  20. Laura says:

    I like the kid who said \’lady-friend\’… and I would love to see the gyrating. LMAO… For some reason I imagine this to be a chubby little boy… and I close?
     
    Your covert package just proves that you\’re a nerd!! ha ha… I bet you two knew all the words, right?  🙂 Don\’t worry, we\’re all nerds…

  21. Alicia says:

    Old school rap ROCKS!!  Especially Dr. Dre!!
     
    Have a GREAT weekend!
     
    HUGS!!  🙂

  22. Carol says:

    There is nothing like sex-ed and kids.  We\’re all uptight about it and concerned about saying the wrong thing.  Then these wiser-than-their-years kids come around, all relaxed, and say whatever\’s on their minds.  Amazing!
    ~Carol
     

  23. LH says:

    Oh that was a great entry.  A much needed laugh for the day.  Thanks for sharing.

  24. wendy says:

    I have just recently started blogging and reading your blogs and I think they are awesome. Thanks for sharing your day!
     

  25. Nadine says:

    Can\’t we just real people…..like you! too funny…..were the other\’s fake people??
     
    And for you comment of the day…..I bet you looked cute in pink!

  26. Nunya says:

    Taking a spaces walk.  Nice place you have here.  Greetings from the Pacific North West.  I\’m in the Navy….soon to retire.
     
    Thank you for doing what YOU do. 
     
    Stop by some time!
     
    Rebecca

  27. Jaysey says:

    BTW,  I\’ve seen that show.  I think it sucks.  But I think you, too, are a rock star!

  28. Unknown says:

    how old skool are we talking?
    Like Run DMC – King of Rock old, like Whodini Five Minutes of Funk old skool, like Grandmaster flash and the furious 5 White Lines old skool, or are you thinking Beastie Boys old skool or NWA Gangsta Gangsta old school?
     
    I think your blog is interesting…but you should always include your undergarments in the what she wore update….just for those of us who enjoy the undie film (get it….Indie film) playing in the theatre of our minds….
     
    oh well.

Leave a Reply

