Too cute

What she wore: polo with wide black and white stripes (a nod to the nautical trend), white capris with a cuff, black slides with a kitten heel, and a black and white stiped button.

A few of our gifted and talented student participated in a free enterprise contest during electives.  As a thank you for all their hard work, the principal and a few teachers chipped in to take the kids to Olive Garden.  They worked it out with Olive Garden so they could get the lunchtime prices instead of dinner, and they reserved the dining room.   The teachers got the menu and let the kids look at it, so they could start thinking about what they want to eat. 
 
I’ve mentioned it before, but I’ll do it again: most of the kids at our school come from very poor families.  Most of our kids qualify for free lunch which means the government pays for their lunches and provides them breakfast since their family doesn’t make enough money.   Many of our students have never been a restaurant nicer than McDonalds.  
 
The menu for Olive Garden is a little confusing.  There are no burgers, no fries, and no chicken fingers.  They don’t even have pizza. 
 
A few of the kids were staring at the menu.  They’re gifted, so they can read, but that doesn’t mean they know what the menu is talking about.
 
After much consideration, a quiet young boy looked at one of the teachers involved and said, "can we just go get some pizza?  This Italian stuff is confusing."
 
Aren’t kids just too funny?
 
KM
About takedeux

In one summer I had a baby who was hospitalized for five weeks, quit my job, and moved back to my hometown. This blog is about starting over.
This entry was posted in Teaching. Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Too cute

  1. Jaysey says:

    That is too funny!  Poor kids, though.  I hope they pigged out on that "Italian Stuff!"

  2. Jaysey says:

    PS: Glad you had fun!

  3. Cheryl says:

    That is great…Pictures on the menu really help.

  4. Sheryl-Ann says:

    Hey KM, I did read KC\’s blog today, and she suggested that I try some of the ideas as well (smile).  I feel more relaxed now (not that I followed KC\’s advice) but I am just taking my time and going through the material.  Tomorrow morning might be a different story!  However, I teach at 11am so that should calm me down a bit before the exam.
     
    That was very sweet of you all to take the kids to Olive Garden.  I am sure they would have preferred Pizza Hut or McDonald\’s but new experiences are all part of learning.  You all do a wonderful job!
     
    Have a good evening.

  5. Sue says:

    That is too funny!  Don\’t you just love what comes out of their mouths?  It\’s great they get to experience some things, so they know there is a big wide world out there waiting for them!  Kudos to you AGAIN!
     
    : ) Sue

  6. Renee says:

    A push button transmission is where instead of a stick that shifts from reverse to drive or neutral it had little buttons beside the letters …it was so cool …but i could never find parts for it so I sold it to a guy…
     
    renee

  7. Toni says:

      toooo cute! i love that you guys take these kids to places that they are not used to going or perhaps have never been before.
      let me explain about the slippers–they look like real shoes on the outside (like clogs or something) and have a hard sole, but are so fluffy and cozy on the inside…i wore them a few times this past winter with some jeans that pretty much covered them anyway–no one could tell, i\’m sure. do i still get minus fashion points? 🙂

  8. Dennis says:

    Bless their hearts.  What a cute story.  I thought the Olive Garden did have pizza on the menu.  What do I know.  I always order soup and salad…..yummmmm.
     
    Thanks for stopping by and checking on me.  Obviously I do read my comments.  You are an absolute Dawl yourself.  Your friendship is priceless to me.  Thank you from the bottom of my heart, KM.
     
    EZ

  9. LH says:

    You know as much as I never thought I had the patience to teach it must be so rewarding.  Sometimes I think that is what I\’m missing in life, something rewarding as a career.

  10. Antonella says:

    That\’s nice that you got to take the kids out. I\’m sorry but I hate the Olive Garden though!! Did any of the kids get anything besdies pizza???
     
    I was a free lunch kid when I was in public school! I hope that they have better food in your school than they did at mine. I wonder if the kinds of food they serve varies from state to state?? I don\’t know, just going off on my own little tangent!

  11. Honor says:

    I\’m not sure how I found my way here (marathon blog-hopping is to blame), but I\’ve sure enjoyed myself. You\’ve got a wonderful perspective, and a great writing style.
     
    Oh, an Olive Garden trip sounds wonderful! We recently had a penny drive to benefit a cancer research foundation, and the top penny-collectors had their photos taken while sitting in the principal\’s convertible – they were SO excited.
     
    I\’ll surely be back to visit. Have a great night and a Happy Wednesday.
     
    Honor

  12. Honor says:

    I\’m not sure how I found my way here (marathon blog-hopping is to blame), but I\’ve sure enjoyed myself. You\’ve got a wonderful perspective, and a great writing style.
     
    Oh, an Olive Garden trip sounds wonderful! We recently had a penny drive to benefit a cancer research foundation, and the top penny-collectors had their photos taken while sitting in the principal\’s convertible – they were SO excited.
     
    I\’ll surely be back to visit. Have a great night and a Happy Wednesday.
     
    Honor

  13. Karen says:

    I was a free-luncher myself in school, but the schools I attended weren\’t in such poverty-stricken areas, so it was embarassing to me at the time.  I remember going to dinner with my best friend\’s family when we first became friends… I was always nervous about ordering, too, and usually just ordered whatever she or her mom ordered. 
     
    I hope the kids had a good time.

  14. WINDOW LIVE says:

    Well my kids don\’t come from a poor family and they are far from gifted but they are weirdos that eat plain pasta. Just butter and cheese so they agree with that young man.  Good story.  I love kids and wish I had become a teacher so I love to read your blogs.

  15. Unknown says:

    Dear KM:
     
    The answer is no, I don\’t think I will get tired of HIM. We\’re some how connected in this odd cosmic way, unlike any other relationship I\’ve ever been involved in. We do have the little growth pains now and then…we have not been together long but I feel I\’ve known HIM forever and two life times ago.
     
    The only thing that is constant is change…I keep reminding myself.
     
    Hugs,
    Mercy

  16. Nadine says:

    How sad…but the Garden does have pizza. Very good pizza in fact. I think though it is a good thing to expose the kids to things that they are unfamiliar with and much better than packin\’ them up and headin\’ for the Mazzio\’s. Just as they need to read GOOD books, they need to experience other things too.
     Maybe in the future a little schoolin\’ about the menu to the next outing.
     We had an Ag teacher that took the students that won contests to a very fancy resturant. It had cocktail waiteresses in short dresses frilly rumba panties……and the meal was too die for…..he would school us before we went it and made us DumbAss Okie girls feel like we belonged in a place with tableclothes and candles. Something I will never fortget!!
     
    Does that make sense?? Was it too ramblin\’?? You know me….I am about as deep as a shot glass!
     
     and now to the comment on the officer\’s wives\’ thingy……Do what you want and don\’t let any one tell you what you should do….you get such enjoyment from being a teacher. And you do it well. There is such a debate about which is better to be a stay at home mom or a breadwinner………folks do what makes you happy! Neither is wrong. If you are happy and your family is happy…Go with it!! Hang the rest!!
     
    Okay I will get down off my soap box……Have a great day!!
     
     
     

  17. K says:

    That is just awesome!  I love these stories… it reminds me of how much I do take for granted… and need to be reminded of where I come from… much like these kids…
     
    I love the Olive Garden… they closed so many of them here in Canada about 10 yrs ago… so I think the closest one is in Toronto… so I\’ll wait and eat there with Papi…
     
    Have a blessed day wonderful teacher… you may teach kids… but you teach me as well… Bless you for that!
     
    Ciao bella
    KC

  18. Vermont says:

    That is really funny.  So what did the kids end up eating?  DO TELL!

  19. Gina says:

    Well I think its great that they were exposed to some new foods.  I hope they found a new favorite dish.  (Manicotti with a Biscotti for dessert?)

  20. Unknown says:

    That is so nice of your school to do that for these kids. Olive Garden is great! 🙂

  21. Laura says:

    "this Italian stuff is confusing" LMAO
    I feel the same way in that place (Olive Garden). I am not really into heavy Italian pasta, and everything sounds the same. I agree with the pizza sounding like a great dinner!

  22. wendy says:

    Hi again. I just wanted to tell you that my kids have been to the Olive Garden more than once but they still  ask if we can just go somewhere and get pizza. 🙂
     
    Also, I enjoyed your blog where you state that you like working…most of the things you said, I totally agree with. I was recently tellingi someone that I couldn\’t wait until school was out for summer, no more packing lunches, forgetting homework, etc and they looked at me like I was crazy. I don\’t have to stay home all day with the kids while they are on summer break so I enjoy the benefits of it.
     
    Also, thanks for stopping by my space!

  23. Alicia says:

    LMAO!!  Yes, they are TOO funnY!!   🙂
     
    HUGS!!

  24. Tracy says:

    Ha! That is funny – go figure the school tries to take them someplace nice like Olive Garden – when really they\’d probably prefer to just go to McD\’s!! 

  25. PeaceHopeJoy says:

    Awwww what a nice treat for those kids!  I\’m sure it\’s something they\’ll always remember.  Heck, I remember when my 2nd grade teacher took me and a friend to McDonald\’s for a reward for something!  She was the best teacher EVER!!! 
     
    By the way….I\’m back now in case you missed me LOL  My computer died, but it\’s working – for NOW. 
     
    Any recent baby news from your friends??  Did your one friend have her baby?  Didn\’t  you have a friend that was pregnant and due recently?
     
    I have had 2 friends have babies – both in April, one of which I hosted a baby shower for.  I\’m doing another baby shower for another friend who is due at the end of June.  My sister in law is due at the beginning of July.
     
    Babies all around!
    God bless!

  26. Unknown says:

    So cute! I miss being around kids on a daily basis!

Leave a Reply

