More whip cream

What she wore: flouncy yellow skirt with white and red stripes; white short-sleeve tee; yellow slides with a white bow and a kitten heel.  The kids really liked the skirt.

Well, yesterday was serious, and to be completely honest I’ve got a lot of crap going on at work which I know will eventually make it to the internet, but in the meantime I think we could all use something entertaining. 
 
When you’re in a sorority, girls will share their bizarre ideas about fashion’s "rules."  Some of them I’d heard before, some I’ve never heard since, and all of them are at least a little silly.  I mean, who cares when you wear white?  Not me!
 
  1. No white below the waist between labor day and Easter (northerners say Memorial day, but here in the south we want to bust out those white shoes on Easter Sunday).
  2. Velvet is only to be worn from Thanksgiving to Easter
  3. Open-toed shoes only when it’s warm or after six.
  4. Never wear open-toed shoes with bare toe nails!
  5. Your jewelry should always "match"–gold with gold and silver with silver.   Wedding and class rings are exempt.
  6. When trying to decide if you can wear a pair of shoes–if darker than your hemline, it’s OK, if not, then skip ’em.
  7. Can black shoes be worn with a navy blue outfit?  Yes, but don’t wear a navy blue shirt with a a pair of black pants.

And I’m going to weigh-in with my own personal opinion on colored panty hose.  A lot of women think black skirt, black shoes, black hose OR navy skirt, navy shoes, navy hose.   This is terrible.  Colored panty hose make most people’s legs look horrible.  Go with what make you look good, and blue legs just make you look like a smurf.

 

Take any "rule" with a grain of salt–if you like, wear it!  Personal style is one of the most stylish options of all.

 

KM

About takedeux

In one summer I had a baby who was hospitalized for five weeks, quit my job, and moved back to my hometown. This blog is about starting over.
This entry was posted in Fashion. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to More whip cream

  1. Jaysey says:

    Colored hose–definite no-no!

  2. Dennis says:

    Damn!  Now no colored hose?  first no black jeans and now this?  And where is the whipped cream you lured me in here with?  Such a tease!
     
    About Technorati – it is a site where registered users can see the sites that are linked to their blogs.
     
    I don\’t care what anyone says, I AM NOT PAINTING MY TOES WHEN I WEAR SANDALS!!!!!
     
    EZ

  3. Sheryl-Ann says:

    Hey KM!  White shoes are always a no no for me…….I just don\’t like white shoes at any time of the year.  The jewelry must match for me, and I try never to wear panty hose at all (laugh)!  Also, polished toe nails are so cute in a pair of nice sandals……..yes girls (and guys), it\’s summer so get a pedicure (smile).

  4. WINDOW LIVE says:

    These are some seriously outdated southern rules.  I know I grew up on these. LOL!  You have a great day…you DESERVE it!

  5. Nora says:

    Man I may have been breaking all of those.
     
    I am such a fashion dimwit.
     
    ; )
     
    Nora
     
    I think EZ needs to expand his horizons,  Don\’t you think Electric Blue would be great?  Maybe with some white racing stripes? He\’d have the coolest toes in sales.

  6. Alicia says:

    I like black nylons…but that\’s as brave as I get…and I NEVER paint my toes!  You Southerners are a bit strict with your fashion regime, aren\’t you???
     
    HUGS!!  🙂

  7. Siobhan says:

    1.        You can wear white anytime you want.  That fashion faux-pas is a faux-pas.  Ignore it.
    2.        I say if you have velvet, wear it.  I\’d be more inclined to wear cashmere, but as of right now, I don\’t have any of that either.
    3.        Wear opened-toed shoes any time, any weather.  How cares if it rains?  There\’s nothing wrong with being stylish.
    4.        I only have nail polish on my toes when I can be bothered to make the effort to paint them. 
    5.        I\’d generally match my jewellery.  It should complement your outfit and your skin tone.
    6.        Wear shoes if they look great with your outfit.  According to "What Not to Wear\’ on TLC, shoes don\’t have to match an outfit completely, they can complement and be a different, contrasting colour.  Nothing wrong with variety.
    7.        I prefer nude nylons personally.  Or none.

  8. Unknown says:

    Fd7fey xmgfh7 wow gold wow gold mygamestock wow gold wow gold wow gold mygamestock 股票软件 股票软件 FX FX 黑马股 黑马股 胶体磨 胶体磨 上海水泵 上海水泵 真空泵 真空泵 东方医院 东方医院 wow power leveling wow power leveling wow gold wow gold wow gold wow gold wow gold wow gold wow gold wow gold wow gold wow gold wow gold wow gold wow gold wow gold 黑马股 胶体磨 上海水泵 真空泵 东方医院

  9. Unknown says:

    Warcraft game like this to (World of Warcraft gold) and (wow gold)! Price concessions, credibility is also good!

  10. Unknown says:

    To the global wow gold the cheapest wow power leveling under the cheapest single-site! -40579804080501

Leave a Reply

