Peace in the Storm

What she wore: jean capris and a t-shirt that reads, "make levees, not war."  No, I didn’t go to work.

In the midst of my recent turmoil I started to develop a stomach ache.  This morning it was unbearable.  I called in sick to work and took my butt over to the base doc and waited.  He examines me, asks about my symptoms, asks a few other questions about life in general, and then announces, "you’re stressed out."   I know I’m stressed, but what wrong with my stomach? 
 
Apparently the doctor thinks I’m internalizing my stress.  He asked me what I do for fun and I didn’t have an answer.  Crap, I take things to seriously. 
 
He gave me a bevy of pills and recommendations and wants to see me again in three weeks.  I’m not sure what I’m going to do, but it’s nice to have someone validate that my life has been stressful.  Sometimes I get so concerned with being strong that I forget that I need to B-R-E-A-T-H-E (that was for you Bobina1).
 
So, I’ll be trying to get myself out there a little bit.  This may slow down my blogging a bit, but I’m not going anywhere–this is my free therapy.  I’d like to say thanks to everyone for the kind words you have left here. 
 
And the next time I blog, I’ve got a good one.
 
KM
About takedeux

In one summer I had a baby who was hospitalized for five weeks, quit my job, and moved back to my hometown. This blog is about starting over.
This entry was posted in Daily Minutae. Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Peace in the Storm

  1. Toni says:

    no! no blogging breaks for you whatsoever!
    hope the doc helped and you start to feel less and less stressed by the minute–takes a strong person to be in the field you\’re in–i know i would\’ve shot myself LONG before calling in sick. geez. guess i\’m stuck reading "some of my better blogs" lol. need to get the low down on your site anyway. feel better and write soon–toni

  2. Toni says:

    and p.s.–did read through "some of your better B…" (they are all good anyway) YOU ARE AN AMAZING TEACHER. don\’t let a couple bad incidents get to you!

  3. Betty says:

    Hi KM,
    Only time gives me perspective.  Take care of your health.
    Betty

  4. Karen says:

    Take care of yourself.  I am one to internalize my stress as well… and it sure doesn\’t do a body good.  God bless!

  5. Antonella says:

    You can DRIVE to NY! You don\’t have to fly here! I\’m sure you\’d have a blast shopping!
     
    Maybe you should take some yoga or Tai CHi classes. I hope you are feeling better,
    Antonella

  6. wendy says:

    Katy, I am sorry that you are so stressed! I will keep you in  my prayers and I can\’t wait to read your next blog. You are a great teacher. Keep up the good work.
     

  7. Nadine says:

    Take your time!!!! You know where to find us! My dr suggested that I have massages……..OH YEA!!!! what great therapy!!!

  8. Sheryl-Ann says:

    Hey KM, I hope you feel better soon. You do need to do something (apart from your blog) to de-stress after a hard day at work. Your job is not easy and at the end of the day, you need to unwind and totally relax.  I know easier said than done, but you need to take your health very seriously.  Massage therapy sounds very good, as well as yoga or something like that.  Whatever you enjoy doing would help except staying indoors and over-thinking your day.
     
    I\’m off to the islands on Sunday – you are welcome to come along. If a week down there doesn\’t get rid of your stress, nothing will (smile)! Seriously, though, do take care.  You are a great teacher!

  9. Nooner™ says:

    Hi KM,
     
    You are in the top 10 of people I particularly admire here on spaces, so I\’m hurting just thinking of you being down in the dumps! I like Velvet Tush\’s idea of massages for de-stressing .. go for it .. get one soon! You deserve it, ya know. It won\’t be long before the school year is out .. and hubby is home .. so hang in there!! And by all means, do less blogging if other activities can be substituted so you unwind and get back to being 100%.
     
    Nooner

  10. Unknown says:

    Hey girlie, I\’ve slowed down as well…besides summer is coming!! I\’ve been a busy bee lately I\’m sure it will get more and more frantic as summer goes on….I will try to keep up w/ my space. I\’m READY for camping…and festivals!
     
    Take care and keep that stress down, you know I meditate it keeps my stress @ a minor level most of the time…
     
    hugs,
    Mercy

  11. Gina says:

    Enjoy some your ME TIME, massages as VT said, maybe frequent manicures and pedicures, walks, breathing, yoga…all that great stuff.  Take care of yourself. 
     
    Feeel better!

  12. Jennifer says:

    the stress will get you every time.  i know from personal experience. 
     
    my prescription?  some intensive retail therapy with a best friend, cinnabons or any decadent pastry of your choice and an old b&w movie (might i suggest "the women" with norma shearer and joan crawford and friends). 
     
    this is the next best thing to lovin\’ from the husband!
     
     

  13. Laura says:

    Oh Katy, I hope you are feeling better. I couldn\’t believe you didn\’t have an answer for what you do for fun. That is pretty bad. Go out there and have a great time! Can\’t wait to see what you have for us when you get back!

  14. Sue says:

    Get out there and have a little fun!  You are too young.  You have plenty of time to bottle up that stress and develop an ulcer. 
     
    Have a great weekend Katy!
     
    : )   Sue

  15. Carly says:

    Katy,

    I have been reading your blog for about a little while. I am a teaching
    major, and I found your site on MSN\’s featured spaces. I read your
    whole blog one day because I just couldn\’t stop reading. You are so
    funny! And, you are the only other person I have ever heard of that
    does little math games when they look at the time on clocks. I do it
    too, and everyone thinks I am crazy!

    Anyway, I read your other entry before you deleted it. I know you feel
    bad, but you really did not do anything wrong. But, it\’s always easier
    for other people to say that. You can\’t help it if you feel bad, you
    just need some time. I just wanted you to know though, that you have
    really inspired me. When I stumbled upon your blog, I was really
    wondering whether I wanted to go into this crazy profession. I was
    seriously considering a change in majors. But, your sense of humor and
    your love of teaching really made me remember why I started this whole
    thing in the first place. I just wanted to say thanks for that. I hope
    you start feeling better soon!

    -Carly

  16. Elizabeth says:

    Wow! I\’ve missed tons. And at least one round of hugs to offer. *hugs*
    The other night I got so PISSED at my husband. I chose to run it off. Grabbed the dog and went down to the river. I hope you find an outlet for your stress. I hear macrame is very popular. 😉

  17. Tracy says:

    Take care of yourself! I hope you get to do something nice to pamper yourself!  I will miss you if you take a break from blogging, but I will understand! 🙂

  18. Big Dog Mom says:

    My doc always said stress finds it\’s own way out.  Mine found it\’s way in migraines and gastritis.  Let me tell you, gastritis is not a fun way to deal with stress.  Go window shopping, get a pedicure, eat chocolate, go to a movie.  Get out and do something for yourself!! 
     
    P.S. I love your blog – especially the "what she wore" part.

  19. Betsy says:

    Are you sure the doc didn\’t say the best thing for your stress is an afternoon of power shopping!!!

  20. Cheryl says:

    Well after i read this I visited your list of goals.  Type A personalities don\’t last real long.  So I hope you can slow down and un stress.  Take care….

  21. K says:

    Katy… hun… please please please find some time to BREATHE!!!  It is sooo important to reconnect with the self… to choose our battles and let go of the unimportant.  You have so much on your plate that I can imagine it being very difficult to do at times…
     
    Sometimes I find getting outside… going to walks in the woods or on the trials… reconnect with nature… is soooo calming and helps me come back to my center…. walking in water (it might be a bit too cold for that just yet but …) or listening to the waves of a lake or river or ocean does the trick….  But please find something that is just for you… so you can BREATHE…. internalizing stress is soooo toxic!  Trust me I know that all to well… !
     
    I missed you while I was away and apparently I got a lot of reading and catching up to do all over the place!  More to come shortly… but please take good care of your health…. without it… there isn\’t a YOU.
     
    Ciao bella,
    KC

Leave a Reply

