A good one

What she wore: long narrow shorts that went right past my knees in a black and white gingham check; black and white gingham check shoes; black short-sleeve tee.  I’ve had the shoes for years and I’m always buying things in black and white gingham to tie them in.

A few moments of randomness:
 
A couple of people have asked me about fashion terms that I use.  I think I’m goign to develop a fashion dictionary on one of my sidebars
 
Thanks to all of you out there for the kind words and support.  I’ll be stopping by from now and through the weekend.
 
The tribe has spoken–I’m going to try one of those message thingys.  We’ll see how that goes–relaxation isn’t one of my strong suites.  I’m also going to a fish-fry tomorrow which will get me out of the house!
 
 
And now for that good one I promised:
 
The kids at my school come from limited means.  During one of the numerous in-services I went to on this kind of child, these kids were described as "resourceful."  This is an interesting way of putting this.
 
One day the keys to my desk went missing.  This isn’t really that unusual, but I wanted to go home and my purse was firmly locked in my desk.   I searched high and low, and my keys were no where to be found.  I questioned people, and no one had seen them.  Finally, one of the other teachers says to me, "go ask Kobe–he told me once he could break into anything."  Well. . .there’s an idea. . .  
 
I go down to a student athlete meeting and pull Kobe out.   "I heard you can break into anything," I say
"I didn’t break into anything," he replies
"No, I WANT you to break into my desk–my purse is locked inside" 
"Let’s go." He gets a gleam in his eyes as he heads upstairs.
 
Once upstairs, I give him a paperclip, show him the desk, and tell him, "I’m going to the rest room–I’ll be right back"  
 
When I come back from the rest room, the drawer is unlocked and Kobe was nowhere in sight.  I couldnt’ have been gone longer than three minutes.
 
Now that’s what I call resouceful!
 
KM
 
PS: And here’s a little trivia for you–whenever I write about my students, I change their names, but always pick something that I think has the same "style"  I’d love for you to guess what the student’s real name is.  The mominator is in the ballpark!  Maybe instead of "style" I should have said category.
About takedeux

In one summer I had a baby who was hospitalized for five weeks, quit my job, and moved back to my hometown. This blog is about starting over.
This entry was posted in Teaching. Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to A good one

  1. Unknown says:

    Jacob?
     
    Couldn\’t resist guessing…
     
    Hugs, Mercy

  2. Sue says:

    I hear Kobe and I think Bryant!  Sheesh!  That is funny.  Don\’t they love it when they can help!  Glad to hear you have something to do this weekend.  I think I need to get out too.  This week I should have canned from the start.
     
    : )  Sue

  3. Sue says:

    games girl, playing these games!  I can\’t remember his name now. style, arkansas, movie, I don\’t want to give it away, but I\’m pretty sure I know where you\’re headed on this one.  Let me know if I\’m right.  I just can\’t remember his name.  Dang, now I\’ll have to google it.

  4. Dennis says:

    Well isnt that a different story?  how cool that he was able to use his skilz to help you.
     
    Kobe……hmmmm????? It could be Jodie… it could be Doobie … like the muical brutha\’s …Maybe it is as simple as Robbie.  Oh who the hell knows?
     
    EZ

  5. tassietoo says:

    Came by to see if you are feeling better!  I wish I had a job that I could wear all my "real" clothes!  Then I could come to you with my fashion questions.  😀

  6. Karen says:

    No idea on the name… I\’m glad you like my rock woman, I guess she\’s supposed to be me (after all, the child thinks I\’m 60, which is even older than my own mother)… CHILDREN!! 
     
    I hope all\’s well & you have a refreshing, stress-free weekend… it\’s almost here!
     
    God bless & take care.
     
    ~Karen~

  7. Sheryl-Ann says:

    I was going to say Bryant but Sue got in there before me.  Is that it?  Did you eventually find the key? 
     
    I do get a little break (see blog entry) but I am feeling a little guilty since I do have tons of research to work on.  Anyway, I will just be gone for 2 weeks, and after that I think I will stay put and work non-stop until I go to a conference in Salt Lake City in October.  I love to travel and I get kind of restless when I stay in the Lone Star State for too long (smile).  However, I must work very hard this summer if I am to graduate next summer (sigh).  Take care.

  8. Nikki says:

    Shoot! I was gonna say Bryant as well……

  9. Toni says:

    my first guess was bryant. i got no other ideas. this was a good story–your students are indeed "resourceful" that\’s too funny. when does your husband get back? maybe all you need is a massage from him…
    you take it easy, hear? and have a nice weekend! toni

  10. Antonella says:

    Since the mominator is in the ball park, I\’ll say Brian!! I hope am right!
     
    Can\’t wait for the fashion dictionary, that\’s such a good idea!
     
    You should definately come to NY, as you can see I\’m very pro-NY, I love it here and I think you would too!!
     
    Antonella

  11. Unknown says:

    Bobby? Bobie…LOL
     
     I loved this post.

  12. Korku says:

    Cool Space!!!!
    Check Out Mine!!!!!

  13. Unknown says:

    Resourcefulness has its privileges!! 
     
    Great post!  Have a great weekend!
     
    ~Ashlie

  14. lori says:

    ummm … Moby ???
     
    A fellow I work with locked his keys in the work truck .. two other coworkers were \’resourceful\’ enough with a coat hanger to get it open for him  😉
     
    Lula

  15. wendy says:

    I absolutely love your tales from school! Those kids are lucky to have you as a teacher.
     
    As for the name thing….I have no clue.
     
    Have you ever tried scrapbooking to relax? I absolutely love it.
    I am not only addicted to AI, I am addicted to scrapbooking. I think that is what I am going to occupy my time with once Idol is over.
     
    TGIF!!
     

  16. Betsy says:

    That\’s a great one.  I love how his first response was I didn\’t break into anything!
     
    My mom was a school social worker at a school with a large portion of kids from the local indian reservation.  Some of her stories are a lot like yours.
     
    Have a nice, relaxing weekend!

  17. Unknown says:

    Ah Ms. Fashioneeeesta, panties wrong side round? For heavens sakes girl you\’ll see the seam through everything!!!! AND WE just CAN\’T have that! (done with pointer finger doing the naughty waggle)
     
    Have a great weekend!!
     
    Mercy xo

  18. Gina says:

    Shaq?
     

  19. Alicia says:

    Basketball???  hehehhe
     
    HUGS!!   🙂

  20. Jaysey says:

    I\’m not so good with the basketball.  That was a really cute story.  You have so many!

  21. Laura says:

    No idea on the name. That is so funny he was able to help you out… using his \’abilities\’ for the better good! That is great! I do see you are feeling much better, and I am glad to see it! Have fun at the fish fry (that is sooo Southern!)

  22. russ says:

    Lebron?

  23. Nadine says:

    My guess is Bryant or Bryan.

  24. Tracy says:

    Ha, that is funny, I bet the kid loved that you asked him to do that!!!  Hope you have a great weekend!

  25. Elizabeth says:

    Yes, I\’d say that\’s certainly resourceful! I could have used him when I locked my keys in the car…with it running. Long story. It ended, thankfully, before the car ran out of gas.

  26. Unknown says:

    Hope yer feeling better. Good thing personal fashion sense rules cuz I break about all those fashion rules listed : P
    Have a great mothers day weekend : ) hugs kat

Leave a Reply

