Short and Sweet

Knee-length white skirt with pink stitching; pink polo with cap sleeves, pink leather thong sandals.  No comments.

You guys know I’m taking it slow, but I couldn’t resist putting this one up and I’ll be around to visit everyone’s space in the next 24 hours or so.
 
Today I went to the fish fry which was held at a Methodist church across the river.  The K’s invited me–they go every year and I think they realized I needed to get out of the house. 
 
So we’re standing at the doorway of the chuch hall and I’m talking to the K’s four-year-old daughter, and I guess she got a glimpse of the ring in my navel.   Well, she reaches out her hand and yanks up my shirt exclaiming, "whatcha got there?"  essentially flashing my bra to all the lovely church goers eating their fried fish.  I. About. Died.   My face still may be red.
 
But the fish was really good.  And so were the hush puppies.  And the beans.  And the cake.  Hell, it was all good, and I’m about to pop.
 
Enjoy this special weekend.
 
KM
 
PS: Someone got the name game right.  I won’t say exactly who, but I’ll say that he has a tail:)
About takedeux

In one summer I had a baby who was hospitalized for five weeks, quit my job, and moved back to my hometown. This blog is about starting over.
This entry was posted in Daily Minutae. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Short and Sweet

  1. Sue says:

    Glad you had a good time.  And now, no one will forget you!  that is too funny.  Will be laying mulch all day tomorrow and will post pics of my hard labor prob on Sunday.  BTW, I can\’t believe what some people name their children.  Sheesh.  Poor kid.  I hope he\’s taller than 5\’10 when he\’s older.  SD had one patient who named her daughter Placenta because she thought it was a beautiful word. Poor thang.  Anyway, I hope you have a good weekend!
    Sue  : )

  2. russ says:

    Showing your bra at church is definitely one way to be remembered!
     
    A navel ring and lots of eating cannot be a good combo…
     
    Have an awesome weekend!
    Russ

  3. Laura says:

    I agree with Russ… I am imagining a turkey thermometer gone wrong. It just pops right off! That would make a lasting impression!
    I can\’t believe she did that. Hopefully not everyone saw this going on. I am sure it (hopefully) didn\’t last as long as you imagined it. You know how things go in slow motion when something is going wrong!
    Glad you had some great food! Hopefully it helped you relax some… at least you will slepp well with that satisfied belly!

  4. Laura says:

    Oh, and I am pretty sure I get what you are saying now (about his name)…. And Sue, I did see that movie \’he\’ was in! Something along the lines of Abra-kadabra…
    🙂

  5. Nadine says:

     Too funny!! I just hope it was your best bra! I think that should a rule….you should always have on clean undies for that wreck that never happens and a good bra for when some kid whips up your blouse…..That will happen!!

  6. Elizabeth says:

    Sounds like she gotcha by hook, line and sinker! LOL  :")
     

  7. Sheryl-Ann says:

    Now we didn\’t expect something like this when you said that you would start to leave the house!  This is so funny – leave it up to a kid to show off your underwear (smile)!
     
    Glad you enjoyed the fish fry!  Will blog about the wedding later.  Enjoy the weekend.

  8. Betsy says:

    Love the story, love hush puppies ( which you can\’t get all that often in MN) and I just noticed you\’re down to 2 weeks until hubby\’s home!
     
     
     

  9. Tracy says:

    LOL, well at least it was good food!! Hope you are feeling better!!

  10. Unknown says:

    And you had no IDEA you\’d be providing the entertainment??? 😉
    Glad you had a good time!
     
    ~Ashlie

  11. Hollie says:

    First Too funny about the bra! THAT is something Roo would Do!
     
    Sounds like that you need major CHILL time! When does summer vacation start down there? Here we have 6 weeks of school left. YEAH!
     
    You know a great stress reliver for ME is prayer, I put on my favorite christian songs and just talk to HIM…I find it helps me to get it out of my system or I too internalize things and get awful stomach aches too, so I know what you mean.
     
    By the way how is the base doc down there? I simply hated the base docs at Fort Hood…yuck! Ended up getting a doc off base thank goodness in my case.

  12. William says:

    Whack um on the head w/a newpapers……….slow em down next time……………………got a friend who sells rings at gatherings. fairs, country of course, and markets…………..could not believe how many women….umm…who are pierced………only ting I know is it must hurt like heck………….& btw………for fashion rules…..here its no whites………shoes……jackets……..hats till after Easter…
    Later
    Bill………….

  13. Dennis says:

    Flashing your bra in Church???? Lawd no, child!!!!  The food sounds like it was to die for.  I bet you went home and slip into something nice and big.
     
    EZ

  14. Gina says:

    Well, if teaching doesn\’t work out, at least you have a back up.  J/K! 
     
    So someone with a tail guessed right? hmm…

Leave a Reply

