Tags and More

What she Wore: brown v-neck sleeveless top with crochet around the neckline; khaki capris; brown strappy steve madded slides.  White undershirt.  The girls all loved the shirt.

First I’d like to say that yesterday’s blog generated all sorts of interesting comments and I loved how involved everyone got.  If you missed it, the comments were interesting and well worth a read.  Second, if you don’t like a sappy blog please ignore today–it’s that time of year.
 
 
Teaching is my first profession and I’m well aware of the statistics regarding it.  People drop out like flies in the first couple of years, and there’s a teacher shortage in general.  I was a girl that people told, "you can do anything," and I never thought that my "anything" would be teaching.  I picked the degree as a safety net and ended up loving it. 
 
For this reason (and because I’m an over-thinker), I often question my career.  Is this the right place for me?  Am I fully utilizing the gifts that God gave me?  Am I any good at this?  People can offer words of advice, and encouragement, but few are ever in your classroom and walking in your shoes. 
 
One glaring exception is Mr. K–he and I work closely together developing curriculum, trying new techniques, and sometimes putting our heads down and sighing with frustration.  He’s a new teacher and that’s enabled us to work together without one of us having to get over the crotchety factor (If you don’t know what I’m talking about, think about that teacher you had who’d been doing it for a hundred years–not a lot of flexibilty there).  He is one of the few people who’s sees me in action on a daily basis.   I value his opinion immensely. 
 
Recently, I was having a "where do I go next crisis?"  I work in special education which can be a waste-land for educators.  There’s tons of paperwork, people dislike you for what you HAVE to do, people are often hired out of desperation, and my students are the MOST likely to drop out.   I love my kids, but the job can be tough.  I was wondering if I should stick with this, or pursue my original plan of becoming an English teacher.  Or should I just do something else entirely?  Mr. K listened to me ramble through the whole thing and said, "you should stay in the classroom."  He also said, "you are a good special ed teacher."  These words are incredible validating. 
 
So what does this have to do with getting tagged by Ashlie?  Well, here’s what’s in my purse today (please hang in there).
 
  1. School keys and I.D.
  2. Car Keys
  3. Pouch with money, cards, etc.
  4. pens
  5. receipts
  6. program from church with bible verses scribbled on it
  7. breath mints (I breathe in people’s faces all day long)
  8. A note from Mr. K which reads as follows:

Katy,

   I know in advance that these words won’t be able to capture my appreciation for what you’ve been for me this year.  In the beginning I relied on you for expeience and encouragment, and your generosity with these helped me when I doubted myself the most. 

    As I told the students, there can only be one "first," and no matter how many teams or co-teachers I am priviledged to work with over my career, you will always be the one who helped me begin successfully. 

     When I first learned I had been accepted to teach at _______, my wife and I prayed for God to place me with people and in a situation where I could accomplish His goals.  I have no doubt that you have been a blessing from God and an answer to prayer for me, and I offer heartfelt thanks.

 

Mr. K

 

Damnit if I don’t want to cry just typing the thing.  How’d I’d get so lucky to work with such nice people?

 

KM

 

About takedeux

In one summer I had a baby who was hospitalized for five weeks, quit my job, and moved back to my hometown. This blog is about starting over.
This entry was posted in Teaching. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Tags and More

  1. Toni says:

    God puts people in the right places at the right time–Mr. K to you and you to Mr. K seem like living proof of that. Now, are you off for the summer?~toni

  2. Unknown says:

    Way to go Mr. K!!!!  What an awesome validation! 
    I have no doubt that what you do, you do very well!!  These kids are going to remember your caring heart ! 
     
    ~Ashlie

  3. Jaysey says:

    Every now and then, you get one of those "moments," and that why you keep doing it.  I only wish they came more frequently as reminders…

  4. Dennis says:

    You rock, Mr. K!!!!  And he nailed with this note to you.  You made me choke up too.
     
    EZ

  5. Dennis says:

    No feedback from my comment yesterday after dragging me over to read it?  You know how I thrive on feedback……harrruuummmppphhh!
     
    EZ

  6. Antonella says:

    That is so sweet of him!!! I think I would cry if someone wrote something like that to me too!!!
     
    Antonella
    PS- a bra and panty…maybe!

  7. K says:

    WOW… that was incredibly validating and talk about a SIGN of what you are supposed to be doing with your life.
     
    That was incredible and heartfelt… it even made me feel much better about decisions that I am making.
     
    I will never look at that Meme the same again.
     
    Ciao bella,
    KC

  8. Laura says:

    Awe, you had me teary eyed!
    I think you already answered yourself a long time ago (about what you should do). Do you need a refreshing? Ok, here you go:
     
    "If you want to hear God laugh, tell him your plans"

  9. . says:

    I wish I worked with people who were that nice! That is a beautiful and wonderful note! Keep it forever when you are feeling crappy as a reminder of how you are appreciated.
     
    aak

  10. Unknown says:

    Alright, now I just have to see his tushie. Well WE just HAVE to know if it\’s as sweet as him.
     
    hahahahahaa!!!!!
     
    Oh my…have I ruined the mood?
     
    What a sweet letter, see you are appreciated!
     
    Psssst 4 days…I\’m getting chills now when I log in your blog and see single digits! YAY YAY YAY!
     
    I still have a cold…I told Jess my snot is now lime green, ew! Thank GOODNESS for HIM being over last night or I wouldn\’t have made it. I had teen crap-o-la last night…I\’ll be glad when he\’s in college!
     
    Hugs…I\’ll sure be thinking about you on Sunday!
    Mercy

  11. Dena Marie says:

    I missed the "Nekkid Pictures" entry, so I\’m responding to that here. First off, you know I\’d do it… if not just for the sake of writing about it later. 😉
     
    Secondly, I think it\’s a good idea as a "record of hotness" as well as self-expression. However, I would want mine to be tasteful and art-worthy. In fact, I had a photographer-friend in grad school who was going to do some for me (note the trust factor here); but I kept putting it off until I looked "hotter"… shrug…
     
    –DM

  12. Nadine says:

    I love the lil gal photo!
     
     I knew you were doing a great job! It is always nice to hear it! Mr K sounds like a really nice guy.
     
     Woo Hoo 4 more days!!!

  13. Darcy says:

    That is a really beautiful note that he gave you… hold on to it!  So often in life we forget to tell people thank you…
    4 more days!  Are you two doing anything special when he gets home?  Vacation?  Weekend away?  Hibernating?
    D

  14. Alicia says:

    Mr K is a KEEPER!!  What a sweet guy!
     
    HUGS!!  🙂

  15. Cheryl says:

    That was a very nice letter and I am glad you will remain in the classroom.  You are right….many leave.  If you left direct contact with students, it would be a real loss.  Thanks for being a teacher.  We need many more like you.
     
    Cheryl

  16. Tracy says:

    Aww, how nice of him!! Good for you, you should be proud of yourself!! Isn\’t it great how people can make your day?  From reading on here, it sounds like you are a GREAT teacher and should stay doing it as long as you enjoy it!! 

  17. Sandra says:

    what a wonderful man he must be to write a note like that .
    with  you  & mr K  those kids are getting the love & teaching  that all kids should have .
    *blessings*

  18. Karen says:

    How very sweet!! 

Leave a Reply

