A Personal Question

 
What she Wore: jean capris, black tank with teeny-tiny sequins in gold and silver up on the straps, black and gold leather sandals with a cork wedge heel.  I’ll admit, the shoes are a bit much–and that’s why I like them. 


 

Mr. K and I have been known to get into strange conversations at lunch—you’re trying to avoid talking about “the kids” ad nauseam, and you end up talking about the weirdest stuff.  One of our recent conversations was so weird that it spilled over onto dinner last night with our spouses. 

 

The original conversation started with Mr. K reminiscing about his one-year wedding anniversary which was when he found out that he and his wife were expecting their first child.  Apparently, his wife wrapped up her positive pregnancy test and gave it to him as a present. 

 

Uhhhhhh. . . can you say yuck?

 

So, we’re re-hashing the conversation after dinner last night and I’m making all my yucky faces when Mrs. K breaks an even bigger bombshell, “well, that’s nothin’, I still have the test from Sarah in the bathroom.”  This child is thirteen months old!!!  She’s held on to a pee stick for a year and half, minimum.  She’s had the kid, we know she was preg-o, does she still need that test?  She’s got a child now.

 

I don’t have any kids, so this thing strikes me as kind of gross—you gave someone something you peed on?  Doesn’t that belong in the trash?  Does everybody do this?  Am I just a pregnancy test virgin and don’t understand?  Do tell.   Please let me know your opinion/experience in this area.  It all seems a little weird to me.

 

KM

 

I’m fooling around with sticking my shoe pictures into my blogs–still tweaking, so bear with me.

About takedeux

In one summer I had a baby who was hospitalized for five weeks, quit my job, and moved back to my hometown. This blog is about starting over.
This entry was posted in Random Musings. Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to A Personal Question

  1. KEL says:

    Well speaking as a woman who has had a kid I think the idea of giving the stick as a \’here\’s your sign\’ is kind of sweet exciting etc.  However, I would NEVER do that–its totally gross and I don\’t need to share that much with him.  I think its much more fun to serve a meal with baby carrots, baby corn, little hens, on baby plates to clue him into the expected arrival.

  2. Laura says:

    I think pee on a stick is gross… but I also think that every couple does things that other people may find weird. It is best to keep those \’special\’ things private…  🙂

  3. Antonella says:

    Well, if you get a positive test, you do want to show it to your significant other, but I don\’t know about wrapping it up and saving it. That is a little strange, especially when she has the child!
    Antonella

  4. Karen says:

    I don\’t really know… when I found out I was pregnant, I was happy but didn\’t really want to share the news with the baby\’s father ~ we weren\’t really a "couple" per se and he definitely didn\’t want a child.  I think I threw the thing away immediately!!  It may have been different had I been in a loving relationship.
     
    Anywho, I hope all\’s well with you.  God bless!
     
    ~Karen

  5. Sue says:

    When it comes to my girls, I\’ve been known to save some weird stuff, but prego test?  Nah.  Kinda gross.  Maybe if it\’s sealed permanently in a vacuum seal bag or something, but nope, don\’t think I\’d save that one.
     
    : )  Sue

  6. ACT says:

    Nope wouldn\’t do it!  And I certainly wouldn\’t announce at a dinner with friends that another used one is STILL in the restroom that my guests will be using!  That is just bizarro if you ask me…and I\’m a mom with 3 kids who saves lots of sentimental things.  However, items that fall into the personal hygiene area are not things to be saved.

  7. Della says:

    Yes, Ick.  I think I did show the stick to him, but only because he knew I was taking the test – I showed him about 2 seconds after it came up positive…then I threw it away!  When I told a co- worker that I was pregnant, she brought that up!!  "Did you save the stick?!"  ummm…NO!! She sais she still had both of hers and her kids WERE FIVE AND SEVEN YEARS OLD!!!!!!!!  She put them in their memory boxes.  Nasty, nasty, nasty.  That\’s beyond sentimental and into demented, in my very strong opinion, it seems… 😉

  8. Betty says:

    Hi KM,
    I\’d definitely throw the thing away. 
    So happy your Hub is home and I hope the swelling in your face has gone down.
    I really enjoy reading your space each day.  You have a definite style and the ability to communicate.
    Betty

  9. Elizabeth says:

    Um, I\’m gonna pass on the keeping-the-peed-on-stick-thing.
     

  10. Betsy says:

    I\’d have to agree- that is a little gross.  I\’m in shock over Della\’s comment that she knows someone who put their positive stick in a memory box for the kids.  Your first hair cut, your first shoes, your positive pregnancy test?  No thanks!
     
    Hope you\’re lovin\’ having hubby home!

  11. Unknown says:

    LOL!  It\’s OK as long as she saved baby\’s first booger, first poopie, and recordings of baby\’s first burp.  And really, it\’s too bad she didn\’t scoop up a little of daddy\’s semen on the night baby was conceived.  ;^)

  12. Becca says:

    OMG, I can see sharing it with the dad when you learn you are pregnant, but keeping it for 13 months? Too much! There are other much more appropriate souvenirs, like sonogram pictures!
     
    Rebecca

  13. Sheryl-Ann says:

    I am having a laugh reading the comments from your latest entry. I guess different strokes for different folks (smile). I am not sure that I would keep the pee stick, but my mum still has my umbilical cord and I have been on this earth for a long while……..hope I didn\’t pick up any of her \’keep things til I die\’ genes (smile).  Blessings!

  14. Unknown says:

    I can see it now…
     
    "Little K…this is the pee stick your mommy pee\’d on when you were in her tummy! Happy 20th Birthday!!! We\’ve kept it in the bathroom ALL these years!!!! You can now put it in your scrap book!!! See how much we love you?!?!?!"
     
    OMG I\’m going to pee my panties laughing now!!! Would you like to save those to?!?!?
     
    Mr. K show us your bum!
     
    hahahahahaaaa!
     
    hugs KM….oh my perhaps I\’ve gone over the top on this one…Mr. K will never want to read my comments again I can see it now!
    Mercy

  15. wendy says:

    Ok, I did not keep my pee stick BUT there are these two gals at church who have been friends for a few years now and when the one gal got pregnant with her 3rd child, she put her pee stick in a bracelet box, the kind of box that expensive jewelry comes in….the lid has a spring and you have to like pull the lid open and closed but it stays attached to the bottom half of the box….anyway, she put the pee stick in there and took it church and gave it to the other gal…….so the other gal opens it, starts screaming, grabs the prego gal and they scream and jump up and down….I am still to this day (6 years later) wondering if her husband had the same reaction???? That was just totally weird to me.

  16. Nadine says:

    Yep that is gross!! My ex-sister inlaw save the nasty black thing off hte naval of her first child!!!!
     
     
     I did that once…..open the door on someone at the ZZTop concert…it was woman though. I don\’t understand WHY people can\’t lock the door!!!
     
    I love the shoe idea!!!

  17. Gina says:

    U know, I think Sasha said it best about the pee stick thing.  Def wouldn\’t save that either. 
     
    Glad your hubby is back home with you!  What a completely super-over-the-moon-feeling that must be!  Enjoy ALL your time together!

  18. Mrsbrown2k1 says:

    Okay so I am odd man out here but I still have mine postive test. Why, not sure really.  Guess in our situation it was a momento that it did actually happen.  We lost our baby during labor a few months back.  And the only item I have as a memory of him that doesn\’t make me cry.
     
    Tam in Texas

  19. Alicia says:

    I\’m gpnna go out on a limb here and tell you that YES I kept mine and Laine is 4 1/2 and I STILL have it.  It is in a Ziplock and I don\’t plan to throw it away.  I think it is a momentous occasion and I decided to keep it.  Sorry if it grosses you out, but I actually know about 15 people I could name off the top of my head who did the same thing.  I guess it\’s all a matter of personal preference.
     
    Are you still my friend?  🙂
     
    HUGS!! 

  20. Karla says:

    Of course our interior design firm would be the primary business. The sitcom writing would be on the side. Counting down… two weeks… whooppeee!

  21. Tracy says:

    LOL well I have heard of people wrapping up / keeping the test as a way to tell the spouse…but keeping it long after the child is born, I\’ve never heard of that!! 

  22. KEL says:

    Definately leaning towards the gross side of the house on this subject…not my cup of tea, but to each his own.

  23. LH says:

    Nope never kept any of my pee sticks thank you very much!  lol
     
    BTY — I LOVE LOVE those shoes!!!!

  24. Tammi says:

    SO GROSS!  As soon as I saw what the results were, the thing went in the trash so fast!

  25. qi says:

    Maybe different people may have different choice when it comes to these things. BUt to be frank, I just can\’t bear it. I even won\’t do the thing ,wrapping the stick. When I get the result, the stick is useless. I think it\’s not such a romantic way to tell the good news. (laugh) BUt that\’s only my way.

  26. Antonella says:

    I love the shoes!! I actually have a few high heel wedges that are similar!
    Antonella

  27. Dennis says:

    Love the shoes …….they are so you.  Love that you are imbedding pics in your blog …….that is so me.  Love that you and I don\’t like old pee laying around for safe keeping.
     
    I have not been here because I thought you would be too busy.  So whats up with that?
     
    EZ

  28. Suzanne says:

    I don\’t find it that gross…I mean they do have a cover! I have a stick from each of my 3 pregnancies, from my 3.5 year old to my 10 week old fetus. lol

  29. kate5kiwis says:

    yep the sparkly wedge shoes are so cool.
    and i am a bit of a hoarder of MEMORIES, so i have no problem with the pregs test. the weewee would probably have evaporated after 13 months lol. my hubby\’s bro wore his girlfriend\’s positive pregs test *hanging around his neck* one christmas dinner, as a kind of announcement.. funny thing was, we were all so busy racing around after kids and presents that we failed to notice !!!!!
    lol

  30. Jaysey says:

    I think that\’s weird.  I mena, it has urine on it, for crying out loud.  If it\’s that important, how about take a picture and put it in your scrapbook?

Leave a Reply

