I’ve been tagged

What she wore: baggy jeans, brown tee with turquoise pattern around the collar, cuffs, and hem.  Flat brown sandals.


I got tagged by Antonella the other day. 
 
These were the instructions:
 
1. Come up with 8 different points of your perfect lover.
2. Mention the sex of the target.
 
I just couldn’t come up with a list I really liked–it all just sounded blah to me. 
 
And then I got a pretty major piece of news.  The principal at my school is retiring.  This, of course, means that I get to spend my summer wondering who the heck my boss is going to be next year.  These things always leave you a little unsettled, but the main reason I took this job was because I liked the principal so much.
 
So, I decided to do eight characteristics of my perfect principal:
 
He would be male–this is, of course, completely sexist, but it’s how I feel.  Less BS and innuendo–in my opinion.  (Unless, of course, it was some completely BS-free chica like Mocha.)
 
  1. He would care about the kids–nothing is more annoying than a principal who’s lost touch with his purpose.   Being mean to kids is not the point of administration.
  2. He’s tough–kids need boundaries, and respect adults who clearly define them.  Our kids moaned and groaned becasue my team was, "so mean," but we had the highest attendance on the last day of school. (A team is a group of teachers who share kids and meet regularly to discuss them)
  3. He’s not afraid of pissing people off.  Being a principal means not running scared and holding your ground.  You can’t be scared of parents or the school board.  At our school especially.  A lot of people don’t like my little school, but we do our thing and are successful.  Everybody else can just stay pissed.
  4. He backs his teachers–as a teacher, you never want to feel like you’re swinging in mid-air without a rope.  A good principal knows how to support his staff.
  5. He doesn’t mess with a good thing just to shake things up.  My team is quaking in its boots because we don’t want to be separated.  Let’s see if our new person knows how to leave well-enough alone.  This is a note to anyone who ever thinks they might want to be a principal: Teaming is the BEST–at my school whole teams stay on each year–as much out of loyalty to one another as to the school.  It’s a great technique for teacher retention.
  6. He’s willing to try something new.  Kids like mine may need a new approach every now and again.  A good principal can recognize what isn’t working and try to fix it. 
  7. Personally, I’d rather not have a former coach if I can help it.  They can be nice, but a lot of times they’ve got the yelling strategy of leadership.
  8. And this one is ridiculous, but it’s my list: I’d like a principal that lets us wear jeans on Fridays.  My school has a special dress-code against this, but every other school I’ve worked at has allowed it.  I want my casual Friday back, darn it!

There ya go, that’s my wish list.  I hope somebody’s listening.

 

KM

About takedeux

In one summer I had a baby who was hospitalized for five weeks, quit my job, and moved back to my hometown. This blog is about starting over.
This entry was posted in Teaching. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to I’ve been tagged

  1. Dennis says:

    Are you describing me? 😉
     
    EZ

  2. Jennifer says:

    that was the best 8 points list i\’ve read all week!
     
    re: fashion cheat sheet….can you give us the final definitive differences between capri pants, crop pants and pedal pushers? i\’m always confusing them.

  3. Sheryl-Ann says:

    Casual Fridays are the best!  I hope you get a principal with all the qualities that you desire.  Will you being going to grad school part time?  Have you gotten acceptance for the Fall semester?  I know you are going enjoy grad school…….I love school (smile)!

  4. Kelly says:

    Gosh. I really was here first. I swear. Look at your stats. And to add insult to injury, Dennis has stolen my line.

    The thing that lets me beat Dennis is that you mentioned me in your
    blog, invited me here, and I actually agree with EVERYTHING YOU SAID
    ABOUT EDUCATION.

    Where should I send my resume, Katy? 😉

  5. Karen says:

    Great list, KM!  I had a sort of hard time coming up with a perfect lover list, myself; I love this spin on it.
     
    Hope you have a great weekend!

  6. Sue says:

    IF there were more principals that had your 8 points, the schools would be much better off!  Nice twist on this.  Everyone seems to be saying much of the same and since I married someone who did not match any points I thought I wanted when I met Dweeb, I put the points that I love about him (yes, even the missile bases, farts while leaping (one of many talents), and thankful he I only have a partially built airplane in my basement).
     
    : )  Sue

  7. K says:

    Great List!  I can think of two great principals that make up what you said above…. they had the best attendance from students in the entire school board!
     
    I think Kelly would make an EXCELLENT principal… I\’d send my kids to her school… should that day ever come!!!
     
    Oh.. and I love casual Friday\’s for people everywhere…. they only let us do that when they are campaigning for the United Way… and we pay a toonie ($2.00) to get dressed down – with restrictions.  I miss it ….
     
    Great list Katie!
    Ciao bella,
    KC

  8. Nooner™ says:

    Congrats on converting the 8 point list to Education. I\’ve always enjoyed your discussions of things related to your school, and your views on principal management is no exception. When you think about it, most of the qualities you mentioned when combined basis with the others is also the model for a good leader for a large company.
    I\’m keeping my fingers crossed for ya that you get casual Fridays back.

  9. Sheryl-Ann says:

    Hey KM, it was somewhere on your blog that you had mailed your application to grad school so that is how I know.  I wish I was psychic, but unfortunately I am not (smile).
     
    Enjoy your day!

  10. Unknown says:

    No casual Fridays???  That stinks!!
     
    Maybe the school could choose a different cause/ charity  for each Friday and as long as a donation of $1 or more is made to wear jeans it can be a Casual Friday.  I\’m not sure how many teachers/staff your school has, but that could easily be  $50-75 donation to the charity of the week.
     
    ~Ashlie

  11. Laura says:

    I liked your list. Funny about the ex-coach… I know what you mean with the yelling. My English teacher was also my track coach in high school…and I swear he would use a whistle in class if they let him. Too funny…
     
    I really hope you guys get a good one. You deserve it, and so do those kids of yours!

  12. Alicia says:

    I\’m listening…but I don\’t think I can help!  He sounds like a DREAM principal, though!
     
    Hope you have a GREAT weekend with Hubs!!
     
    HUGS!!  🙂

  13. Toni says:

    what a cool twist! and, it could sort of apply to the perfect lover…sort of. i love the shoes down below, and I have to agree…throw the pee-stick out! that\’s just nasty…at least to me. I can think of a much cuter way to tell my hubby we\’re pregnant. well, at least a more sanitary way…but that\’s just me. some people don\’t mind it. maybe they look at it as a stick of life…I wonder if it\’s grown mold? and ps. the cruise story–very true, and i\’ll elaborate on it later on. it\’s painful. ha! 🙂 have a great weekend. ~toni

  14. Carine says:

    Love the list!!! 🙂
     
    – C

  15. Aunt says:

    off topic Ü
     
    I am so glad you came by, and NO WORRIES!

  16. tassietoo says:

    Out for my blog-jog and hadn\’t said "Hi!" in a while!  Hope hubs has lots of leave to spend home with you!

Leave a Reply

