Sometimes Life is Freaky

White tank top; turquoise wrap top with short sleeves that ties between the boobs and doesn’t cover the belly.  High heel brown shoes with a cork heel.  The Hub wants to know what I’m going to do when cork goes out of style–my answer?  Buy more shoes.


I blogged about this early in the life of this site, but I don’t think anyone was reading it then.  Also, I hadn’t really gotten the hang of writing, so I don’t think I really did it justice.  Here’s the story:
 
When I first began my new job I had a special ed kid named Michael–he was a sweet kid with a wonderful smile.  He was eager to please and would never yell or disrupt class.  Other kids would pick on him, and he was often involved in fights although I would never call him violent.  We found out that he had been kicked out of his grandparent’s house, and was living with a friend.  Not soon after that, the friend’s mom moved him to a school she liked more–I only had him as a student about month or two.
 
When Christmas came, the Hub and I went to Walmart to pick an angel off the angel tree.  Like many couples, I went for the young girl since buying little clothes seems more meaningful than some other options.  At the last minute I spied an Angel that said "Michael, 13, likes basketball and other sports."  Now Michael is a common name, so I don’t know why I thought this, but in my head came the idea, "this is Michael from school," and I just couldn’t shake it.  I had to fulfill this angel, and I convinced the Hub that we needed a second Angel.  He is rolling his eyes and complaining because it’s going to be so much money, but I knew that I had to do it–something was pushing me.   
 
I’m well versed on the needs of 13-year-old boys, so I picked up some sports equipment, a sweatshirt that was uniform appropriate since our kids are often cold during the winter, and a sweat suit that matched from head to toe–you know how my kids like their matching ensembles.  We were finished, so I said to my husband, "just let me cruise through toys one more time and make sure I don’t see anything else."  As I rushed through the toy department, I felt a tap on my shoulder.  Who do you think it was?  Michael.  I couldn’t believe it.  I had not seen this child once since he’d left my school.  I haven’t see him since that day either.
 
I later learned through the school grapevine that he’d been passed through a variety of foster homes since leaving my school.  Sometimes the principal at his new school would have to drive him home because no one would pick him up. 
 
I feel certain that was his angel. 
 
 
Sometimes you just get a sign that you’re doing the right thing–that was mine.
 
 
 
KM
About takedeux

In one summer I had a baby who was hospitalized for five weeks, quit my job, and moved back to my hometown. This blog is about starting over.
This entry was posted in Teaching. Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Sometimes Life is Freaky

  1. ncjenn2nd says:

    What a wonderful thing.  Even though being a teacher (I teach second grade) can give you a sense of fulfillment, and that you are helping in some way, it always makes you feel better to be able to give more to those kids.  Some of them break my heart, the things they have to go through in their young lives. 

  2. Antonella says:

    I think you should always trust your instincts!!! That poor kid. I hate thinking about what\’s happening with the kids after you don\’t see them anymore. You pray that everything will be ok, but you can never be sure.
     
    About those things for your shoes, I\’ve seen them before, I just figured, these were flat little sandals, why would they hurt?? Boy was I wrong, I have scabs on my heels from Thursday!!! They still hurt!! Those evil little shoes.
    Antonella
     
    PS_ I love the shoes! I have quite a few pairs of cork shoes!

  3. K says:

    WOW… I am speechless.  That was a powerful story and I am true believer in signs.  I get them all the time and it moves me to hear of others following their intuition… especially when it helps others.
     
    I will keep this young boy in my heart and you as well… so that you may always follow your intuition… see the signs and continue to spread love and healing to those in need.
     
    You are more than a special ed teacher Katie, I pray you see that!  You are indeed a teacher for mankind… may we always learn something from each other.
     
    Ciao bella,
    KC

  4. Sue says:

    I have had feelings like that too.  It\’s so sad what happens to some kids.  I\’m sure that was the best Christmas gifts he ever received.  We\’ll put Michael in the \’prayer intention box\’ here.  great story once again girl. 
     
    BTW: Yes my background changed.  I\’m pretty sure I have ADD and I get bored with it.  It changed three times today. LOL.  I\’m so limited as to what I\’m capable of doing IT wise now, that the background makes me feel like I have control.  I\’m a freak man. LOL.  Blondie is only taking Western Civ at the junior college cause she needs it, offered at junior college which means it\’s easy and transfers, and CHEAP TUITION!  Well, gotta go write Michael down and slip him in the box.
     
    : )  Sue

  5. Karen says:

    What a wonderful & moving story.  I\’m glad you trusted your intuition.
     
    Hope you had a lovely weekend!

  6. Hollie says:

    what a beautiful story! 2 christmas\’s ago(6 months after fire detroyed our place) we had an angels provide Roo with a christmas that I could never of given her. She was utterly spoiled by her angels( and yes I say angels), she had 3 seperate boxes arrive from different people none of who knew us. There was $150 in Gift cards, and about 20 gifts. She was more then spoiled and all those toys that went in the fire were more then replaced.She had angels that year.

  7. Tracy says:

    Aw, what a good story.  I feel so bad for kids like that who are dealt a crappy hand, and it\’s great when other adults do what they can to help out.  Thanks for your comment – ya I do try to not care – and I\’ve always been the one in my family who never does anything the normal way — but what I hate is knowing they are gossiping about it amongst themselves and who knows what they are saying.  So I just can\’t wait for it to all wash over, the dust settles, and they find something else to gossip about 🙂

  8. Unknown says:

    Happy Monday babycakes!
    I had to read 3blogs…WOW! I think that\’s the longest I\’ve been away…but it was a wonderful weekend!
    I hope you two are catching up and having fun!
    So, Did you ever find out that it was Michael? Did he know that you were the one that picked him?
    Have a GREAT week!!!
    Mercy

  9. Laura says:

    That is so neat! I am sure it was his! It has to be. Even if it wasn\’t (which it was!) some boy named Micheal was really blessed that year. That is such a touching story

  10. Dennis says:

    Only you can make a Christmas story appropriate in June.  I loved this one.  I am not sure if I read it the first time you posted it or not.  If you keep posting these experiences that depict just how big your heart is, I am going to be compelled to drive all the way to Arkansas and kiss you.  Now stop it!
     
    EZ

  11. Unknown says:

    Those Christmas Angels get me every year. 
    What a great story.
     
    Love the shoes!  I was at The Collections of Steinmart yesterday and saw many,many Barnyard Mama shoes! 🙂  I need to find an excuse to buy  a fun pair.
     
    ~Ashlie

  12. Cheryl says:

    That was so kind of you.  He will remember you always for your kindness.

  13. Gina says:

    So do you really think it was the Michael?  At any rate, some 13 yr old boy named Michael had an awesome Christmas.  I love doing those angel Christmas things.  I do one ever year at my church and there is just something about putting a smile on someone\’s face, even if  you have no clue who it is.

  14. Sheryl-Ann says:

    That was very sweet of you, KM.  That is what Christmas is really about – sharing the love and bring smiles to little ones, especially those who are less fortunate.
     
    Have a lovely week!

  15. ncjenn2nd says:

    Thanks for the comment!  We are not out of school yet, students are done on Thursday, and then all of us teachers are done next Wednesday!  Why they make teachers work so much longer, I have no clue…we need a break just as much!  How about you?

  16. Elizabeth says:

    I\’m wondering which is the angel in this story. *hugs*

  17. K says:

    OK.. so this joke is really bad… but I thought as a teacher… math teacher… you might find humor in it…. especially in light of what has been going on with both our countries!
     

    School Teacher Arrested:NEW YORK – A public school teacher was arrested today at John F. Kennedy International Airport as he attempted to board a flight while in possession of a ruler, a protractor, a set square, a slide rule, and a calculator.At a morning press conference, Attorney General John Ashcroft said hebelieves the man is a member of the notorious Al-gebra movement. He did not identify the man, who has been charged by the FBI with carrying weapons of math instruction."Al-gebra is a problem for us," Ashcroft said. "They desire solutions bymeans and extremes, and sometimes go off on tangents in a search of absolute value. They use secret code names like \’x\’ and \’y\’ and refer to themselves as \’unknowns,\’ but we have determined they belong to a common denominator of the axis of medieval with coordinates in every country. As the Greek philanderer Isosceles used to say, \’There are 3 sides to every triangle.\’ "When asked to comment on the arrest, President Bush said, "If God had wanted us to have better Weapons of Math Instruction, He would have given us more fingers and toes." White House aides told reporters they could not recall a more intelligent or profound statement by the president."

  18. russ says:

    You just answered a question for me…
     
    Why do I find you so impressive?
     
    People like you keep this country on course for things it was meant for…
     
    Have an awesome day!
    Russ

  19. Carine says:

    I just got major goose bumps reading this. What are the odds???
     
     
    – C

  20. Alicia says:

    I remember this entry well…one of your best in my opinion!!
     
    HUGS!!!  🙂

  21. LH says:

    A very special entry from a very special person!!

  22. Proto says:

    A very good read, thank you for sharing again.

  23. Unknown says:

    Goose bumps….and not just from reading what you were wearing..lol….*pervy glance.
     
    My wife suffers a similar shoe malady

  24. Jaysey says:

    And just imagine what a difference you made for Michael on Christmas!  Poor little guy.  Good thing there are people like you in the universe.

Leave a Reply

