Shameless Plug

What she Wore: jean shorts, LSU t-shirt, tennis shoes.  I’m gardening.  I can’t believe it–I’m sweaty, I have dirt under my fingernails, and I’m wearing tennis shoes.  This is SO not me.

You may have noticed that I’ve slowed down a bit since summer started–mainly because the pace of blog land seems a little slower as well.  Today, I’m just going to throw out a shameless plug for a friend of mine.
 
A fellow teacher friend has started a website called Miss Bookworm’s Place.  She used to have a little tripod site about books, but she was looking for something more interactive.  I, of course, recommended blogging.  She wants to blog about books, give out lots of information, and answer questions people might have about books.  She also thinks it would be really cool if people recommended/reviewed some of their favorite books.  She’s not a book snob, so people could write about anything they wanted–even romance novels (I, personally, am cringing right now).  Anyone who contributed would get full-credit for their work–it be like being a guest star or something.
 
I’ve seen her trolling about a little trying to get some people to come by, but I don’t think it’s working.
 
She’s not exactly sure where the site is going, but I like books and like her ideas, so I thought I’d try to steer some people her way.  I might even try doing a review even though I am in no way a writer. 
 
Go on by if this project sounds like something that would strike your fancy.
 
KM
About takedeux

In one summer I had a baby who was hospitalized for five weeks, quit my job, and moved back to my hometown. This blog is about starting over.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Shameless Plug

  1. Sheryl-Ann says:

    I will stop by the bookworm.  Hope you have managed to clean up a bit (smile).  Enjoy the evening.

  2. Unknown says:

    Sounds like a neat site! 
     
    Ohhh…I love gardening!  Have fun!
    ~Ashlie

  3. Toni says:

    thank you thank you for the comments, and no, the hotstuff so doesn\’t wierd me out. i\’m just lovin the pics of the shoes. it is…very completing. yes.
    also, i got a chance to read the blog about the abstinence education–i agree COMPLETELY, even though for 4 years, I spoke in schools and churches, events, etc. doing just that–discouraging sex but not giving enough of the kind of info. the kids NEEDED, regardless of their decision regarding abstinence. i\’m so going to educate my children…take care and thanks again. Toni

  4. Dennis says:

    You in tennis shoes???  Oh no!!!  I will check your friends space out.
     
    EZ

  5. Aunt says:

    just dropping in Ü

  6. Unknown says:

    Thanks for the comment on my page.  If your friend is flying A-10\’s, she\’s here at Pope. Always nice to meet another AF wife.  I saw the comment you left on Toni\’s site about me being from Cabot. haha. Lived there for 21 years.  I\’m assuming you are close to it (as if the title of your site wasn\’t enough of a giveaway…). 

  7. K says:

    Will check it out… I love books as well.. just wish I had a bit more time to enjoy them as well…
     
    Take care… enjoy the slow down!
    Ciao bella,
    KC

  8. Karen says:

    Thank you for the link to Miss Bookworm\’s space, I think she\’s got a great idea!
     
    Have a great day!

  9. Karen says:

    By the way, did you enjoy your gardening?  I did a bit myself yesterday – a friend from work brought me some plants from his sister\’s garden (plants that were spreading and overtaking the garden, so I know they\’re hardy and hopefully I won\’t kill them like I do most plants).  I love getting dirt under my nails!

  10. Nadine says:

    not really my sort of thing…..but if you say it is worth a look…..
     
        I hope you got a manicure afterwards!!!!! Dirt under your nails….that is what gloves are for!!

  11. Tracy says:

    I\’ll have to go check it out.  I love reading, and since it\’s now summer and nothing on TV, I have picked it up again.  Although I\’m not sure how much substance some of the books I read have, lol!!!  I am reading a Nora Roberts novel and while they can be entertaining, I am just way too cynical right now about the whole fairy tale love thing, like YA RIGHT as if THAT would really happen. I still believe in true love and marriage forever, but the whole happily ever after thing is bullcrap, it all takes work and everyone goes through rough patches!  As is evident by blogland and so many people having relationship issues.   Maybe I should stick to mysteries this summer! I hope you are having a great time with the hub home!!!

  12. Darcy says:

    I went to check her out… thanks!

  13. Dena Marie says:

    Hey, KM.
     
    It seems like I only get to do my blogwalk once or twice a week these days… So I\’m responding to your sex ed entry here. I am astonished that educators would censor and/or misinform about such an important (and potentially life-altering) topic. I  believe life and education are all about being *prepared*, not being *right*. There is absolutely no harm in being (correctly) informed of all the scenarios and options. Shame on those folks!
     
    –DM

  14. Unknown says:

    i\’d suggest she do a lingerie review.  That helped me even though my only readers were from the harem

  15. Unknown says:

    What he wore:
    favourite light blue / navy blue stripe on white Banana republic dress shirt with grey flat front wool pants from Banana Republic.  Black lace ups with square toe from Zara.  Boxers by Fruit of the Loom – blue plaid.
     
    you\’re too kind…. Good work on the gardening.  did some last weekend myself…a yard of new soil for the veggie patch….taking down part of a hedge to get better sunlight for the veggie patch.  I needed a back rub like you can\’t imagine.  Oh well
     
    We do get beavis and butthead but can\’t say i watched it much. i can really only hear them snickering
     
    At least door to dorr you can intereject.  Those phone solicitations are impossiblle to cut in on and tell them you\’re busy…they  hardly break for a breath.

  16. CJ says:

    Since she\’s a friend of yours, I\’ll traipse on over there, check out some books and see if I can\’t be of some assistance.  I do so love to read!  I enjoy gardening too, just can\’t wheel myself around to it quite yet.  Enjoy the summer weather, before we know it , it will be winter again…sigh…

  17. Alicia says:

    I\’ve chatted with her and will probably review some Stephen King when I return…  🙂

  18. Sue says:

    I will definitely check out the web site.  I\’m no writer.  But maybe if I can actually get a book finished soon, I\’ll do a review!  Thanks. 
     
    You?  Gardening?  Pictures please???
     
    : ) Sue

Leave a Reply

