This is not Very Nice

 
What she Wore: Jean capris, grey t-shirt with swirly pattern in pink and dark grey, slip on tennis shoes.  Perfect for driving.

Now, those who come here a lot know that I’m all about a funky, colorful shoe when the time calls for it, but today I’m going to bring out of the closet a little pet peeve of mine:  CROCS!
 
What is the deal?  These are clearly gardening shoes that have left the house.  Perhaps that was not theIr best move.  BUT, I’ve never been one to turn up my nose at a shoe just because it was a little funky.  My main issue with these horrors is their context.  People are wearing them with everything.  Everything.  People are wearing rubber clogs with capris–when have clogs and capris ever looked good together?  Um, I think the answer is NEVER!  Also, if you insist on commiting sins against fashion then can you please try to match?  Please?  If you wear brightly colored shoes, try to work the color in somewhere else.  If your shoes are pink and everything else is different colors, you look like you forgot to change shoes before you left the house.
 

And why are we wearing these in summer?  Aren’t flip flops considered comfy by most people?  Must we wear rubber shoes that cover our toes in the heat of June?  And I’m not going to think about how bad those puppies must smell–there’s a reason why people wear sandals. 
 
The other day I heard a woman behind me saying, "I have all these cute shoes at the house–but all I ever wear are these things."  I knew she was talking about those freakin’ crocs, but I turned around to check–sure enough, unmatching rubber clogs.  I say, if you are going to commit yourself to these babies then buy a bunch of pairs–match.  It’s not that hard.
 
OK, end rant.  I feel better now.
 
KM
 
If it’s not clear than let me make sure it is–I don’t hate the shoes–I don’t think I could ever hate shoes–I just don’t like the way people are wearing them with EVERYTHING.  And so I don’t seems hypocritical, the pink in my funky shoes matched the swirl in my tee!
About takedeux

In one summer I had a baby who was hospitalized for five weeks, quit my job, and moved back to my hometown. This blog is about starting over.
This entry was posted in Fashion. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to This is not Very Nice

  1. russ says:

    I was at Cman\’s ball game tonight and saw a rather large lady wearing a bright yellow pair of these… Once I had noticed them I couldn\’t help catching them out of the corner of my eye every time she would move… It was rather annoying…
    So glad I am male…
    Have a great weekend!
    Russ

  2. Unknown says:

    I\’ve never quite gotten any of these shoe crazes anyway…crocs, birkenstocks in general, converse all-stars, anything.On any given day, depending on how I\’m feeling, I may be wearing a pair of hand sewn/laced (by myself), 100% genuine leather moccasins. Not quite authentic Native American, because I, myself am not. But if I were, then they would be.But most of the time, It\’s just regular shoes that fit anything I\’m wearing. Sometimes, the moccasins look better with things. Especially when I\’m doing Native American Dance with Boy Scouts. But Anyways,-Josh "The Ender"

  3. Gracia says:

    Arent these gardening shoes?  Target sells them by the truckload and I dont understand the craze for it. *shudder*
     
    I just love the swirly pink tennis sneaks you have pictured. I buy so many of those at Payless…cheap cheap cheap, but satisfies my shoe-tooth in ways my hub will never understand.
     
    The pointy red heels? Fantasy, girl! For now anyway.  I secretly dream of a limitless bank account set up entirely for shoe and boot purchases.  

  4. Dennis says:

    I totally agree with you on this. I have been seeing these pop in up in every imagineable casual social setting.  Lord help us all if they cross over into more formal outings.  They look too  hot to wear even in the garden.  This must be the creation of some Athlete\’s Foot Remedy company.
     
    EZ

  5. ncjenn2nd says:

    There must be some amazing secret to these shoes…I haven\’t tried them because I don\’t garden, and don\’t plan to anytime soon, so I don\’t feel the need.  However, several students wore them to school and constantly lost them while they were playing on the playground…how smart is that?  Oh well, hopefully this will blow over soon, people do not wear them correctly.

  6. Unknown says:

    IF you\’re in N.O. I need you to go to the West Bank to a place called…Salvo\’s Seafood and Deli 7742 Highway 23, Belle Chasse, LA 504.393.7303…YUM!!!! Eat for me, call them and see if they have all you can eat crawfish, crabs and shrimp!!!! omg I WANNA GO!!!
     
    hugs and smootchers,
    Mercy

  7. PeaceHopeJoy says:

    Yeah…ummm…I don\’t get it either.  I have had so many people tell me that I MUST buy a pair, that they\’re great.  No really…I\’ll pass.  Not only are they ugly as all-get-out, but they\’re unsafe for the same reason that jelly shoes were unsafe….the second a bead of sweat forms on your feet you are slippin\’ and slidin\’ all over the place.  LOL  Plastic and rubber shoes just aren\’t a good idea.  Except maybe for Barbie.

  8. Karla says:

    I just think they are UGGGLLLY. I love the tennis shoes you have pictured today. 

  9. Nadine says:

    Well let me be the one to say it….I HATE CROCS!!!
    JUST PLAIN UGLY!
     and then when I don\’t think it can get any worse….I saw a MAN with them on!!!!!!!!!!!!!
     
    As the vomit falls from my mouth…PUKE!!!!!!! and he had on socks!!!!!! socks and sandals…….ugh!!
     
    My hubby can\’t under stand why shower shoes are so popular! I have 5 pair!!

  10. Nadine says:

    He is talkin\’ about flip-flops!!

  11. Sheryl-Ann says:

    I think crocs are ugly and I wouldn\’t be caught dead in them, especially in this 100 degree weather in Texas!  Are people really wearing them outside of the garden area? Oh well, to each his own, I guess.
     
    Enjoy the weekend, KM!

  12. Sue says:

    What is up these shoes????  They are EVERYWHERE!  Everyone wears them and they are the ugliest shoes.  Blondie\’s friends (Blondie would not own a pair) claim they are the most comfortable shoes they have ever worn, but I still wouldn\’t be caught dead in them. 
     
    : ) Sue

  13. Cheryl says:

    I hid my feet under the table as i read this.  OK I am wearing green shorts, a red shirt and purple crocs.  And I have been to the grocery store wearing them and I wear them with socks and my socks are yellow.  Now I am going to wear them to water the garden…

  14. tassietoo says:

    I\’m jumping on here too!  Unsafe and smelly is all I can say about anyone who puts their foot into these!  *shudder*  Not even in the garden…

  15. Elizabeth says:

    Those are by far the WEIRDEST looking shoes  I have ever seen.  And I don\’t get the name.

  16. Karen says:

    A friend of mine got a pair of those gardening shoes for her birthday from her mom & even though she does garden, she said she\’ll never wear the things.  I haven\’t really had the urge to slip into a pair either! 
     
    My flip-flops are pretty much all I\’ve been wearing (when not at work) – though I\’m in need of a new pair now; I lost one in a stream yesterday when I jumped in to pull out a child who got in over her head. 
     
    Hope you\’re having a great weekend!

  17. Unknown says:

    A hoot!  I have paused at racks holding these chunky crocs on 1 occasion.  My pause wasn\’t to close my eyes and ponder how they would look with ANY outfit I own.  My pause was to try to understand exactly what you just ranted about.  You go girl!  Say it loud!
     
    On the other hand, I do enjoy anyone\’s glee at an apparel item that thrills them.  If they are happy wearing them………I say let them rock on.     MT

  18. K says:

    Hey hun…You won\’t be able to access my blog for awhile.   I have been fighting with MSN because they claim I have been in violation of their code of conduct by having an image that was copyrighted.  As soon as they notified me (on Wednesday) I deleted the image from the old astrology post.  They had given me 48 hrs to do it… and I did it immediately.  But they have closed down my space regardless stating I did not comply… and I am in an email battle with them. 
     
    I might have to start from scratch at the rate that their going.  Out of the millions of blogs – they pick on mine – one image that I deleted immediately upon notification – I think I probably pissed someone off with my recent posting – who knows… but I am extremely frustrated.  All that work I put into that place is gone… time to get my own domain I think… It\’s time.
     
    I will contineu to stop by and comment and will let you know shortly where and when I have a new place to rest my thoughts.
     
    Ciao bella,
    KC

  19. KEL says:

    I must admit, I can\’t bring myself to buy them, not even for my 4 year old.  There is just something odd about these shoes.  Ok, so the truth is I prefer not to wear shoes as much as possible but if I must–then they must be something I enjoy looking at!
    ~K

  20. Cindy says:

    I\’m just passing through and having a great time reading your blog.  Very good.  I\’ll admit to having 4 pairs of crocs!  Don\’t cringe !  I have yet to wear them out in public.  If you haven\’t tried them, you really should.  They are so comfortable, that\’s why everyone wears them all the time.  I do have to wear mine with socks cuz the little nubbies inside kinda bother my bare feet.  I need 4 pairs because 2 stay at home and 2 are at our cabin.  Orange, black, light blue and for the 4th of July, swirled red & white with blue straps!  Sorry if this offends you!  LOL Cindy

  21. Mary says:

    just found your space through another and I love it.  I have to add here that I also hate hate hate crocs. I am also a fellow shoe lover and have more shoes than I would ever need but I cannot stop.  My 5 year old daughter told her father when he stated that she had to many shoes that "a girl can never have to many shoes".  I almost died laughing.  but back to crocs – alot of the girls at my daughter\’s school have these ugly shoes and they wear them with everything, there is no matching involoved.  it drives me crazy.  to me, they are house shoes, pool shoes at best backyard shoes.  not go out in public, school, work anywhere else shoes.

  22. Unknown says:

    I have to admit that I own a turquoise blue-green pair of CROCS and LOVE them….you have to try them to understand…they really are comfy.  I actually bought them to wear around when I was at the lake and to wear in the lake…because they don\’t pick up a gross smell after getting wet….and I figured if I was buying such a strange and ugly shoe I might as well get it in a crazy color…and honestly, I like them so much I have worn them all over.

Leave a Reply

