I Can’t (Beep) This (Beep)

What she Wore: polka dot short sleeve top with white trim, long white shorts, polka dot espadrilles with red ribbons that tie around the ankles.  These aren’t them exactly, but it’s the best I could do.


During my road trip I’ve had a couple of random things happen, none which would comprise an entire blog entry.  So, here’s goes the list of randomness that made up my last few days.
 
  1. Have you ever noticed that gas stations are the great equalizer?  I’m at some gas station in the middle of nowhere Mississippi and behind me is this mormon-looking guy in a tie and his daughter.  Right next to me is a blue low-rider with chromed out rims and the sound system blasting.   I didn’t recognize the song, but the chorus was clear–"I can’t f(beep) this b(beep)"  How. Freakin. Appropriate.  Maybe the little girl will learn some new words during this cultural exchange.
  2. I’m eaves-dropping while standing in line, and I was privy to what was possibly the greatest assult to the English lanuage in recent times.  There was a young man behind me and this is an exact quote of what he told his friend, "I went to this girls house, and her dad like boiled crawfish, and her brother like brought some beer, and it was sooooo, man."  Now, I know that was pretty eloquent, but when I cast a backward glance I got a look at something that really scared me–a cetain t-shirt that made me realize without a shadow of a doubt that this guy was in college.  Frightening.  At the rate we’re going, they’ll be kids in college whe can’t even make a complete sentence pretty soon.
  3. I’m driving through Mississipi and I see something weird in my rear view mirror.  It looks like a bunch of people hanging out the windows of a car.  The car is going at a good clip in the left lane, so I just wait to see what the deal is.  When the car passes me I see what it really is–a man driving a green Thunderbird with a Chucky doll hanging out of one window and a Bride of Chucky doll hanging out the other side.  I’m still trying to figure out what that was all about.  Any ideas?
  4. And finally, Katrina has left many New Orleanians living in some strange conditions.  I went over to my friend’s house and her mom was in the garage.  Upon closer inspection, I discovered she was cooking with a pot on a barbeque grill.  I may never forget the image of this stay-at-home professor’s wife cooking ghetto-style in her garage.  Priceless.

Not very coherent, but when am I ever?

 

KM

About takedeux

In one summer I had a baby who was hospitalized for five weeks, quit my job, and moved back to my hometown. This blog is about starting over.
This entry was posted in Random Musings. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to I Can’t (Beep) This (Beep)

  1. tassietoo says:

    As long as she wasn\’t wearing crocs while stirring that pot! 😀

  2. Laura says:

    There is a saying I find myself using quite often:
    Perception is Reality
     
    If you took the song literally, there you go. That is your definition. I was just really shocked by the whole thing. If that is how you took it, then that is how you took it. If they wanted you to get a different message, they should have done a better job!
     
    I am pretty straight forward, and that saying gets BMac in hot spots all the time… "I didn\’t mean to sound angry"… well, perception is reality, and that is how I read it! So there!

  3. . says:

    cooking on charcoal is VERY normal here. In fact that is probably what 99% of the people do. I have tried it and it is very difficult in my opinion because it is so hard to regulate the temperature.
     
    aak

  4. KEL says:

    I sure do miss Mississippi, ok, not all of it but definately the entertaining parts.  Oh well, if my trip back is half as entertaining as yours was this weekend will be a real riot!  Thanks for the funnys, great way to start off my Monday.
    ~K

  5. PeaceHopeJoy says:

    Sounds like a very interesting and somewhat educational road trip.  But those are the best kind! 
     
    Honestly, that bride of chucky ordeal would have freaked me out.  Freeeeeak! 
     
    Have a great day!
     
    God bless : )

  6. LH says:

    Nothing like a good road trip.  Enjoy!

  7. Nadine says:

     Hey!! Folks do what they have to do to get by…..ghetto style or not!
     
     Cute shoes!!! And I suggest that you take a photo of your own shoes….if you have a digital camera.
     
    Have a great day!

  8. Sheryl-Ann says:

    Actually, cooking on charcoal gives the food a certain flavor that is really, really good so I wouldn\’t mind some of whatever she was cooking up……gumbo maybe (smile)?  Seriously, though, to think that another hurricane season is already upon us makes me shudder!
     
    It drives me a bit mad that the youth nowadays don\’t take pride in the way they speak.  To make matters worse, they write exactly how they speak!
     
    Hope you enjoyed the time home with your family.

  9. Aimee says:

    just out blog surfing and thought i\’d leave a comment so that you would know i was here….pop by my space if you have some free time….
    :o) smiles are free… :o) and contagious… :o) so pass them on… :o) to people you love… :o) and even to those you don\’t… :o)

  10. Gracia says:

    What a roadtrip! Chucky dolls and barbeque pots…has a real Woody Harrelson tone to it…what\’s that movie again…Natural born killers,  I think….oi vey!
     
     

  11. Becca says:

    The things that you see/hear when you are on the road. It does make me sad that people still have to be making due so long after the hurricane. I hope that they get the help that they deserve soon.
     
    Rebecca

  12. Unknown says:

    I say we rebel and play opera as loud as WE can!!! hehehe makes me giggle.
     
    Yeah one thing I will never miss, living in New Olreans and not having AC in my car, MAN!!! Feelin HOTHOTHOT!
     
    hugs and stuff,
    Mercy

  13. Antonella says:

    My sister uses the word like way too much in her vocabulary too. It\’s really terrible, I mean, I know I don\’t speak properly all the time,but come on, it\’s just annoying to listen to some people talk!
     
    The woman cooking over the BBQ, that is funny (in a very sad kind of way).
     
    Antonella

  14. K says:

    Just stoping by to give you the new link to my temporary blog… until I get my own place up and running…
     
    Ciao bella,
    KC

  15. Toni says:

    okay, my birthday is coming up and thanks to you all i want is SHOES!!!
    funny but my daughter just bought herself a pair of hot pink crocs the other day…and she wears them with everything!
    i\’m so jealous you are able to dash out on a roadtrip back home. being on the road is really eye-opening, isn\’t it?
    enjoy your trip! and i love polka dots! ~toni

  16. Sue says:

    I have to agree with Tassietoo.  No crocs while ghetto cooking!! 
     
    I don\’t have to go on a road trip to hear or see this wild stuff.  With college town on one side of me and one of the most dangerous inner cities in the nation on the other side of me, I hear and see just about everything! 
     
    I want to go on a road trip *pout*.  Blondie and I actually needed more therapy today and checked the shoe sale.  None my size that I could actually walk in were on sale *more pouting*.  So we had to settle on more shirts.  All in all a successful session today.
     
    : ) Sue

  17. Martha says:

    Just checking the barnyard out. Cool shoes!

  18. Mrsbrown2k1 says:

    oh my gosh you have me laughing!  I too have driven through Mississippi and wow what an adventure that is!!!  Yes, the language…people don\’t speak proper English & then you mix in their southern accents it can be quite challenging to understand them.
     
    Hope you had a fun trip anyway!
    Tam in Texas

  19. Aimee says:

    the caliber ruled! you should definetly get one!
     
    :o) smiles are free…so pass them on to people you love and those you don\’t… :o)

  20. Laura says:

    I am all over the place all the time, so I get you girl! Glad you made it back safely. Ah, hurricane season is on us again, and with the first tropical storm here in Florida ( I got rain coming out of my ears down here), I hope everyone makes it through this hurricane season. It is interesting to hear your first hand accounts of how things are going back in Lousianna

  21. Dennis says:

    This was quite interesting … imagine if you had a camera to record these gems.  You have to start carrying one everywhere.
     
    EZ

  22. Karen says:

    I just re-read this & speaking of little girls learning new words… after my new neighbor-across-the-road drove in with his bass thumpin\’ the other day, I had some \’splainin\’ to do for Junior.  I seriously don\’t think 4-year-olds should know there are alternate meanings to some pretty basic words… but considering everyone has a head, how to explain to a child why someone would be "getting" one?  I think my avoidance method worked – "Oh he\’s just silly.  Wanna go get some ice cream?"

Leave a Reply

