The One Who Got Lost

What she wore: red tee, jean capris, and red and white wedges.  KC wanted to know if I ever wear regular heels–yes, usually at night.  Nadine suggested I start taking pictures of my own shoes.  I’m starting to think she may have something there.

George Bush’s major contribution to education has been No Child Left Behind.  I’ve only taught for four years, so most of my experience has been during the years of NCLB.  I also had one student who got lost during this time.  It’s one of my great regrets as a teacher.

 

The One Who Got Lost           

 

Thomas came to me my second year of teaching.  I worked a special program for reading disabled kids, and his Middle School teacher contacted me to let me know he was coming.  “He drives everyone else nuts, but I just love him,” she told me.  I knew exactly the kind of student she was talking about.

            Thomas was one of my only African-American students, and was an excellent basketball player.  Some coaches from the affluent, white school had recruited him to choose their school rather than the one in the district that most African-Americans attended.  Thomas was classified “emotionally disturbed” which meant that he had suffered some sort of emotional trauma which caused him to have behavior problems.  Thomas was never violent, but he was easily angered and would shut down without much provocation.   His learning disability had only been recently diagnosed and he was eager to work on anything that would improve his reading.  Other than that, his main reasons for coming to school were basketball and his friends.  

Early-on I had a power struggle with Thomas and definitely came out on the losing end.  He was never ugly, but if he did not want to do something than he would not.  I quickly learned that it was better to ignore him if he was in one of his moods.  Usually he would eventually get back into the lesson and participate.  I suspect that he was very wary of being made fun of, and would only participate in activities in which he knew he would be successful.

His first year of school, Thomas basically stayed out of trouble.  He was occasionally sent to detention, but nothing too serious.  His sophomore year of school would be a different matter.

 

To be continued. . .

About takedeux

In one summer I had a baby who was hospitalized for five weeks, quit my job, and moved back to my hometown. This blog is about starting over.
This entry was posted in Teaching. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to The One Who Got Lost

  1. Tracy says:

    I can\’t wait for part 2, I love your student stories!!  LOL at your road trip randomness, too funny about the guy with the chucky dolls.  Hope you are having a good time!

  2. Toni says:

    ooo…these situations are so sad. i guess not everyone turns out like your boy charlie. how\’s the vacation? the hubby?

  3. Sue says:

    Oh boy, this sounds like it will be a doozie (sp?).  Can\’t wait to hear the rest of the story now. 
    You read my mind girl.  Birthday is next week and that is exactly what I asked for…  SPA pedicure.  I want the good one! 
    : ) Sue

  4. Nooner™ says:

    Great reading. Your writing style is excellent.
     
    This getting lost incidence brings back the emotional feeling I felt and my parents experienced one day, so I know the inside feeling most likely felt by you that day as it was happening. My younger Down Syndrome brother lived with my parents up until my Dad\’s death recently. My father was a great teacher. Always trying to teach my brother a new activity. He would walk to a store with him and, after time, felt my brother was ready to do the walk on his own, return safely, and yet learn another simple independent task. As you can tell from the topic, he lost his way home. For an hour or two the police were combing the streets looking for him. The emotional feeling one feels inside is horrendous. The ending was a safe one. I have a few tears now just recalling the story. My little brother is a big part of my life.

  5. Nadine says:

     I think it takes a special person to be able to take on a kid with Special needs…..Baby, You are Special!!!
     
     And I do have my moments when I do have a good Idea!!
     
     My only drawback to postin\’ a pix of your shoes…..I felt a bit weird about havin\’ my stripper shoes on the internet with MY FEET in them….I didn\’t want to attract the foot fetish people!!
     Yeah, I know…….. wierd from the Harlot!

  6. Kelly says:

    Have you read Kylene Beers\’ book "When Kids Can\’t Read"? It\’s awesome. She talks about the one who she couldn\’t reach no matter what and it broke my heart because we all have one. This is going to be good. I can tell. It reminds me of something…

  7. Laura says:

    Love the idea of taking pictures of your own shoes… reminds me of Clueless where she has the computerized closet… ha ha. I only have 7 pairs of shoes, and three of those are flip-flops. One pair of tennis shoes, two heels, and one pair of boots. I feel inferior! l
     
    Can\’t wait to read the rest of this post. Love your stories

  8. Sheryl-Ann says:

    Hey KM, you left me hanging (smile). I was just settling in to the story and boom, it ended.  Nice cliffhanger……looking forward to part 2.
    Hope your day is going well.

  9. Cheryl says:

    Sad outcome i am sure.  I want to hear more about him….

  10. Sheryl-Ann says:

    Re your question: St. John is one of the United States Virgin Islands (USVI). There are three islands that make these up – St. Croix, St. Thomas and St. John. If you look at the second map in my blog entry, you will see an arrow pointing to the USVI – one of these islands is St. John.  They are very close to Puerto Rico. For more information click here.

  11. Jaysey says:

    Man…can\’t wait to hear the end!  Thanks for all the support of late!  You\’re one of bestest blogging buddies! 😉

  12. Jaysey says:

    Oh–and I also think you should start taking pics of your own shoes.  I think it\’ll be a nicer and even more personal touch than your first great idea of including pics of shoes at all!

  13. Unknown says:

    oooo…a cliff hanger.
     
    A staple is not so bad….especially if you have one in your tummy….ala playboy bunnies….get it?
     
    I\’m not sure what i sent you. Something funny?  you can\’t open it?

  14. Jaysey says:

    Everyone needs a digital camera!  How else will you preserve all your precious memories forever??  Tell him they\’ve come down in price so much, it would be foolish NOT to get one! 😉

Leave a Reply

