Debauchery 101 (or wedding re-cap)

What She Wore: jean capris, white american flag t-shirt from target, flip flops.  This is not glamorous I know, but I’m working bible school this week and it’s outside. 

Getting together with your friends from college is always a treat.  These are the people that witnessed some of the biggest growth you’ll ever have and they still like you.  I would also venture to say that these are some of the people I trust the most and who have helped me become the person I am today.  Because of all these things, whenever the gang gets together, things can get a little ridiculous.  Ok, a lot.
 
I’ll start with the rehearsal.
We pulled into the hotel with thirty minutes to be ready and downstairs.  I chose to wear the spandex knit, flapper-esque dress that required no ironing since I didn’t really have time for that.  I paired it with some fabulous black and white spectators with a peep-toe and a four-inch heel.  I also brought this adorable leather clutch with giant peals on it’s chain strap.  My husband declared the purse gaudy, and it made Karla describe me as an eccentric dresser.  I tell you, that purse was amazing.
 
The rehearsal dinner was held at an Italian restaurant downtown and we convinced one of the Hub’s fraternity brothers to drive us.  At the dinner, we proceeded to show the yankees what real south Louisiana drinking looks like.  I decided to just get two drinks rather than having to get up to go to the bar again.  Not my smartest move.  After two heavy-handed bourbon and cokes (we were in Kentucky) I began throwing m&m’s at the bridal party.  I also cursed at some cousins about immigration reform (it was friendly cursing–I was just trying to make my point). 
 
Post-dinner, I probably would have been Ok, except my Hub had also had some drinks, and yanked on my arm a little too hard.  I’ll use that as my excuse to explain why I FELL DOWN.  I could also blame the four-inch heels, but you should never punish a good pair of shoes.  And of course my good buddies rushed to my aid when they saw what had happened–oh no wait, they were trying to take my picture.   I then fell asleep, thank goodness.
 
The next day we did the hair and makeup thing, and my friend Karla made me look way better than I do in real-life (thanks, girl).  The bride’s mom showed up and plied us with mimosas, finger sandwiches, and scones.  Seriously, when you’re with people from south LA, the eating and drinking never stops. 
 
The wedding was a gorgeous, outside affair complete with fan-style programs and guests in floppy hats.  The bride arrived in a horse and carriage and it’s the first time in a long time that I’ve wanted to cry at a wedding.  I employed the ever useful up-and-out tissue dab to prevent any makeup malfunctions.
 
 
The reception was an all-night shindig with open bar, mashed potato bar, multi-flavored cake, a carving station with two meats, and a salsa bar.  I was seated entirely too close to a massive table of cheese and that’s why I must watch my calorie intake in the near future.  I believe I actually ate my weight in cheese.  At each place was a mint julep cup filled with homemade bourbon balls.  I would have consumed more of these, but I was slowly turning into a piece of swiss, so I brought most of them home–yummy!
 
The songs chosen by the couple filled us with tears, and then we proceeded to party like it was 1999 ( I’m cheesy, I know).  By the end of the night I’d imbibed too much and was making friends with the wait-staff–I actually pinched the cheeks of a server–thank goodness I live in a completely different state. 
 
Now, I’m in recovery.  I feel like I ran a marathon.  I have muscles that hurt that I didn’t even know I had.   But, I had a great time
 
KM
 
Please enjoy the photos in my album while they last–they’re incriminating, so they won’t last long!
About takedeux

In one summer I had a baby who was hospitalized for five weeks, quit my job, and moved back to my hometown. This blog is about starting over.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

35 Responses to Debauchery 101 (or wedding re-cap)

  1. Karla says:

    You forgot my favorite part: telling the world at large how irresistable/hot you are. It\’s probably a good thing the group only gets together every so often. My liver might otherwise shut down in protest.

  2. Karla says:

    Did you know that I FORGOT the mint julep cups and bourbon balls on the table?!?! Although, thank god for JM, or I would have forgotten my camera there too. Thanks to him both my camera and I managed to make it back to the hotel room.

  3. Becca says:

    Sounds like you had a very memorable time! Those are what special friends are for!
     
    Hope that you are feeling good today!
    Rebecca

  4. Hollie says:

    Sounds like you had a very fun time with friends! and think you have all summer with a hub home to work off that cheese weight!
    Hollie

  5. Sheryl-Ann says:

    Wow KM, sounds like you LA girls might give the island people a run for their money where the drinking is concerned. I somehow think we have the edge, but I am definitely not sure especially after reading this entry! Please let me know when the gang is going to the islands on holiday so I could warn the folks down there (smile).
    Glad you all had a great time!

  6. Cheryl says:

    That was a piece of great writing.  I vividly saw the whole event right in front of my eyes.  Thaks for beinging us all along…
     
    Cheryl

  7. Unknown says:

    Just saying, "WOW! Girl you had a weekend!!" Doesn\’t do it justice!!

    I loved how you wrote this. I miss the "tried and trueness" of Southern hospitality. We just don\’t have that down here. Dang it! Mint Julep cups?? Ohhh…. Bourbon balls?? Double ohhh. So glad you had a great time.

    ~Ashlie

  8. Jaysey says:

    I know that feeling–sounds very similar to a SC wedding event…we, too, drink straight through it…and I always need recovery time afterwards! 🙂  Rest up!

  9. Laura says:

    Sounds like my kind of party.
     
    Too funny to read a post like that which begins with… "I am teaching Bible school this week" LOL
     
    Hope you have a full recovery!
     

  10. barnyardmama says:

    Even Jesus knew how to enjoy a wedding–he turned water into wine when they ran out at Cana. 
     
    And I\’m not teaching bible school–I\’m working the registration table.  The don\’t let wackos like me teach anyone at church.
     
    KM

  11. . says:

    Sounds like an AWESOME time! I need a good night like that! Your pics are really nice!
     
    aak

  12. . says:

    Did you recover from being turned into cheese?
     
    mmmm cheese…
     
    aak

  13. Dennis says:

    You told the world AT at large how irresistible  / hot you are?  There is NOTHING wrong with a little self promotion  – especially when it is true.  I was going to write a lot about this entry but instead I will zip directly to the conclusion: I WANT TO PARTY WITH YOU!!!
     
     
    EZ

  14. Tracy says:

    Ha, I loved that entry!!  Sounds like a very fun time!  I love the bridesmaid dresses too.  I know what you mean about the college friends, it\’s always so great to get together with them!

  15. K says:

    I LOVE events like the wedding you described…. creating memories is the best!!!  You looked gorgeous… as did the bride!  Sounds like a blast – good for you.
     
    OK… I am soooooo excitted about your astrology link!!! When I finally saw it I almost jumped out of my chair and yelled… but I\’m at work so I can\’t!  FREAKIN\’ AWESOME!!!  This just solidified you even more so in my heart!!! (I\’m easy to please… LOL….)  I think I might have to add that to mine!!!  Maybe… if you give me permission to copy you!!
     
    Ciao bella,
    KC

  16. Jo says:

    Geez, I have a wedding this upcoming weekend, my hub and I are both in it and decided to rent a room at the hotel where the reception is. I wonder which one of us will be falling down.
    I just wanted to say that I love your site and Miss bookworm\’s place.

  17. Betsy says:

    The wedding looks like a fab time! We don\’t have any weddings this summer and while it is an improvement from the summers where we have like 12, I wish we had at least one good one!
     
    Last summer we went to a wedding for a co-worker that got out of hand.  I am very glad that there was only a small select group of people from work there.  A guy I work with had red wine on the BACK of his shirt from dancing with me…
     
    Why do we always immediately revert back to our college days when the old crew gets together?  It happens with my friends too!  Thank god it\’s only once or twice a year or I may be dead!

  18. Gracia says:

    I havent been to a wedding in ages… and now yr blog reminds me how much fun they are!  Looks like you had the best time ever…  Hands down you got me beat on the drinking…B/C\’s and Mimosas and cheese, oh my!….:)
    Shoes and handbag…just fab girl, just fab.
     
     

  19. Dawn says:

    sounds like a blast….loved the pictures.

  20. Sandy says:

    Sounds like you know how to party!  I need a night like that, but I could really do without the morning after! 
     
    Raven

  21. Unknown says:

    Oh it sounds like a wonderful fun wedding.  I get the same way with songs.  I am so glad to know that I am not the only one who falls down in 4" heels while drinking *blushes*   lol

  22. Unknown says:

    Sounds like a good time to me!!  Aren\’t \’old friends\’ just the best?  Glad you had a good time!
     
    Oh…and great idea about printing out some of your blogs…I think I\’m going to do that to, just in case msn decides to freak out again. 
     
    God bless : )

  23. Nadine says:

    You had an OPEN BAR!!!! Am I not a long lost cousin?????
     You look fab in the red dress!!!

  24. Nadine says:

     I finally saw the comment about shoes…..I agree with him! I did it once and I thought, "What if that lead even more weirdo into my space!" I took out the stripper shoes!
     
    One more comment and I will be on my way….your fall……My hubby stands around yellin\’ "Medic!! Fat Girl down, Fat Girl down!! Medic!!!" He is such a joy!

  25. David says:

    hahaha! I just read your comment on Jenns space (http://singlejenn.spaces.msn.com/), and I had to re-read it 3x before I realized "the book" meant the Bible. 🙂 <LOL> If I\’d just read one line further, I would have known what you meant first! DOH!!!

    -David //BootJockey

  26. Elizabeth says:

    Awesome! I bet you had a better time than I did… hopefully with less stress.  Bridesmaid\’s ROCK!!!  😉
    Did you fall asleep right after you fell down?  You\’re my hero. Tee Hee.

  27. Carol says:

    Sounds fantastic.  And your dress is so cute!  Hope you recovered from the drinking and debauchery.  The better the time the longer the hangover.  This looks like about a one week hangover…. 
     
    ~Carol

  28. Aaron says:

    Thanks for the comment on my space.  I know people keep telling me that Napoleon Dynamite gets funnier every time you watch it.  i just thought it was a stupid movie.  i felt dumber for watching it.  Also, here in Utah it was WAY popular because the guy who directed it, Jared Hess, is from Utah.  So people would watch it every weekend and thought they were hilarious sayihng things like GOSH!  So I\’ve just grown to hate the movie SO much.
     
    Thanks for your continuous stops by my space!  I hope one day to get the amount of comments you do…lol!
     
    Aaron.

  29. Karen says:

    Sounds like a great party!  I love the photos.  I think I\’m due for an all-weekend party myself, very soon… with lots and lots of adult beverages.  The M&M throwing soudns pretty fun too 🙂

  30. KEL says:

    Looks like a wonderful wedding–sounds like a lot of fun!
    ~K

  31. barnyardmama says:

    Here\’s the part where everyone hates me–I don\’t get hangovers.  Well, rarely, and then its only my stomach that hurts.  It\’s a curse, really.
     
    KM

  32. Toni says:

    seeing these pictures, we would get along sooo well. i love those red dresses–that\’s some good taste on the bride\’s part if you ask me–and what of the shoes you wore in the wedding?!! I\’m astonished–no pictures?
    isn\’t it great to have friends like this–they truly are hard to come by. ~toni

  33. Toni says:

    okay, the dresses–good taste on ya\’ll\’s part i guess is what i should say. and the shoes are indeed fabulous. ~toni

  34. Sue says:

    What a blast!!  Weddings are so fun!  If Blondie ever gets married, I\’ll have to sell my house and move in with my sister to pay for it cause it will be a blow out!
    Great dresses too. Everyone looks Mahvalus!
    Sorry haven\’t been around.  Trips and DQ have kept me going 18 hours a day. AND by the way… Toni, Freckled Sasha, and I both have bdays this week.  Had to say it.  Can\’t help it.  I\’m a tad older though and mine was the 20th, not the 23rd.  
    I like your new colors.  I have ADD I think and change mine too often. 
    Have fun at Bible School!
    : ) Sue

  35. Sue says:

    Just going to a few spots this evening to dish out some sh*t since I\’m in the mood and I knew you would be up cruisin\’ the strip!  Need to get my rest now though, Friday night is partying in campus town with Blondie and her best friend for the girl\’s 21st bday (blondie is mad she is the last to hit that mark in August).  It will make some good storytelling partying with the college kids up there!
    Have a good one.
    : ) Sue

Leave a Reply

