God-Given Talents

What She Wore: Confession time–I’m still in my PJ’s–white PJ pants with little red hearts and a blue and red t-shirt.  Sorry to disappoint.

I’m struggling a little bit with how to put this into words, so you may have to bear with me.

 

I’m working at a bible camp this week, which is a new thing for me.  I’ve never BEEN to a bible camp much less worked at one, but our church is doing an outreach type of thing and that really intrigued me.  My church is an affluent one, and there aren’t very many brown faces in the pews on Sunday.  When I first started attending, I thought this was very strange because there are many ethnicities in the neighborhood, and also many different socioeconomic groups.   Our church is trying to reach out to the neighborhood with bible camp this time.

 

Camp is purposely being held in the evenings, so that parents who are curious can come and check it out.  We are sending vans to an apartment complex in the neighborhood and picking up and dropping off kids.  I think that some church members are even knocking on doors.  We’re serving food, and we’re having it outside, so that children don’t have to feel out of place in a church they’re unfamiliar with; we’re having it in the school yard next to our church.   We are also welcoming anyone who wants to come, regardless of age.  This means that for a 1st grade-5th grade bible camp, we have kids anywhere from age three to age thirteen.  

 

I’m new to the whole church thing, so I try to keep my head down, do what I’m told and not piss off any of the church ladies.   When I got home after the first night I told my husband, “it’s shame that I don’t ever get to use any of my God-given talents.”  What I meant by that is I have spent my whole life being an organizer—I plan, I organize, I recruit, I energize the troops, I give orders.  I take charge.  After leaving college and moving to a new city or two, I’ve found that people don’t just hand the reins to a perfect stranger.   So, I do my best being a minion and not getting in anybody’s way.

 

Sometimes your questions are answered before you even form them. 

 

I think God wanted me to know that bossing people around is not my only talent.  As I walked around on Tuesday, I felt very out of place with the young children—they were loud and boisterous, they didn’t understand simple questions, they didn’t get my corny jokes.  I felt very uncomfortable with these kids.  I was hanging out around crafts when the last group came through—girls, fifth grade and older.  We hadn’t expected older kids, but they showed up, so they were placed in the fifth grade group.  The group leaders were having a tough time with these girls—they just didn’t act like the other kids, and they weren’t as easy to lead either.   To me, the situation was clear: things are different with middle school kids.  Things are different with kids from low socioeconomic groups too. 

 

I had an epiphany.

 

I have more than one talent.  Working with this type of kid is my talent!  Older, low-income kids is my niche.  I didn’t even know I had a niche.  In fact, I’m also pretty good with older, low-income kids with learning disabilities. This is an amazing revelation for me.  I take my day-to-day life for granted—I never thought of talking to people, and relating to them as a talent.  There are lots of people who can organize and boss people around, and maybe I’m not through doing that either.  Maybe that’s a talent waiting in the wings for its next use.  What I do know, with certainty, is that working with difficult kids is a much rarer thing, and I’m proud that it’s mine.  I guess I’ve been using my God-given talents all along—I just didn’t know what they were. 

 

I hope that didn’t sound like bragging. . .it was supposed to be more like self-revelation.

 

KM

 

About takedeux

In one summer I had a baby who was hospitalized for five weeks, quit my job, and moved back to my hometown. This blog is about starting over.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

37 Responses to God-Given Talents

  1. anna says:

    Hi! I was just looking \’round some spaces, at random, and here I am reading yours…It\’s really wonderful and deep in contents,too! I hope you will come to have a look at mine and leave a comment if you please…thank you! Have a nice day!

  2. Nadine says:

    I knew it before you typed it out!! You do have a talent with kids! and the kids like you. That is an asset!
     
    Have great day!
     

  3. WINDOW LIVE says:

    How funny.  This is why I find you amazing.  That YOU can work with these types of kids.  I thought you knew this was your gift and calling.  How is it everyone else sees our gifts before we do.

  4. Tracy says:

    That\’s awesome – it\’s great when you realize you are good at something and want to use it in a positive way.  I don\’t think you are bragging at all!
    LOL about the chicken!  I guess I like all of the above — I could eat it every day iassuming it wasn\’t prepared the same way every day.

  5. Betsy says:

    Girl you are too modest!  I recognized this talet the first time I set foot on your blog!  You come from a very different place than your kids but you do an amazing job reaching them!  Of course we only know your side of the story so I guess I\’ll just have to believe you are as good as you say you are ;)!
     
    I hope you keep the passion for your work for a long time to come.  These kids need someone like you!  I bet I\’ll see you nominated for national teacher of the year some day!

  6. Alicia says:

    I would never think you were bragging!!  LOL
     
    I wasn\’t sure I was at the right place…why\’d you have to change it while I was gone??  Actually, I DO like it, it looks awesome!  I love the fashion tips too!!
     
    Just posted a new entry and some pics…I met FAMOUS PEOPLE!!  HOT MEN!!  Come see!!
     
    HUGS!!  🙂

  7. Betsy says:

    p.s.
    A madarin tonic is pretty basic- Absolut Mandarin vodka and tonic!

  8. Karla says:

    Maybe you became a teacher so that you could boss people around all day? Haha. Okay, so maybe 14 year olds aren\’t so good at being bossed around. But seriously, I think God gave you the gifts of organization and a take charge attitude to make you a better teacher. It kind of cracked me up to read this blog because it was like you were discovering something for the first time that everyone around you already knew.  I mean you can\’t talk about what you do or your kids without become more animated. Just look at how much of your blog space you have dedicated to it. I know that sometimes you think that your friends are the ones with the impressive careers, but in my book yours is the hardest, most challenging, and rewarding one.  It takes a special combination of book smarts, perseverance, people smarts, patience and plain caring about people with whom most others wouldn\’t bother. You rock! Love ya!

  9. SAAM says:

    Bragging is good.  Got to toot your own horn!!
     
    Have a good day
     
    SAAM

  10. KEL says:

    Its wonderful to find your nitch, even when its not what you thought it was!
    "sometimes we are great at what we do and sometimes what we do is great."
    ~K

  11. Unknown says:

    Good for you for figuring out that you have more than one talent.  The ability to talk to and relate to different groups of people is a huge one.  My communication skills with those from all walks of life is probably the main reason I have the job that I have.  There are lots of smart nurses out there.  I just happen to be a smart nurse who can talk to both the 20 year old and the 60 year old nurse from wildly different backgrounds with ease.
     
    The more you release yourself from your own self imposed limitations, the more you will find others responding to you.

  12. Unknown says:

    OK wait, did you fall down and fall asleep on the floor like that pic?!?! OMG I laughed and laughed!
     
    YES!! I\’m so glad those older kids showed! I hope they come back every week.
     
    I think we have a lot of common traits. (Including the show them yankees how they drink in the south…)
     
    HUGS & have a great weekend!

  13. Unknown says:

    I agree with Karla!   Well said.
    Sometimes it helps to see something in a new light, even though you\’ve had it all along.
     
    ~Ashlie

  14. Unknown says:

    How great that you get to use your God-given talent to relate to these girls!  Yeah, sometimes you have to step back and get out of your own way to really see and hear what God is trying to tell you.  Heck, sometimes he has to smack me upside the head before I hear it.
     
    God bless : )

  15. Becca says:

    I think that you have a niche with children in general. You are a blessed woman! Nice to use your skills to influence the next generation of girls!
    Rebecca

  16. Sheryl-Ann says:

    That\’s very sweet, KM.  You are a great influence on the kids you encounter on a daily basis, and that is a wonderful talent.
     
    I hope you are enjoying the camp, and having a wonderful week as well.

  17. Unknown says:

    I would never consider a "life changing" revelation to be bragging, not many  people have the gift to work with children. You have been blessed with talent and patience. I have worked with children who are victims of drug, mental, and physical abuse. And I have found that all children have one thing in common……..they want to be loved.
     
    Good for for going the extra mile that most are not willing to go.

  18. Unknown says:

    Well I tell you thank goodness for my drinking ability…there could have been some VERY candid shots of me during Mardi Gras and on just an average night out in the Quarter, manymanymany times…not to mention cell phones in the toilet…etc…I\’m so darn glad my friends were always more tore up than me so they didn\’t notice anything out of the ordinary!!!
     
    hugs my little lushie pants!
    Mercy

  19. Unknown says:

    great to hear that God is showing you talents you didn\’t even realize you had…hopefully you can show those "old church ladies" what a young, new person can do when given the chance.  don\’t let them look down on you…show them what you have to offer!

  20. K says:

    Self revelations I don\’t consider bragging.  You are not bragging – you are sharing and thank you for sharing that.
    I hope this experience brings you to many more revelatory experiences… so that we all evolve into the beings we were meant to be!  And hun… you have a gift and a talent… something that I have come to appreciate over the time I \’ve known you.  It is beautiful and inspiring!  You\’ve been blessed.
    Ciao bella,
    KC

  21. Darcy says:

    Many people don\’t know what ONE talent of theirs is, besides breathing, so you\’re very lucky to have identified TWO talents… of your many!
    Sorry I haven\’t been by in a while… been stuck in some personal drama…. Glad you had fun at the wedding… the falling down?  AWESOME!
    D

  22. Dennis says:

    I love you in these difficult situations.  You always work them out to everyone\’s benefit.  You just stay right where you are and let those talents flow.
     
    And about today\’s outfit …not disappointed at all.
     
    EZ

  23. Jaysey says:

    And it\’s a good revelation!
    BTE–I feel like I know you, too…That particular reference was more for the know it alls who come by otr e-mail me with there ridiculous nonsense. telling me what a miserable human being I am etc. 

  24. Nooner™ says:

    KM,
    Thank you deeply for your nice note, Katy. I appreciate your comments and concern so very much. I was an early fan of yours  given I only started on Spaces less than 4 months ago, yet you and I have both seemed to have both had a tough time accepting or understanding the blogs we have published and/or the comments we\’ve traded .. perhaps because I\’m goofy much of the time and I\’m not your cup of tea as to humor. Yet, I\’m moved by your interest in my latest blogs of helping a young woman from the mid-west in her time of dire need. Thank you for that .. and God Bless.
    ~Nooner~

  25. Nooner™ says:

    Maybe its just me, Kid. I\’ll wipe out all my strange notions of the past and start afresh. Forgive me if it was just me.
    ~Nooner~

  26. Antonella says:

    You could have asked me what your God given gift was and I could\’ve told you!! It\’s not bragging at all, you should be proud! Not everyone can do that. And I also think it\’s wonderful that you are able to have a job that you love and are good at.
     
    Have a great weekend,
    Antonella

  27. Aunt says:

    "bossing" people around… Ü Ü… IS a gift and a talent. not everyone has it, tho many think so. however…connecting with people, far more profound. not so flashy, but profound.
     
    i really enjoyed reading of your discovery.

  28. Sue says:

    That\’s not bragging!  That is called \’calling it like it is\’!  There is a reason you were to be there at that camp girl.  Congratulations on recognizing your God-given talents! 
     
    I am so proud of you still being in your PJs!!  A girl after my own heart!
     
    : ) Sue

  29. Eric says:

    Hello!  Thanks for dropping by.  What, specifically did you want to know about my animation schooling? I\’d be happy to answer any questions.  Were you interested about what happens in class?  Or how much homework there is?  I really need to put a permanent link up to the entry about my decision to leave work and do this — it explains a lot.  When I find it, I\’ll let you know. 
     
    If you were wondering about my blog in general, it used to be VERY random (as the name suggests).  Then I went to school, and I have had just a few minutes at the end of the day to slap up pictures ever since.

  30. Karen says:

    Isn\’t it amazing that something which is such a defining part of oneself can be taken for granted & overlooked?  It sounds like the Lord has placed you where He most needs you!
     
    Have a happy Friday.

  31. anna says:

    Hi! Thank U for having come! I\’ll add something in English,too, so that U can read my space as I can read yours.
    I\’m Italian, yeah, I\’m from this wonderful land kissed by the sun, I love it, but one of my favourite things is to meet foreign people. I like to learn different languages and cultures! And what about your passions?
    Have a nice day!

  32. TexasGirlJen says:

    Thank you for stopping by my little space!
     
    I LOVE your space. I will definitely be back!
     
    Havea  good one.
     
    j

  33. Unknown says:

    I got a kick out of your comment at Sue\’s.   hee-hee.  No deo, but garlic works every time. 🙂
     
    ~Ashlie

  34. Sarah says:

    It is great that you realized another one of your talents! I love your blog, especially the "What She Wore" part. That is great!

  35. katie says:

    Being able to work with kids that age, especially girs, really is a talent! Your site is great! I\’ll be back next week after my big test so I have time to read more.Katie

  36. Unknown says:

    Hey!  Thanks for stopping by my space, and for your encouraging words.  I\’m feeling much better today : )
     
    Oh…and you pronounce her name "CARE-ist"  It\’s very interesting.  My sister in law has picked some unique names for all her kids (well…except for Danny…but that\’s a family name)
    God bless : )

  37. Dream I Fly says:

    It\’s great when you find what you\’re good at – you\’re lucky – you\’re in your 20s – I had to wait until my 40s….;-) and it seems to be listening which given the fact that I usually ramble on for days when not checked, is an odd gift. One lady told me I look at people when they talk, and I remember thinking of course I look at people when they talk, ye gods! what AM I to look at? My toenails?? And then I started paying attention to people talking and except for new lovers, people don\’t look at each other when they talk!!! Wow! Why is that?Your church\’s VBS sounds great! I\’ve never worked ours because they have it in the day and then they have it for only a half day so I have to scramble to find something to do w my daughter for the rest of the day; this year they\’re talking about aftercare but it ends at 4…!!!! We\’ve been talking about outreach too, we\’re not very big but we\’re in a good location, but we\’ve never tried going out getting people, except for a sign at the street. I\’ll have to tell our youth minister about this. As an aside tho, we did have a Kids\’ Fair two years ago on a Saturday, and that\’s when I met my honey. It always makes me laugh because I ended up doing what your mom always says and you roll your eyes every time: go to church and meet a nice man…. 😉
     
    One more thing about the Church Ladies and then I\’ll quit – just jump in. Don\’t let them stop you. They were newbies w crazy new ideas once too 😉 You\’ll be fine. Since you like the middle school kids, talk to your youth minister and maybe move into the Sunday School area. Good middle school SS teachers are hard to find and a real God-send. Once you get established there, you can move whereever your heart desires…. 😉
     
    Michelle

Leave a Reply

